shades and moonstains

i’ve been a walker all my life,
between forest paths and dragon teeth,
promises that no one keeps &
seasons in the middle of monsoons–

i never mind much, going step by step,
it seldom shifts, easy in a way,
& tonight i’m folding delicates
in the half dark, yours, always white,
hot wash, 95 degrees, you
never change the color, somehow

comforting & contrasts with mine, mostly
dark, stained with sweat and blood,
even after washing– yet you say: “don’t shower
when you come to bed–“ and looking
in your eyes, i know you mean it– later
you lie warm, sighing in sleep–
soft breath brushes my cheek like
hazy breezes that paint patterns
in the woods as i flee
on my lunchbreak,

“why do you walk alone–?”
lost in thoughts, i flinch, he’s
sweating in the spring sun
on the building site, muscles,
t-shirt, tight and as i pass him in
my business suit, i smile thinking
there are questions,
you can walk for miles
& never find an answer

.

over at dVerse we’re having James Rainsford tending the Poetics bar with an inspiring photo prompt…and when the gates swing open at 3pm EST i’ll be on a plane on my way to NYC… so my commenting will be a bit delayed..

image credit: James Rainsford, used with permission

65 responses to “shades and moonstains

  1. Yes, you can walk for miles and never find answers. I do this too, but it is nice to have time alone to ask the questions. And step by step is the only way to go, on whatever journey one takes. Except if one is a plane to NYC. The only way to get there is to fly. Enjoy your journey, Claudia! I am happy for you. I know the anticipation and the joy of taking it step by step in a place I have only dreamed about!

  2. I walk a lot myself, mostly because it’s cheaper than anything, but also because it allows you the time to reflect and think. Great poem, Claudia, I saw myself in many of the lines, especially:

    “i smile thinking
    there are questions,
    you can walk for miles
    & never find an answer”

    Fantastic! 🙂

  3. Oh yeah, this is good C. Always questions. Root word, quest. A walk alone is always a quest of sorts isn’t it?…even if it is turning over our own thoughts. Thanks Claudia!

  4. I lovecthe folding delicates in the half-dark, and the whites and dark. The wordplay so light and scene so intimate. Lovely. Have a safe flight– look forward to meeting you, will write! K.

  5. there are questions,
    you can walk for miles
    & never find an answer….oh yes. I hope you enjoy your flight and your time in N.Y. city …she is one of a kind and beautiful. I wish I was there to meet you for coffee 🙂

  6. Claudia, Those dragon’s teeth and monsoons make the walk more than an adventure, don’t they? Somehow, though alone is a word so many avoid, I have found comfort in my own company as I suspect you have as well. This is fabulous and the image inspiring. I feel a need to write to it. Have a wonderful trip and don’t let the big apple eat you up, There is much to absorb there. Well written and very much enjoyed.

  7. I love walking, especially used to love walking in a soft rain. Usually if I had nowhere I had to be, I loved the feel of it trickling through my hair.
    Walking allows us to let our minds wander too.
    This is a beautiful amble through your mind.
    Have a good trip.

  8. travel light my friend…one foot in front of the other is the only way to go…and the scene folding the delicates is perfect imbuing this with such reality…and there are definitely questions we will always be asking…until the end of our days….

  9. tight with your inside being, so closely felt

    and the merging of what you walk between, forest paths and dragon teeth and promises, and the seasons themselves…

    and the ending scene with questions without answers, yet the answer is there i felt, in the totality of the poem, the being with oneself, and reflecting upon that –

    like brian above says, travel light, one foot in front of the other (we’re right behind you 😉 )

  10. I used to love going for walks. When I used to work in Maine and in the Carolinas , two totally different scenes, I would love just getting caught up in the walks. Really like where you took the image prompt, a mix of thoughts and life, with questions, yes, there are always questions and some you just can’t answer. Nice job. Thanks enjoy NYC.

  11. I hope those dragon teeth don’t bite down, that might not be such a good ending to your walk..haha…but yeah the answers never seem to come sometimes, but we must keep walking or get stuck and chomped up by those teeth.

  12. So pleased you were first to write to my photo, and what a write it is! Perceptive sensual and intimate. I love that you’ve used such evocative imagery and have taken this photo as your departure point. Loved it. Good luck on your trip to NYC.
    James.

  13. haha, walking between paths and dragon’s teeth might bring you more questions than answers, which the really smart people say is the ultimate value. me, i was raised more simply. i’d prefer answers, like knowing the exact spot where X marks the buried treasure. there is a basic attraction and functionality to those who are, or appear to be, fundamentally different than us in meaningful, or what appears to be meaningful ways. talking about washing of the clothes i found deeply sensual.

  14. Safe travels Poetess! Love your take on the photo…you really can walk for miles and never find the answer…you’ve done much to fuel my pen today. Claudia & James….a killer poetic combo!

  15. Every word was captivating, Claudia. You brought this to a brilliant, thoughtful close:

    “there are questions,
    you can walk for miles
    & never find an answer”

  16. there is so much heat in these words… heat & wisdom. walking between forest paths and dragon’s teeth is just brilliant.

