when the house burns down, there’ll be a Z scratched to the side of your neck

I keep lists
of places I would love to visit,
borders definitely worth to cross,
food to try and yes, one day
I wanna sail the ocean with a pirate flag,
enveloping my chest– ha,

by the way I read about that girl,
14 years old, sailing ‘round the world
and thinking back what I did when I was
her age, a sleet of sorrow suc(k)cumbs
me– (seriously) but–

back to the lists again, they’re not real
of course,
just in my head, blinking, changing
like departure tables on a busy airport
and delays are daily business

after watching Zorro, I decided
to add “fencing” and ”learn tango” to
my lists ‘cause both can save your life
(or at least keep you from drowning)
in the greyish pirouettes of everyday

so when you enter through that door
you’ll never know what to expect–

could be I’ll wait for you, epee in hand
and hurt you seriously, french-kiss you
until you wince & moan, your favorite
dish cooked or some long forgotten
tribal recipe, your eyes bound, so that
you’re forced to detect it carefully, just

by its taste, and I will never tell you what it
is – you’re stronger and I’m quick,
the change from swordplay to a dance
is seamless (if there really is a break) I’m
playing tricks on you and when we end
up breathless on the floor,
I’ll lick your wounds (and more)
with gentle tongue– caressing

your face, & stripping off the mask, i
tear my dress, bind it to a broom stick
and then sail us

to an undiscovered place, But– keep my
sword right next to me ’cause things
can change so quickly, shift & crash or
detonate & burn–

when the board blinks
and the numbers

turn

.

it’s OpenLinkNight again at dVerse with Joy Ann Jones aka Hedgewitch rocking the mic… gates will swing open 3pm EST, bring your sword, your mask and your pen of course…and let’s have a bit of fun with (s)wordplays…smiles


81 responses to “when the house burns down, there’ll be a Z scratched to the side of your neck

  1. this is so playful and full of personality claudia…def sensuality…and i am all about undiscovered places…so antonio bendaris does this to you..hehe…

  2. the unpredictability of your verse plays very well with the content as well…tons of great imagery…i would have added this to the above comment but i wanted to be first…smiles.

  3. Oh, I love this, my friend …let’s go … when are we going? … I’ll be there … broomstick and all … Waiting for our departure date, while I light another cigarette 🙂 Love you much, Claudia. Blessed be. Always, cat (http;//catsruledogsdroole.blogspot.com/)

  4. Passion, childhood memories and ‘ever changing things to do’ all in one fanciful poem….a delightful read this Tuesday morning…brought back memories for me of those old Zorro movies I saw as a child…ha…and I actually took fencing lessons. 😉

  5. “could be I’ll wait for you, epee in hand
    and hurt you seriously, french-kiss you
    until you wince & moan, your favorite
    dish cooked or some long forgotten
    tribal recipe”

    great details claudia, really like the feel of this, all that passion taking these shapes. well done

  6. This rattling fast conversational style really suits the poem, Claudia, and does evoke that beautiful, dramatic dance–like the tango–of swordplay. Learning both and using them as described here would certainly be an antidote to dullness and drab monotony(!) for sure, as is your poem.

  7. I agree with all that’s been said… and I can relate to the ending-

    But– keep my
    sword right next to me ’cause things
    can change so quickly, shift & crash or
    detonate & burn–

    when the board blinks
    and the numbers

    turn

  8. What a tale of sex, piracy and dreams. Your words tap into one’s imagination and actually do take one on trips unimaginable. It’s nice having you as tour guide.

  9. Hit all the highs with this one, giving sensual another run. I’m not sure that sword can stop fire though, as if it’s too hot it may melt, just so you know..haha

  10. Claudia! What a wonderful, wild romp – but also with the sting of a worldly-wise ending. Love it – I’m off to read it again..

