there is possibly no pavement on this route

from Times Square to Niagara Falls,
takes just five days and 90 minutes
if you walk–
that’s what google maps says,
also that pedestrian route plans are
in beta phase & that
they give no guarantee–
as if i should expect this, we

stand in the kitchen, peeling oranges,
in fact we have a who-peels-faster competition,
and i always win–

rain licks rusty holes
in my composure & i lean
against the fridge, reciting Pablo’s
“Poetry” with broken voice, in english
first, then spanish, deeper, Deeper,
’til i feel what it should feel like,
being summoned from the night,

my hands rest on the kitchen sink,
to stay grounded while the fever spreads
like ripples in a pool, reaching wide &
wider into distant parts of yearning that
brought me first here, made me
blind and seeing all at once,
as if SomeOne

spits in the mud, rubs it
in your eyes, grips you & loves you
’til you’re lying pale ‘n hot
between the sheets, begging for more

“t’is what i want” i whisper & start
crying cause there are no ways
or i can’t find ‘em and know nothing
’bout it, nothing that
exists, what you could plan &
nothing more than
being all, complete or
lost and drunk on
what invaded with the storm,

that’s roaring wild
under the surface, yet
remains an unwalked road
in beta, that largely stays unspelled,
uncharted— hidden
in the twilight
of the heart

.

at dVerse we’re partying again and walk that uncharted roads with a pen in hand and nothing on our mind but verse, verse, verse…. so write a poem and join us at 3pm EST when we’ll push open the pub doors..

79 responses to “there is possibly no pavement on this route

  1. Mysterious and beautiful – I love the image of Google maps, in beta yet. The title reminds me of the idea, if there is no path, then make one.

    “reciting Pablo’s
    “Poetry” with broken voice, in english
    first, then spanish, deeper, Deeper,
    ’til i feel what it should feel like,
    being summoned from the night,”

    That was great. – thanks!

  2. Hi Claudia–I actually think it would take well over five days to walk from Times Square to Niagara Falls. Even for a speed walker. And for a contemplative, sensual walker like you, who recites poetry inside and out, it would probably take a considerably longer time!

    Such interesting jumps here from potato peeling to the twilight of the heart. K.

  3. so when you get to NYC does that mean you are going to start walking? smiles…love the sensuality of how the poetry interacts with you…and the figuring out of how to get from here to there can def be maddening…

  4. Made me think about how we try and plan life, try and measure it, try and calculate how long it will take to get from a to b- which is fruitless really- considering. In all our ‘measuredness’ I love how this tells a tale of that hidden, raw, spontaneous creative person that lurks secretly underneath – even if it doesn’t want to come out and play sometimes….intricate,clever, and thought provoking!

  5. One thing that is definitely not in beta is your ability to absolutely engage your reader. Another marvel…and inspired by google maps at that…tell me you were NOT born to do this! Fantastic!

  6. Wow you have quite the walk ahead of you, remember to pace yourself..hahaha….What comes in between going from here to there is usually the best part.

  7. A lovely wander around your mind. Love the way it meanders, flitting from here to there and gliding over the cracks and crevices there may be with another change of direction.
    Beautiful, Times Square to Niagara Falls or not! 🙂

  8. Hiya,
    I had a bit of trouble with the nipples in the pool…until I enlarged the font 🙂

    For what it’s worth: Shakespeare used to walk to London from Stratford, and vice versa, there being no coaches in them days. It took him four days. I’d prefer that walk to the Niagara trek, if they ever un- beta it.
    Will have to read your poem again.

