un//explained

strolling through Basle Art Museum,
we observed the Masters,
Beuys, Chagall, van Gogh,

but i found
what i was searching
on the half floor,

in the space between–

walking the aisle alone,
it looked easy– charcoal,
watercolor, random dots &
nothing art–ificial,

in the evening on the kitchen table,
fragments of my life,
torn and softened with a bit of oil,
rough on the edges, i–

won’t polish, risking that
you’ll scratch your hands,
take the brush // ArtWork cut
with a potato knife that flows
from Aorta to heart–

humanity, insanity, and all
that’s in between, penciled graphically,
uncontrolled across my skin &
still enough uncovered that you see
but maybe not review so easily–
i throw

letters in the air,
mix and rub ‘em on the floor with dust,
collected in a hundred ditches–
see if i can find a place

to hang ‘em, dripping
wet with paint, pulsing,
abstract partly, this is i–
encoded & exposed–
(no contradiction necessarily)

but it takes time
to stand with me a bit
in case
you really–

wanna know

.

brian miller rocks the OpenLinkNight mic at dVerse today…so write a poem and join us when the gates open at 3pm EST..

75 responses to “un//explained

  1. “humanity, insanity, and all
    that’s in between, penciled graphically,” that’s just fun to read aloud! The beginning of this reminded me of my favorite of your poems. It was another trip to an art museum and gives me goosebumps just recalling it.

  2. I’m first here too!

    I’m wondering if this is one of the Fragments poems.

    Also, I like very much that you include Beuys with the masters as I feel hints of fat and felt here, amidst the oil and ditches and roughened palms. Hard to make art from/with the heart–of course, you do it all the time. K.

  3. I like this very much. And

    it takes time
    to stand with me a bit
    in case
    you really–

    wanna know

    Ah… that’s just it isn’t it? – how many really want to know?

  4. I think I went blind from all that dust, clean a bit you must..haha..like how you went with your own, and the so called greats were just left alone, seeing more in the cracks.

  5. humanity, insanity, and all
    that’s in between, penciled graphically,
    uncontrolled across my skin

    love those lines…and they play well off the end…taking the time…it is like a book…reading every word to savor, not rush to find the end…love the play with the words as well…

  6. So much gorgeousness here: Loved this

    “to hang ‘em, dripping
    wet with paint, pulsing,
    abstract partly, this is i–
    encoded & exposed–
    (no contradiction necessarily)

    but it takes time
    to stand with me a bit
    in case
    you really–

    wanna know”

    Yes, I really wanna know.

  7. Claudia- this made me think about ‘what IS art’. Althought the artists deemed as ‘classic’ or ‘easessential’ can be brilliant- a lot on the time it is the institutions who prescribe WHAT IS- particularly when it comes to new art. What (I think) you pointed out here- is that actually each piece of creation by all the unknown artists are equally important and can tell an equally powerful and inspirational story- about life- about themselves- but of course- only if people REALLY want to look. I know I ramble on- and I’m sure I miss the point most of the time- but this is how your poem spoke to me. And it have a very powerful message- all written in your unique and flowing style that I’m loving more and more with each read

  8. the half floor reminds me of that movie, oh what’s the name? Oh yes, “Being John Malkovitch.” Both an interesting trip. I liked how you say art-ificial, I shall always think of you when I see that word now.

    xo

  9. A lot of great lines here… love…but it takes time
    to stand with me a bit
    in case
    you really–wanna know…..lovely. Thank you for your sweet comment over at Victoria’s. :)

  10. the letters you paint with always make we want to stand a bit, here, with you.

    this is one gorgeous, graphic, felt-to-the-core piece of art.

  11. i love how hypnotic your poetry is, how- the slower i read, the more seductive it becomes and I almost get lost but, lost would mean wanting to find a way back and in your words, I am content, Claudia. Art is what you create.

  12. I like the image of the words and letters hanging (I pictured a clothes line across the kitchen, each one pinned to it) dripping with paint, just trying to do their part to describe who you really are. :) Peace, Linda

  13. Kaleidoscopic, both poem and self in poem, and the images never seem to stand still long enough to be decoded–but I don’t happen to be one of those who believes there’s a real difference between Art and reality, if you hang with either one long enough–thanks for the wild ride, Claudia.

  14. for me this is an intimate glimpse at an artistic essence lay bare. what an excpetionally penned piece Claudia.

    you really had me with this–

    this is i–
    encoded & exposed–

  15. Beautiful piece on self as art, so many layers of paint to see through. Love these:

    “abstract partly, this is i–
    encoded & exposed–”

    “but it takes time
    to stand with me a bit
    in case
    you really–
    wanna know”

  16. This is just gorgeous… almost hypnotic.
    Very lively imagery.
    I loved it, especially the end.
    There are surprisingly few that really want to know.
    Thanks for the read!

  17. But it takes times, to stand with me a bit in case you really want to know…great loved this… it’s amazing the places where you will find bits of your life just scattered!