  11. Really like how you introduced zorro early and then continued that theme throughout til the end, well done. Also, I have these types of lists myself, I call them the someday file. Really nice read. Thanks

  12. love the jab and dance of your word-fencing here… i felt you spinning, pirouetting, love with the possibility of lethal…

    as always, your work leaves me entranced.

    things can change just that quickly, can’t they?

  13. WHAT a romp! Claudia, do you have ANY item of clothing left intact in your home–or in your world in general? I believe you will NEVER need to worry about “drowning the in the greyfish pirouettes of everyday”. Love that description, so accurate!

  14. Woh! One word springs to mind- passionate. Describing passion as an adventure shared but also fragile, delicate- and to be defended. Love the wordplay in the second stanza

  15. Yes things can change quickly, even crash and burn. But with lists of possibilities and dreams and a poetic heart we can rise above especially with Zorro on one’s side.

  16. up breathless on the floor,
    I’ll lick your wounds (and more)
    with gentle tongue– caressing………..

    love all the lines…used to have a list like that :)) love your images!!!!!!

  17. And the swordplay, parry, riposte …what a dance that can be….as always I like the deceptively casual/ thoughtlike air of your stuff… No need to sharpen the blade/pen… It’s up to the task.

  18. strange you would write this today. they did bucket lists on #nuts today at noon PDT, and this is what everyone was talking about.

    i also noticed you wrote about borders, first thing i thought was how you are writing another borders poem 😉

  19. Claudia!!! I love, love, LOVE this poem!

    It is riotous with joy and energy and passion and bravado!

    I used to be a fencer…and I highly recommend it, if your ankles can hold up…and you don’t develop heel spurs! LOLL!

    Fencing was the most EMPOWERING thing I have EVER done…and I was 45 when I first entered the studio. LOL! It made me a bit of a bully, and for years I carried my swords in my car….just because. For some reason I thought it would level the playing field out there….LOL!

    And dancing and fencing is much the same…tango especially! You hit it on all buttons here.

    Incredibly sexy poem with loads of real, burning passion.

    Lady Nyo

  20. love the adventurousness of this – so much of life still to be tasted… and how no matter what we’re doing we need to be prepared ’cause things
    can change so quickly, shift & crash or
    detonate & burn–
    – oh yes, these are those days 🙂

  21. “and thinking back what I did when I was
    her age, a sleet of sorrow suc(k)cumbs
    me– (seriously) but–” … Hilarious. 😛

    “you’re forced to detect it carefully, just
    by its taste, and I will never tell you what it
    is – you’re stronger and I’m quick” … Love this

    “tear my dress, bind it to a broom stick
    and then sail us” … What a clever return to the pirate theme!

  22. Aaahh, you end where I always wanted to start a poem..
    where I hold out with an icecreamtaste in my mouth …those European trains stations –only there the sound like no other where it goes whiiiccssh and the times and trains change..when you have THE ticket of any color to RIDE everywhere then life is like this, or perhaps, like you with a broomstick lifting you magically along wizard/witch style above the Hogwarts of your dreams to dance a tango in the clouds! Reading you is like watching dreams come true.

  23. From dreams to, well, *dreams! A passion that builds with the piece, with a character I think we all can get behind: go, Zorro, go. That we got to him from pirates only pleases all the more: as they say, pirates makes everything better, right? Or is that just me? Bah. Nevertheless, great write my friend.

  24. I love the pace of this poem and its playfulness. I liked “in the greyish pirouettes of everyday” and the end is really good as well!

  25. love this trip inside your head… imagination takes us to the far reaches of any ocean we choose….wonder what that young girl was thinking all alone sailing for so long…I wonder if she knew how incredible, how courageous her journey truly was?

  26. I love the playfulness here of masks and theater tussling around in love. You bring the passion that is love into wonderful focus, where we can find ourselves blending in fiction to reveal the truth of desire and unity with the other, the beloved.

  27. Touche, Claudia! Feel like a kid in the sandbox with you. The sword play, zorro, Banderas…of course rocked me forward into adolescence. Some wonderful imagry here… like the “greyish pirouettes of everyday” . Also like the narrative quality..which I’m not brave enough to tackle and you do so very well. Great piece!