  9. “there is possibly no pavement on this route…”

    Hi! Claudia…
    Tks, for sharing your beautiful poetic words…Truth or Dare: What’s on my mind after reading your poem: your [poetic] words put a slight smile on my face and then I “breath” happy thoughts!
    deedee ;-D
    [postscript: Too many verses in your poetry to quote, {Because then it would be a re-print] but here goes one stanza?!
    “rain licks rusty holes
    in my composure & i lean

    against the fridge, reciting Pablo’s
    “Poetry” with broken voice, in english
    first, then spanish, deeper, Deeper,
    ’til i feel what it should feel like,
    being summoned from the night…”

    deedee 🙂

  10. “rain licks rusty holes
    in my composure”

    i will think of these lines, often.

    once again you take that everyday moment and turn it into something powerful, magical, poetic. once again i am blown away.

    this is the way life should be lived, the way it tumbles through your words.

  11. This just blows me away. The sixth stanza really hits on how I feel about a few things in my life, especially my writing. This wandering poetic path just yields new surprises with every read. Amazing job!

  12. Perfect circle from the first stanza to the last, but what a wild ride on the journey along the way–immediate, compelling and enacted in a sequence like musical notes building to a crescendo, then ebbing in the signature theme. Your poetry often makes me think of music, Claudia, never more so than here–just really beautifully written.

  13. “remains an unwalked road
    in beta,” -> does this have anything to do with a computer program’s beta version? where no one has used the software before??

    that’s what that line made me think of.

    and who would walk from NYC to Niagara Falls?? and why?

  14. Walking from Times Square to Niagra Falls would be an interesting trek! Loved your poem and the idea that there are hidden walkways in our hearts. 🙂

  15. Hell, I used to walk that far to school every morning…NAKED…IN THE SNOW!

    So I’m reading and waiting for it…waiting for it, and…you didn’t disappoint:

    “lying pale ‘n hot between the sheets, begging for more”

    Love ya.

  16. Hello! – while you started with the catchy NYC to Niagara Falls walk, then moved onto the peeling contest and Pablo speak … I got the distinct impression I was falling into a love poem, a wistful, longing poem of wanting, yearning, love-lust … very, very nice.

  17. Nice intro with the theoretical distance twixt Times Square & Niagara Falls, but beware of Google – it once led me to someone’s farm, where I found it my duty to inform them, according to Google, their’s was not a farm, but rather a fire station.

    then the move to the orange peeling contests; then rain and Pablo Neruda.
    the storm, the fever, the desire, all unchartable — unwalked — in beta, hidden in the heart.

    Good stuff.

  18. thanks for taking us on your unpaved journey with you. i like they way you weave from niagra falls and then back to the roaring, wild internal falls. works well, too, with what we’re doing here, this intimate gathering from people around the world sharing their inner thoughts through clicks.

  19. I’ve driven from Manhattan to Niagara Falls. It took forever. I rode a bus from Albany to Lake Placid and it seemed to take forever. That’s some uphill business and you’re walking in woods over granite mountains. Need top notch shoes and a fit body – no clue how long it would take but it’s no short walk! It might be part of the Appalachian trail which fills me with the kind of longing for something that might be impossible which you allude to in this poem. Your work is always mind expanding and uniquely yours.

  20. Phew! Just beautiful poetry, Claudia…I love it all, but especially this stanza:

    “rain licks rusty holes
    in my composure & i lean
    against the fridge, reciting Pablo’s
    “Poetry” with broken voice, in english
    first, then spanish, deeper, Deeper,
    ’til i feel what it should feel like,
    being summoned from the night, …blew me away! 🙂

  21. Finished the fairy tale. It’s rough and probably less suited to poetry, but I still like it. I love your piece as well. I’ve felt like white-knuckling a grip on the sink many a day, holding on to a reality while a storm rages inside. 🙂

  22. Claudia this is lovely, especially this:
    rain licks rusty holes
    in my composure & i lean
    against the fridge, reciting Pablo’s
    “Poetry” with broken voice, in english
    first, then spanish, deeper, Deeper,
    ’til i feel what it should feel like,
    being summoned from the night,

    I love Neruda…………..

