to compose–

.

usually it starts
with two chords
& a few bass notes,
always in the dark
hands glide over polished wood keys,
playing random tunes,
connect ’em
with my mood and who i am
right now,

a world between subdominant
and tonic, often– i fall for the flats,
soft brush on my tongue, hum
new born melodies, still slip–
pery with amniotic fluid,

a slow progression,
lovers that have just met &
in//secure, i place my hands, let ‘em
run along your spine, the
soft line of your neck, then–
stop– & wait
for echoes, the response
that hangs between us
like new land with no reference
soFar, a world that waits
for its discovery or
To–Be—dipped

in silence–

“pause–
more often” says
my music teacher, “give
‘em space to find their way–“

and with closed eyes i play,
trace pulsing veins, at times,
not more
than soft vibrations
that run warm
beneath me

.

…maybe you already hear the music even if the dVerse pub doors are still closed… Stu McPherson has a wonderful Poetics prompt in store for us…so..hope you gonna pop in at 3pm EST and join the fun..

70 responses to “to compose–

  1. there is that voltaic pressure…dormant until triggered…excellent title !…….the line between composer and composition is thread bare….and of course, you have added steam to the pressure here 🙂

    sorry for my absence lately….Life does get in the way of Living sometimes

    Peace

  2. Hi Claudia,
    you play the piano? Wonderful! When I was a child, we had a piano at home. That was a very old one. The wood had a lightly red colour. In former times there must have been candlesticks on it, but someone saw them off. I still remember the sound of the old piano! On this piano I learned to play the piano. Your words remembered me of the piano. Thanks.

    Have a nice weekend.

    • yes..i’m playing the piano…started to learn it when i was about 27..so i’m not a classical player but mostly just to accompany my singing..

  3. Music is food for what the soul needs. It is a wonderful thing to be able to create it as most music comes from deep feelings. I love how you give your notes time to breathe before setting them in stone.
    Lovely imagery.

  4. Hi! Claudia…
    As I read your [poetic] words…they seemed to flow…As I looked at your image Of the piano…your [poetic] words closed with this stanza:“and with closed eyes i play,
    trace pulsing veins, at times,
    not more
    than soft vibrations
    that run warm
    beneath me”

    Tks, for sharing your [poetic] words, your image, and your poem…to compose.
    deedee 😉

  5. I like the slow progression, lessons of space, both trying to learn from each other, and hopefully blending to a beautiful song ~ I like music but unfortunately I can’t play any instrument ~

  6. i fall for the flats,
    soft brush on my tongue, hum
    new born melodies, still slip–
    pery with amniotic fluid

    ha i like that…and there is a birthing for sure…that can be painful beautiful like having a child…i wrote songs well before i ever wrote poetry….i also like the interjection of the teachers wisdom there…fun…nice piece c…

    so any left over strawberry cake?

  7. I like the way you blend this creative process with teaching/learning, sensuality, birthing and loving. Good ingredients for great melody. Enjoyed this much. As always Claudia.

  8. Each can make their own to their own tone, some may strike fears and hurt the ears, but the learning will come do as a song is surely played here by you.

  9. I have a player in the home, it’s the first thing he does when he gets home from work, it soothes the soul, and fingers too.

  10. I’m a lover of music with no musical talent whatsoever…but have watched jazz musician enter that zone of creation while playing…you can tell because the others in the group get this collective smile that acknowledges that this is something ‘new’…love the way you’ve presented that creative spirit.

  11. What a wonderful metaphor the piano key-touching fingers are for the way we caress the neck and back of our beloved! Wonderful harmonies result from both when we close our eyes and allow the warm vibrations to run warm beneath us, as you say.

  12. Claudia, you have described the process of composing beautifully. And I am sure that music can express your mood as much as a poem can. And yes, the pauses are important. Give them space indeed. Can’t rush the composition. Hands will follow where you lead. And closed eyes, yes!

  13. Ah this is beautiful- and hits the prompt right on the head. You build the emotion of the music, the notes, giving birth to new songs, almost like an out of body experience- and that’s the beauty of music, it can be so personal, so significant….it almost feeds the emotion which then feeds back into the music like a crescendo….great job claudia- fantastic descriptions- could just see you sat at that piano….what an instrument eh?

  14. Hi Claudia, I love the imposition of the teachers voice here, the making space for music to arise. And of course those slippery new born tunes. K.

  15. Oh my, what a metaphor. I especially love these lines:

    “connect ‘em
    with my mood and who i am
    right now”

    “in//secure, i place my hands, let ‘em
    run along your spine”

    “To–Be—dipped
    in silence–”

    “give ‘em space to find their way–“”

  16. pour it out…stumble, and pour some more. I lost an antique piano in my move due to space, and even though it’s all I can do to peck out a few notes …I could spend hours doing just that. If I really knew how to play…well…I doubt you’d ever see me again! Love this!

  17. Oh, very nice Claudia. I like this approach here. Not sure what the actual prompt is yet, but will find out soon, but this is quite the poetic tune. Thanks

  18. Your work always exudes such feeling, verve and sensuality, like it’s come direct from within… which of course it has! I think here you’ve reconnected me with that tactile approach to music, where simply getting hands on is in itself like a relaxation. It also helps to know a litre bit about music theory (which you clearly do!) to add depth and sophistication. Love it, Claudia!