  17. He sounds very sexy, stoic and handsome brooder. This was a nice description into his mind.

  18. “You can walk for miles and never find the answer” I like this Claudia, I feel I have many questions, and at the moment, the answers are slow in coming!!

  19. A nice pen to paper from the place we walk alone. Inside ourselves while being outside in woods, or mountain slopes to discover something new. Nice dreamy poem Claudia.

  20. The opening of this is just perfect, Claudia–so like you to start out with a humdrum phrase and then turn us on our heads while the poem cartwheels off into all kinds of speculations and sensualities. The title James gave this picture was I think exactly right, and right for this poem too…many reflections of ourselves in each other, and the world in us.

  21. Life is one big walk between the rising of the moon to the setting of the sun
    Well written and enjoyed your descriptive style
    Emu

  22. There’s an intimacy here that rings true, a sense of rumination and taking in all life has to offer. Your poetic sensibility is always spot on, enticing the reader through the poem. Great work!

  23. You take us on a fascinating journey – there are indeed questions that evade answers.

  24. You have to walk alone sometimes when he’s occupied somewhere. But why must he be? Yes sometimes we fail to get an answer. Great verse Claudia!

    Hank

  25. Love how this photograph has prompted such introspective reflections. Really like how you’ve laid this one out- the seasons in monsoons and dragon teeth hinting at the sensitivities found in moments alone. The last stanza put a sensual twist on the piece. Sometimes questions are best left unanswered I guess!

  26. You have a wonderful style, Claudia! I love how you weave emotion into your words, and how the other is often there. Wonderful.

  27. So beautiful, Claudia…as I always say, I just love the flow and journey’s you take us on in your poems…Wonderful! Safe travels & have a wonderful time!! So envious! 🙂

  28. So beautiful, the way you weave in and out of time.

    between forest paths and dragon teeth,

    I was always fascinated by Jason’s fight against the Hydra. Those teeth that kept sprouting so many heads that you simply could not stay up with. That is like the day when so much threatens to overwhelm with its busyness. Your poem confronts that day always with possibility, openness to new experiences, ready to confront each encounter with honesty and self-awareness.

  29. Oh Claudia – you’re in NYC. Have so much fun! Wish I could have met you there but alas not to be this year!

    Loved this poem. It’s such a lot of shade and sunlight picking up the artistry from the photo and internalizing it to make it close, personal, subliminal, and somehow adventurous. Just great.

  30. I love taking walks, so the final three lines really resonate with me; they are so true. But I was drawn in from the first and you never let go. You take us so many places in such short lines and spaces. Wonderful. Thank you, Claudia. Have a great time in New York!

  31. I have to agree with the comments about walking miles and never finding answers. I don’t want to ever stop walking. I don’t want to ever know all the answers. Gorgeous poem, and beautiful photograph!

  32. I’ve read three different writes on this image and each one a reflection of the writer who has posted it. Yours is no exception and is beautifully written but with an aura of mystery about it. Nice.

  33. Lovely poem, Claudia. I like the way the washing of clothes is compared with the washing of ourselves, delicate, dark, white, hot, and not. I hope you’re having a lovely time in the city you poetically embraced–NYC. I’m sorry I have been a bit quite on the blog scene; life got hectically in the way, somehow, but I shall be blogging a poem just now. 🙂

  34. shades and moonstains
    [Hi! Claudia, your image compliment your [very] poetic words quite…beautifully!]

    i’ve been a walker all my life,
    between forest paths and dragon teeth,
    promises that no one keeps &
    seasons in the middle of monsoons–

    So, have I…So, have I been a walker all my life… too!

    Other stanzas that “jumped” out me…
    “i never mind much, going step by step,
    it seldom shifts, easy in a way,
    & tonight i’m folding delicates
    in the half dark, yours, always white,
    hot wash, 95 degrees, you
    never change the color, somehow”

    Cont…

  35. …also another stanza that “jumped” out [at] me is:

    “why do you walk alone–?”
    lost in thoughts, i flinch, he’s
    sweating in the spring sun
    on the building site, muscles,
    t-shirt, tight and as i pass him in
    my business suit, i smile thinking
    there are questions,
    you can walk for miles
    & never find an answer”

    Tks, for sharing!
    deedee 😉

  36. Sometimes. Sometimes one writes a poem and you are there in it … feeling absolutely everything. This is one of those poems. Thank you.

  37. This used to happen to me most every noon day in the city where I worked as a paralegal and legislative assistant while raising my children. I would be in my “had an apprearance to assist in Federal Court this morning” business suit and pass construction workers in the working in the heat of the sun, revealing all of their glorious muscles. Your rhythms and your chosen words brought this very strongly back to mind. Tee,hee–no answers still!

  38. Easily one of the best poems you have ever weaved Claudia. Love the way you connect such a thing as folding clothes to reflections on paths walked, and not walked. Simply beautiful to behold, thank you for your words.