  23. ““t’is what i want” i whisper & start
    crying cause there are no ways
    or i can’t find ‘em and know nothing
    ’bout it, nothing that
    exists, what you could plan &
    nothing more than
    being all,…”

    Claudia, you write with such emotion, romance, passion and sensuality. This is just beautiful!!

  24. Well Niagara Falls is just one hour away from us….but if you have to walk, it might take about 5 days..ha..ha..since I like Pablo, I love these lines ~ I can just picture it ~

    reciting Pablo’s
    “Poetry” with broken voice, in english
    first, then spanish, deeper, Deeper,
    ’til i feel what it should feel like,

  25. Once again the tea kettle explodes with a whistle. Your poems to this day, at least to me, are so passionate and titillating(there’s you some extra T’s if you are still needing them.) This one though had nothing to do with the kitchen and passion it was a bit of scare the new path but in a good way . I love trying to analyze this stuff . It’s so much fun.

  26. “rain licks rusty holes
    in my composure” love that! I’m trying to keep my kids on task with their homework and the lines rewrite in my head, “That glass of wine licks rusty holes in my patience.”

  27. Wow – intensely beautiful, vibrantly poignant. You have crafted this skillfully indeed. The imagery is so strong, the combining of the symbolism of google maps and the healing of the blind just adds such depth and power to your words. I really enjoyed this.

  28. My favorite line and image is at the sink. I enjoyed hearing you read below as well and am left with afterthoughts of the gaping space between the whales teeth.

  29. that’s roaring wild
    under the surface, yet
    remains an unwalked road
    in beta, that largely stays unspelled,
    uncharted— hidden
    in the twilight
    of the heart

    I’m stuck in the last, as in
    “under the surface”, as so much of your writings excitingly ARE!
    “uncharted” as each moment of life IS!

    And “hidden in the twilight of the heart.” Ohhhh! Claudia!
    Play that sax, Babe!
    xo

  30. There is no easy way from point A to B. The straightest route isn’t always the best. I enjoyed the phasing in and out of thoughts, points of view and images. An excellent adventure very well written.

  31. I simply love this. The power beneath the surface of your poems always waits, there ready to take me and enfold me in giving love and acceptance. Is it Neruda who sleeps there, poetry, or new life bringing its fullness one word, one sign away? This gets me and holds me tight.

  32. Spanish is always better when it is deeper and deeper. Not sure about the Niagra hike, but I like the uncharted path in my free time. Excellent as always!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  33. all i know is i went on a journey there, uncharted, though i recognized familiar similars, which only made me wonder more ’bout the differences, and felt myself enter pass and exit, complete, and completely, yet didn’t know

    don’t know

    where i’d been…

    i think i heard a pen quill scratch

    wondrous job claudia, wondrous…

  34. “in fact we have a who-peels-faster competition,
    and i always win–” … love this! I like to peel apples like Meg Ryan on Sleepless in Seattle, as if it makes me a better woman somehow 🙂

    more favorites:

    “rain licks rusty holes
    in my composure”

    “that’s roaring wild
    under the surface, yet
    remains an unwalked road
    in beta, that largely stays unspelled”

  35. I love the way you shift the scenes from Google maps, to peeling oranges, to reciting Neruda’s poetry, and into the recesses of the heart; and how you shift from matter-of-fact observations to deep philosophical discourse. Poetry is a journey to Everest, where the reader is the foreign climber, and the poet the native guide, who points out the crags and ledges along the way, to the amazing vista on top.

  36. Claudia, great job as usual. Love the unwalked/beta ideas here, very good comparison/understanding. Also really like the reality alive in this piece, from the peeling of oranges to the fridge, offers another level, mental frame of atmosphere here. I highly do not recommend walking from times square to the falls…it is crazy far and without going the thruway I really couldn’t begin to imagine how one would possibly do this. If you ever are in the area, Niagara Falls that is, let me know, only about 20 minutes, but if you decide to take that long walk, please let me know ahead of time, as I can tell you what parts of the falls to avoid. 🙂 Great job. Thanks

  37. i think it’s a brilliant title. is there is there not something like pavement on at least a stretch of the unwalked road in the twilight of the heart? this love-hate in us, is it human nature or begotten from this self-hating culture we live in? you have me thinking deep thoughts, at least for me:)
    you’ve gotten a lot of well-deserved love for this. the seamless shift from the first graph to the second, from the ultimate macro of a map to the ultimate up close and personal in the kitchen being ourselves, you’re holding the reader in your hand at that point.

