Liquorice Whee/a/ls

 

i often use them to
bind my world together, just
before it otherwise
would fall apart, stretching them
from place to place, from
careless laughter to

festering wounds where
average band-aids never
hold, I stick them, moistened
on both ends, their gooey
feel-the-comfort core (oh yes,
they have one) spread like
spider arms across
the market square,

roll them to mars or moon,
to russia, vietnam, the
next village or across the room,
where you sit on the couch
and mumble:

“my toes feel sticky somehow”

.

…and if you wanna know what this has to do with the martian school of poetry, you should visit us at dVerse  with Samuel Peralta tending bar..

51 responses to “Liquorice Whee/a/ls

  1. Just had to smile as I read this…thinking about the popularity of ‘comfort food’ these days…given world events seems like we need it more than ever.

  2. Well, I went for Twizzlers! (Only as Child.) And now stick to tea, which makes my word a bit soppy. But very cute here, and vivid. K.

  3. “i often use them to
    bind my world together, just
    before it otherwise
    would fall apart, stretching them
    from place to place, from
    careless laughter to…”

    Hi! Claudia…
    Once again, your first stanza…“jumped” out and “slapped”
    my face!… I popped in at d’Verse after reading your very beautiful poetic words and returned to say…following the Martian School Of Poetry as a guide…you have succeed with your poem…“liquid wheel/as/is/
    Tks, for sharing your poem!

    [Note: I would be re-missed if I didn’t mention the very beau-ti-ful imagery or photograph that greeted your readers this morning.]
    deedee 🙂

  4. LOL I used to eat these then they somehow seemed too bitter for my sweet tooth and, I didn’t like the black teef (teeth) and tongue that stayed for hours LOL
    Nice one Claudia !

  5. Are we defined by the comfort food we eat? That tactile gooiness brings smiles since I have some that I’d not prefer to have public knowledge. But gooey sweets are in there. You make it all so present, and have fun, you bring me great enjoyment in remembering and in reading your lovely wordplay.

  6. Never been a big fan of liquorice but that doesn’t mean I’m not running out the door right now to hit up the penny candy aisle! (Now a dime a piece, but oh well!) Claudia, this was awesome!

  7. yumm… I love it…
    I love how you can seem to always be able to write with such a flow that readers just feel a part of the world you painted:)

    ~L

  8. I got images of you rolling around these huge liquorice wheels with you everywhere you went- and whenever a problem cropped up or you were having a bad day- you’d just tear a massive chunk out it and that would make everything better. so much fun. very imaginative…god…my effort is so dull in comparison to this! 🙂

  9. This was pretty neat, you make a great martian:) Hopefully I’ll get a chance to come up with one tonight or in the morning. Great job, really fun descriptions and love the run on places there at the end. Thanks

  10. You definitely stretched the metaphors in this one, a great read! …And all this delicious talk started me thinking about one of my favourite chocolate snacks – the “Mars” bar 😉

  11. This made me smile too. Licorice wheels all gooey and somehow the image turned into one of those one man scooter things with those same kind of looking wheels – people on them always look like they’re from outer space. You’re a clever, lass, Ms. Claudia…even though I’m not the first to say so!

  12. Licorice wheels? I never encountered them, and your poem gives me the odd sense that I have missed something! Is it too late? LOL.

  13. I was just thinking yesterday how candy played a major part in my childhood too for comfort and release. And I have 30 fillings to prove that! 🙂

    Vietnam or the moon, across the room. Brilliant word weaving, Claudia. Such stunning flow.

    xoox

  14. Hllarious, Claudia, and very sweet and sticky in a good way, not the kind that makes your fingers fuzzy, but like the stickers you put on a child’s paper to make them smile. Loved the tongue in cheek–is that a pun??–of the second stanza and last line.

  15. I over eat red licorice, I can’t help myself, if the bag is open I will eat it all, and of course who didn’t make a flute out of their stick of licorice. Still do.

  16. LOL, like everybody else. May you find yourself taking a hike along a black licorice road with lollipop trees and gumdrop birds keep singing funny songs that make you smile and smile and smile.

  17. “roll them to mars or moon,
    to russia, vietnam, the
    next village or across the room,
    where you sit on the couch
    and mumble:

    “my toes feel sticky somehow””

    indeed! really lilke that, great ending. your poems always make me hungry. lots of vivid details, your work just gets better and better.

  18. Comfort foods ,and twiddling with those foods, actually can help us cope, can’t they? Wonderful metaphors here for how we do manage to keep on keeping on, Claudia!

  19. i often use them to bind my world together, just before it otherwise
    would fall apart …I like this so much. Whether its comfort food, music, or whatever there is that grasping at straws trying to make sense of the world…My world was so fragmented last year..I am just now trying to catch my breath from it