  28. amazing poem claudia. i used to dream of becoming so many heros/heroines when i grew up, that is characters of books not silver screen. 🙂

    its such a marvelous hobby.

  29. oh how I dream of travelling all over the place ….keep saying one day ! but maybe that day will never come ! still great to pretend in my head ……loved the flow of this thank you x x x x

  30. What an intriguing pairing of fencing and the tango–each a dance in its own way–and this poem will dance through my mind the rest of the day!.

  31. Claudia, such craft and the way you come back to points–enchanting and impressive. A ride! So sensual, I admire how you never hold back and it’s always so tastefully done. Excellent!
    Amy

  32. As ever, quite amazing, Claudia– you get it that you can’t hold back when you write just to pretty things up– my Rilke variations are the most controlled poems I’ve written, overlaying a certain structure upon them– but my other stuff comes up wildly, disorganized, like life– I really love these lines:

    after watching Zorro, I decided
    to add “fencing” and ”learn tango” to
    my lists ‘cause both can save your life
    (or at least keep you from drowning)

    j

  33. This one zings with lusty passionate
    energy, as do most of your poetics,
    but the fun you have with the words
    keep us both stimulated and smiling.
    I, too, have been a Zorro freak forever,
    and find pirates romantic, kind of like
    running away and joining the circus;
    at some point we still have to pierce
    the dream with a bucket of elephant
    dung.

  34. Very creative and imaginative, Claudia. But the most stellar line in the whole poem, the one that made me shiver for its brilliance is as follows “i tear my dress, bind it to a broom stick and then sail us…” It made the poem for me. I would never in a thousand years conjure up the idea of a women tearing her dress to make a sail. Gorgeous!!!

  35. stripping off the mask, i
    tear my dress, bind it to a broom stick
    and then sail us

    to an undiscovered place,

    This was quite the adventure – full of fun! Thanks.

  36. You have such a spirit of fun and many times…at least a little, “naughtiness” in your writing. I’m totally captivated and charmed by the appeal that is you!

  37. there’s a lot to like here, but more than anything it flowed so naturally and easy. following along was like watching a movie screen and your words the voiceover. or maybe that’s just how it can be to read good poetry. the idea of cruising around the world in a conjured pirate ship is favorite dream of mine.

  38. The more I read your work, the more I like the style in which you write, a touch of the here n now, a touch of memory and a hint of this n that.

    Thank you for letting me see into your world

  39. You know … I have nothing brilliant to say. No catchy meaningful jargon … you are just a truly fine poet and I love reading your words.

  40. how do you come up with so many images…from lists, to flipping boards, to tango, fencing, kissing, sailing… so much fun, Claudia 🙂

  41. Yesterday’s goals but distant dreams
    Oft I’ll dream to sail away
    Change my name, my face and DNA
    Yesterday’s goals but distant dreams

    Love the passion in the ripping off of the dress and making a sail with it – abandonment, lustful and sensuous 🙂

  42. What great playful extended metaphors you build here. This was like a journey in and of itself, with you taking us in so many different directions. Written with great intelligence and wit. Fine writing.

  43. “back to the lists again, they’re not real
    of course,
    just in my head, blinking, changing
    like departure tables on a busy airport
    and delays are daily business

    after watching Zorro, I decided
    to add “fencing” and ”learn tango” to
    my lists ‘cause both can save your life
    (or at least keep you from drowning)
    in the greyish pirouettes of everyday”

    Hi! Claudia…Once again, you very thought-provoking [beautiful] poetic words today have me placing the words that jump out at me [in your poem] in my little comment…box.
    [The left-hand corner…Thanks, for sharing your poetic words again, with your readers.]
    deedee 🙂

  44. I love the rythumic flow and the vivid stream of conciousness in your writing Claudia. I always find so many layers in your poetry!