  19. does it always start with two chords? aren’t most cadences at least three chords??

    are you think in a major or a minor key in this poem?

    • you’re right – for a decent song you usually need more than two chords.. but sometimes i just like playing with two, varying them a bit…and depends on my mood, but i like songs in minor key much…and for this poem i def. thought minor..

  20. Ahh, so lovely Claudia. This has such a peaceful tone… and the lovers who’ve just met metaphor is brilliant. I’m a piano player, too.

  21. Wow. I am not a player of any instruments, but I could FEEL the flow of music as you were, composing, one word after the other. I could hear your aspirations, your sighs. Both calming and resonating piece.

  22. hey claudia, sorry its been so long since ive read your work. this is fantastic! love the textures and images

    “i fall for the flats,
    soft brush on my tongue, hum
    new born melodies”

    great lines here! a pleasure to read you again.

    wood

  23. Beautiful and organic view of the other side of music from mine, the player’s side, those who make it live, you give of themselves in so many ways to do so. This is forceful, tender and luminous, Claudia.

  24. Claudia, I knew before I even clicked on the link that you would come up with something great, and you did. Beautiful work. Really captures your musical sense.

  25. and” with closed eyes i play,
    trace pulsing veins at times”,
    those two lines flows to mind which takes me to the beginning of your poem. Lovely piece of work you have.

  26. Do you play, Claudia? Now I know what your poetry remind me of every time I read it….music! I could not live without it and the piano is my instrument of choice. Beautifully written.

  27. Claudia your poem makes we wish I had learned to play so long ago. The last stanza really shows how music helps you let go. Thanks this with us!

  28. ah, you have caught so viscerally that moment whem music comes alive in the soul. Your limning of its birth in you brings to light so much the world that’s unseen, strangely, yet coming to be in the movement of your beautiful soul in tune with realities that seem to unify all we are, yet somehow, bewilderingly, transport us into realms beyond the world we see. I like the way that keep us on touch with the music as it comes alive in you thru your fingers stroking the tender flesh of your beloved. That access to the sensual is so definitive of music, so poised at the liminal boundary that brings sense to world and experience of it.

  29. Music is a gift, to be able to play in way that means something to yourself, and shares experience with others is exactly what this poem did

  30. Real warmth to your process here Claudia.. love how you describe this:

    a world between subdominant
    and tonic

    ..and then explore it. Really enjoyed this.. 🙂

  31. What a wonderful poem you’ve composed! I especially loved this verse:

    “a world between subdominant
    and tonic, often– i fall for the flats,
    soft brush on my tongue, hum
    new born melodies, still slip–
    pery with amniotic fluid,”

    I worked as a musician for many years (primarily an oboist) although I studied piano and flute for many years. My composition efforts, however, fell flat. 🙂

  32. Mmmmm. Love. Especially the wordbump ofthis:
    “i fall for the flats,
    soft brush on my tongue, hum”

    and “dipped/in silence”
    Beautiful.

  33. you write with a smooth passion. my favorite section: wait for echoes, the response that hangs between us like new land with no reference soFar, a world that waits for its discovery or To–Be—dipped in silence–

    something about the response in there that really touches me.

  34. “playing random tunes,
    connect ‘em
    with my mood and who i am
    right now” –

    ah yes 😉

    and also loved,

    “pause–
    more often” says
    my music teacher, ‘give
    ‘em space to find their way–'”

    which spoke right to (through) me

    thanks claudia 😉

  35. Claudia, this is a poem after my own heart – it echoes precisely the feelings that I have when an initial ‘doodle’ turns into a proper piece of music (My Mum used to shout from the kitchen “stop messing about and get on with your practice”) But I also love the way you have used the composition as a metaphor for your relationship both with the piano and with a lover.

  36. I have read that in most other dimensions music
    plays in everyone’s head ad infinitum, that only
    here, on this plain of existence, do we have to
    channel what we already know, have already heard
    in our meditation, our dreams. As noted, your
    omnipresent sensuality colors your language
    like treacle, like fudge frosting, so very very
    delicious; thanks.

  37. Your poem makes music almost a synaesthesia experience for me … the way you describe falling for the flats, connecting with your moods, soft brush on my tongue – I kept tasting sound, seeing notes in colour, hearing the ups and downs … an altogether rich read and quite wonderful … thanks

  38. Your music teacher was wise, I think. The spaces and silences are an essential part of the music (same with poetry!). I think great improvisational playing is like this poem. The musicians venture out, taste each other, see what the other players are about, and a give and take begins. if it’s a great session it’s like an incredible conversation.

  39. loved how you did this Caludia ‘soft brush on my tongue, hum
    new born melodies, still slip–
    pery with amniotic fluid,’ how brilliantly conveyed ‘slippery’ splitting between two lines – genius – imagery dazzling – ‘a progression’ a process to a ‘new land’ – tingled – masterly Claudia – masterly – *applause* Love Lib

  40. this is wonderful… those pauses doing their job here as well… always in the dark, falling for the flats, and love this:

    stop– & wait
    for echoes, the response
    that hangs between us
    like new land with no reference

  41. Only a true musician/composer could have written this beautiful poem. I’m in awe of both skills.
    My favorite line: “like new land with no reference” = Haunting and exciting!

  42. your musicality shines in this piece your so lucky to be so talented and thank you for sharing it ! x x x