munich & return on water wings

flapping wings,
i’m drifting in and out of sleep
as sun beams break
in the perpetual & endless ripples
of a yawning sea–

i sleep best in cars,
limbs spread wide across the highway,
grazing Austria, then Switzerland,
kissing Liechtenstein in flight,

voices dimmed down to a distant murmur
and Lake Constance glistens
like a bride in fading evening light–

just a few more miles to go,
the mistral’s tongue ruffles my feathers
like you did when we ran on the lake last night,
breathless, gaining speed & water prisms spit
diffusing droplets on our face–

the moon –or was it just the dim lights
from the diner at the end of yesterday–
engraves uncharted galaxies on naked skin,

i wake as we drive in a traffic jam
and when the car stops, sleep flees, roused
like fish ballet formations, shaken by
a hungry seagull’s shrieks before i

drift away again,

and you stand, waving–
on the shore’s moist mouth

.

smiles.. my business trip to munich yesterday mingled somehow with the beautiful picture above, which was shot by Reena Walkling and is used with her permission.. my colleagues shook their head because in the car i was either sleeping or typing poetry into my iPhone…smiles

over at dVerse, brian miller has prepared a wonderful poetics prompt for us…he will unlock the doors at 3pm EST..

61 responses to “munich & return on water wings

  1. Hi Claudia…if you can sleep when someone is driving a distance in Germany, etc., I commend you. If it isn’t the speed and people darting in and out of lanes at breakneck speed on the Autobahn, it is those winding roads through small towns that would do in any attempt to sleep! However, YOUR poem made the journey quite pleasant, and I yearn to see your country again!

  2. as always there is a wonderful intimacy in your words….esp like…

    just a few more miles to go,
    the mistral’s tongue ruffles my feathers
    like you did when we ran on the lake last night,
    breathless, gaining speed & water prisms spit
    diffusing droplets on our face–

    it is like standing at the veil between reality and a dream…i will say that i dont sleep well in cars…my dreams are much more like my poem today when i do…haha…lovely c

  3. Agree with Brian, lovely poem of the drift of dream and drowse–you use the bird metaphors very well. You know water wings are those little life preservers that they used to strap onto children’s arms to keep them from drowning. At first, I found that image a bit startling–I wasn’t sure it was what you meant–but it also works quite well. The hore’s moist mouth a lovely phrase. K.

  4. Love it Claudia, very evocative, full of strong imagery. Reminds me, actually, of a holiday we had in Switzerland many years ago. I particularly remember a boat trip on a lake and visiting the town of Spietz and its castle. Great stuff.

  5. I love car rides except I am usually the one driving. You so catch the ambiance meandering of roadway travel and taking in scenery! Have a great weekend!

  6. … have been there years ago …what a flood of feelings … some long forgotten memories are ever so fresh in my mind now … not sure whether that’s good or bad, but it doesn’t matter … thanks for the ride 🙂 Love, cat.

  7. Those dreams are always great, when you’re just awake enough to realize them and traffic stinks, so why not sleep. Sounds like you were such grand company too..lol

  8. such beautiful imagery floating through this poem – the stanza Brian already quoted left me breathless… that sudden dive into the intensely personal

  9. Claudia, there is nothing to say except “extraordinary.” While ill I am not writing except a Haiku a day upon my Haiku and photography blog.

  10. I love how you weave the telling of your car ride with such imaginative imagery and feeling.

    I lived in Augsburg for a few years many moons ago. Your poem brought back some memories of visiting Munch.

    I envy how you can write anywhere, even in the car as you dream.

  11. nice poeticizing of your trip. Some really good lines in here, love the just a few more miles to go stanza and the douglas adam’s reference was a nice touch too. Nice job. Thanks

  12. T
    Wavering between dream and reality, you pull us into a world so filled with passion and immediacy. Yet the ways that dreams inhabit your poetry, the line between reality and dream breaks down. Into this gentle chasm, a new world a different way of being appears. This poetic state of affairs is perhaps irony, perhaps revelation, but possibility for sure.

  13. This line is really nice: “on the shore’s moist mouth”

    I also really liked this: “the mistral’s tongue ruffles my feathers like you did when we ran”

  14. i sleep best in cars,
    limbs spread wide across the highway.
    Some lovely imagery here!! I always sleep in the car when traveling, it’s just something that happens. Love it 🙂

  15. This bird has a magnificience to it, he’s statuesque… could have been carved in rock and stored on a European building. Your reference to Austria makes much sense to me, with the shades of brown and the light…
    I love your line “i sleep best in cars,” So bare and stunning.

  16. I loved the line about sleeping better in cars! I’m the same- cars/trains/ buses- doesn’t matter. I got a sense of you dreaming in this piece, and there appearing the image of the bird by the lakeside, but mingled with other thoughts, meditations almost. And then when you wake- you see the image of the bird again- a powerful reminder of that warm ethereal place you inhabited just a few moments ago. Great capture of a familiar moment and the prompt nicely linked.

  17. As someone else has said, this makes me long for Europe – and I haven’t done much of it at all; your poem makes me long to see Munich precisely. Your use of metaphor blends well with the sleepy ride and the wide-winged pelican … I particularly like how the moon or the dim diner lights “engraves uncharted galaxies on naked skin” … a delicious visual.

  18. the moon –or was it just the dim lights
    from the diner at the end of yesterday–
    engraves uncharted galaxies on naked skin
    This was my favoritelines, the end of yesterday, uncharted galaxies. Love it

  19. The opening lines are lovely…I feel I am stretching my wings too…

    I do enjoy the urban images mixed with the pelican as its my everyday reality ~

    Have a good weekend ~

  20. voices dimmed down to a distant murmur
    and Lake Constance glistens
    like a bride in fading evening light–

    These three lines tick all the important boxes for me.

  21. “roused
    like fish ballet formations,”

    your visuals are stunning, as always, claudia! i love when you write about what is going on in your life these days ~ you can infuse the “everyday” with so much romance and beauty, and just plain make everything NOT-everyday.

    love this! ♥

  22. I know you don;t need another comment telling you how good this was–great personification and morph with the pelican–fish ballet, running across the lake–as always Claudia, your words have wings.

  23. Lovely poem. Sensual, with the freedom and flight of bird’s wings, of air, of wind, of galaxies, of maybe a moon. And water, that yawns, that glistens, upon which one can drift …

  24. Oh, Claudia this is gorgeous! “Lake Constance glistens/like a bride in fading evening light” oh, my, yes (I remember her that way, which is a long story)–how the mind unhinges during a long car ride…thank you.

  25. truly sweet piece…

    my fav verse:
    just a few more miles to go,
    the mistral’s tongue ruffles my feathers
    like you did when we ran on the lake last night,
    breathless, gaining speed & water prisms spit
    diffusing droplets on our face–

  26. What a dream adventure, driving with you! I have grown at least another 1/2 inch on my own wingspan. I wait with you by the shore, dear Claudia!

  27. wonderful claudia,
    and as i did these road so many times in the last few month, they do move something greater in me. “grazing Austria” – got to love that one – so true..