on eating Art & more

lines blur, blue like color stroke/s
in WaTer, someTimes on
one50ty gramm, rough papER–
Red /and yell-O, wet in wet
‘n on slow paths bet_ween,
i search4 texXture, diP
my finger tips on wavEing lips,

run ‘em through moist lines,
lose grip and track back to
their core, E-choes, muTed
from someWhere Way
out of reach, feel4
ur voice along my tasteBuds,

trace weight, glide on
the surFace of my palm,
ear bent inTo HardBeat_Ba
Ba_Bum (with a deep u), i

stand CloseUP, smell– that
canvas & in/Diff_erence, shades,
dip my tongue in pools
of pig_ments, wet/ink, breathe, then
mOan aLoud / Don’T–! i–
just let me hold ’em
in an open mouth

.

over at dVerse, Gay has prepared a wicked cool FormForAll challenge– and i’m not at all sure if i managed to meet the requirements, so i’m not even telling you what kind of form this should be… you def. have to wait until she opens the pub doors and with a sprung rhythm in her voice invites you to try your hands on the form as well…smiles

38 responses to “on eating Art & more

  1. Very, very different. Loved this:
    ‘, feel4
    ur voice along my tasteBuds’
    Not quite sure what the form is but, it really is different. You really got a sense of the feel and textures of the paper.
    Great write. 🙂

  2. Well now I know why your poems are so delectable, you eat art.
    This one is so sensual in its own way. I love its playfulness and the images are so original and creative. It’s totally you.

  3. you know i love word play and this is rife with it…hehe…(with a deep u) is a fav…love the intimacy as well as you paint…lots of great texture as well….the rough and wet…and sounds…there is a nice underlying beat to this as well..Hardbeat_ba-Dum-BA-dum…smiles.

  4. 🙂 the way you wrote this plays to my affection (read pervasive habit the requires me to do much editing) for capitalizing words I deem important VS proper nouns and what-not. It gives it a haltering-stop

    • * that feels like the artistic process itself. Your work is always engaging, even though I normally prefer rhyme.

  5. The play of vowel sounds throughout define your stresses, strong like impasto, deep with texture, painted with primary love. What a unique voice you have always, this form seems to amplify it. Really well done. It “SPRINGS” off the page.

  6. Hi Claudia – a lot of synesthesia here – is that the word? I don’t know. But it is something you do very well. I’m not going to worry about the prompt at this point, but just about getting through the day. Your poem helps. k.

  7. Claudia, this is very neat, I don’t remember ever seeing this type of writing from you, very cool to see. I love the experimentation you played with in here, from the breaks-in-words/lines to font and caps, very cool vibe here. Awesome job. Thanks

  8. Just amazing – so good I can almost taste it 🙂 It describes for me that feeling of urgency I get sometimes while painting … so much in your mindseye that you can’t paint quick enough but at the same time want to savour the feeling to take enough time.. Just wow

  9. I have felt exactly like this immediately after one last brush stroke that shows me I have brought my vision to life! Such a multi-layered poetess you are, Claudia

  10. I like how you put caps on some parts of the words, to bring this poem into life.
    not only for our eyes but for our ears as well. 🙂

  11. Love the subject, the words, the flow, the rhythm, the color…but I gotta tell you..I’m still stumped on the form! lol Gotta get a little spring into my poetic steps on this one. Gay has presented a wonderful challenge!

  12. Love this…dip my tongue in pools
    of pig_ments, wet/ink, breathe, then
    mOan aLoud / Don’T–! i–
    just let me hold ‘em….
    in an open mouth…………….Awesome!

  13. Man, oh man, you rock the poetic cradle with this one, giving us the feeling that you excel at eveREtHing Udew; watercolor painting, sketching, dancing, writing, cooking, mothering, just this dynamo of crEEaTIVEty. You, and Brian are pushing me toward a place where the poetics spill outside the lines, outside any sense of parameter; good for you and on you!

  14. If I understood the form better I could leave a more intelegent comment, and maybe even spell the words right. But I really like this, the beat, the caps to highlite the beat and keep my mind from creating my own. Very kool and a lil sensuous if I read correctly. I think I like your kind of art.

  15. Well now, You get my sensory apparatus aglow with this indeed. Who’s Art? 🙂 Very nice use of the rhythm, springing us into different realms of the senses.

  16. wow, so sensual and loving in the art!

    “wet in wet
    ‘n on slow paths bet_ween,
    i search4 texXture”

    and then that whole last stanza, mmmm, really enjoyed the mix of art and person, thanks claudia 😉

  17. I think you’ve beautifully captured the very sensual nature of art creation, particularly oil painting. Sometimes I almost feel like ‘eating’ the paint, silly I know, but I am. 🙂

  18. i was sold when i read the title of your poem… im always up for eating some art!

    “run ‘em through moist lines,
    lose grip and track back to
    their core, E-choes, muTed
    from someWhere Way
    out of reach, feel4
    ur voice along my tasteBuds”

    love that stanza, love the way the poem way written, lose, impulsive… very well done, really enjoyed this claudia.

  19. “stand CloseUP, smell– that
    canvas & in/Diff_erence, shades,
    dip my tongue in pools
    of pig_ments, wet/ink, breathe, then
    mOan aLoud / Don’T–! i–
    just let me hold ‘em
    in an open mouth…”

    Hi! again, Claudia…
    You have captured quite beautifully, in your very [poetic] words the feeling Of what [some if not all artist experience as they face their canvas with beautiful shades Of paints and a brush in hand feel (s)]…Especially, this artist…as I ponder your poetic words in…“on eating Art & more…”

    Tks, for sharing!
    deedee 🙂