  38. damn, woman! only YOU could take google maps and beta mode and make them HOT! the passion in this one is steaming off of the computer screen! i think you are THE most passionate woman i have ever (not) met! you truly embrace life, do you not? {smile} LOVE the entire poem, but have to say ~

    “rain licks rusty holes
    in my composure”

    is one of your best!

  39. Claudia, I like how the poem goes full circle, going from the Times Square to Niagara Falls concept in the beginning and then coming back to it at the end. The walk itself would be quite a journey, but your poem was quite a journey too….. Your poem is specific to this walk, but I think that a lot of ‘walks’ we make in our mind are in beta…they are uncharted, may not even be probable; but we know what we want!

  40. Oh this is gorgeous.. the moving from the image of google maps working out our distances for us – to the distances between lovers, and the best way to shorten them.. I could cry too, for the splendour of your words and emotions.

  41. Always admire your raw, edgy poetry C.. and others have said it before me …but that “rain licks rusty holes in my composure”… resonates..so original…why the dang couldn’t I think of that? Love this poem!

  42. Reading Pablo’s “Poetry” was my introduction to Spanish. As for the beta walk…I bicycled from Syracuse to NYC in five days and Syracuse is not even halfway to the Falls. Methinks they need to recalculate. Another winning poem as always Claudia. Now I can start my day.

    Cheers,

    Mark

  43. Love the poem. Just for your reference, you can also get walking directions from the US to China on GoogleMaps – from California, walk to Canada, then kayak to China. I think it said it would take about three months.

  44. Knowing what you want and figuring out how to get there or getting someone to listen or to just express that there is something there that you cannot reach. I love reading your poetry. It is an experience each time. This is no exception, Claudia.

  45. “made me
    blind and seeing all at once,
    as if SomeOne

    spits in the mud, rubs it
    in your eyes, grips you & loves you
    ’til you’re lying pale ‘n hot
    between the sheets, begging for more”

    Such original wording deserves it’s own poem! The whole thing is great but this bit is outstanding.

  46. NYC to Niagara? I would rather stay on in NYC for as long as I can! There’s so much to encounter. Also lots of distractions. Only when I’m done Niagara can be a soothing visit. Beneath the Falls garbed in yellow raincoats was an experience!
    Great verse, Claudia!

    Hank

  47. We used to have potato peeling races. Kept all my fingers, tho! JK, JK. 🙂

    Amazing what can happen at kitchen sinks, Been avoiding mine and the dishes that go with for over a day now.

    Lovely how you kept going lower and lower in Pablo’s voice.

    Okay, let’s get new sneakers and walk that Times Square to Niagara Falls route. I actually got to visit the former in 1990 and the latter in 1979!!

    Summoned by the approching night now…..

    xo

  48. English, Spanish, Polish, Russian, Jiddish, German … I speak them all … Not well, but I do … Enough to keep myself clothed and fed … And still, my friend C. … Looking for the perfect people … The perfect country … The perfect kind … My kind … Our kind … Aren’t we all though, eh? Love, cat.

  49. Finding a smoothly paved pathway from one heart to another heart is sabotaged by storms and potholes and road crews and turned-around signs all the way, isn’t it?

  50. thanks for taking me on another unexpected ride…oh yes, the true beta and wild of our hearts…so many heart roads still not walked…did you go to NYC yet? Happy Friday/Saturday, Claudia…depending on when you read this 🙂

Leave a Reply