  18. Throw letters up in the air and mix em all up on the floor with the dust… some really lovely imagery Claudia. Sometimes art has to do just that, has to take time to grow on us before we really like it, doesn’t it?

  19. i’ve been standing with you and reaping the reward of getting to know you here, artistically and personally. i love it when you construct, paint and assemble your words. you find so much in the space between. the fragments of your life are as beautiful as anything in that museum.

  20. I really like this. I can feel you piecing together, like me, those bits and pieces into what art might or might not be able to comprehend, order, render beautiful in all our disarray (me at least). You simply say it so well, like the art you make so lovingly from life. I think art gives a lie to life most often, and the consciousness of this tendency is the hardest thing for poets and artists to remain aware of. Your poem understands that and takes it in in stride and renders what’s real art.

  21. The sense of play between what waxes and wanes in the creative declarations of our soul’s triumphs and falls and risen births again is sumptuous…I love the duality of movement of some of the verbs…molto molto magnifico…

  22. You know you’re in for something unique when Beuys is placed alongside Chagall and Van Gogh. But I think of you as an Expressionist or an Abstract Expressionist, and this

    “encoded & exposed”

    is the particular beauty of abstract art: when it’s well done it’s right there in your face, it’s raw and goes right to the heart or gut, even if the head can’t quite find words for it.

  23. How easily you take the tools of an artist, and shake them into your word images creating from one work another, painting one image and the how of it into the into the “be” of yours. Another satisfying and very fine work of art, Claudia.

  24. Many themes danced through my mind reading great piece. One vision i could not shake was of somebody cutting themselves. Some people enjoy cutting themselfves. And sometimes artists do to, with their words, a slice here and there to produce some blood, a part of themselves, through self inflicted injury with word. They love the addiction of pain. Anyway, very nice write, I’m sure your meaning was much brighter than that. Enjoyed this very much!

  25. Such a poem. I am way out of my league. But I honestly enjoyed this slice, excuse the pun, of your heart and soul. I will enjoy reading your work. I love art and I like your combinations.

  26. I often feel like commenting, and then I see how many have gone before me. This time I am determined. I loved every worded brushstroke. For me, looking for hidden treasures on overlooked floors, reading between the lines, handling with care every word, learning the person from the art they create…for me these are the best way to discover someone. Stand back, sit down, change perspective, study and fall in love. :)

  27. to hang ‘em, dripping
    wet with paint, pulsing,
    abstract partly, this is i–
    encoded & exposed–
    (no contradiction necessarily)

    I love this and the thought of it being encoded and exposed at the same time. Got me thinking…good write, Claudia. Smiles!

  28. I can picture this, because I’ve stood in the same space you describe here, that point in time and space when I suddenly see at the wavering of life in front of me – and instead of atoms I see the brushwork on a larger canvas, as if we were part of an unimaginably huge, unimaginably complex piece of art. You put that all down, unequivocally, poetically.

  29. So interesting to see what those gaps can hold.. love your exploration of the speaker’s position through punctuation (i- )… Like the serrations in the piece.. teeth to consider.

  30. humanity, insanity, and all
    that’s in between, penciled graphically,
    uncontrolled across my skin &
    still enough uncovered that you see
    but maybe not review so easily–

    Superb, this had me completely captivated.

  31. but it takes time
    to stand with me a bit
    in case
    you really–

    wanna know

    those words capture who you are claudia, i mean, when ever i take in one of your pieces i have to stand with you a bit. you encode and expose constantly in your writing and i often(as with this one) read through several times before your words sink in. before i open your poetry from my e-mail i ask myself, “do i have time to do this justice?” or more appropriately…”do i have time to stand with you a bit?’

  32. You brought us along the progress of what the artist did, Claudia! A sure way of getting towards the masterpiece. It came with all the inspiration and aspiration of art. Great verse!

    Hank

  33. I like the compound commentary on the artist and on the artwork. Each is always a “work in progress” I imagine, no matter how long we stand together…Very nice.

  34. “strolling through Basle Art Museum,
    we observed the Masters,
    Beuys, Chagall, van Gogh,

    but i found
    what i was searching
    on the half floor…”

    Hi! Claudia…
    I’m an artist, but after reading your [beautiful] poetic words I can see that your poetic words goes beyond the explained to the Un//explained.
    Tks, for sharing!
    deedee :)

  35. humanity, insanity, and all
    that’s in between, penciled graphically,
    uncontrolled across my skin &
    still enough uncovered that you see
    but maybe not review so easily–

    Wonderfully written…..thank you for sharing.

  36. your poetry wraps me like a delicate veil every time leaving breathless and hypnotized..a brilliant verse to savor…you are truly the Master of words.

  37. The pieces of our lives that don’t assemble back into being frameable–this is what we often have a the end of the day! Wonderful poem that is very dense and multi-layered, as usual.

  38. Excellent ! A kaleidoscope of images and inter-connected associations. Your use of language & imagery is very impressive.

Leave a Reply

