really not about jungle book

tssssshhh– swooosh– clink

the windscreen wipers fighting
ice rain and my eyyyes–

roll hypnotized like
bowling balls that never
hit the pins, hanging lulled

on jungle trees, limp and looped by
whizZzing Kaa (& know
how Mowgli felt), headlights
disenthrall the night, I’m

driving sixty in gear two &
aspirate apologies to the wildly
barking engine, roads too slippery
to hold me straight and/
I am 44 now–

swoooosh—ghhhrrrrgh–flap,

sweeping sleep-dust from my lap,
Re_flect_ing (not too much though),
destined for civilization,

tiny splints of ice between my teeth,

the motor howls and blows diffusing
warmth into the cabin & the street–
would lead me to the jungle if I’d follow
but—

(hushed) zzZzzing– and flap– (That! —
was the snake),

I don’t

.

can’t wait to hear the clip-a-dee-clap of your footsteps on the dVerse pub floor when Sheila Moore swings open the pub doors for Poetics at 3pm EST.. you will love the prompt she’s whipped up for us..

62 responses to “really not about jungle book

  1. … not quite sure what this is about, but sounds like a “near death experience” while driving to work in the Canadian Winter …if so … I can relate … good to see that you lived to write the tale 🙂 Love, cat.

    • haha…sometimes wanting to follow the “jungle path” instead of driving to work can be almost like a “near death experience”…smiles

  2. Sounds like quite a frightening drive, Claudia. (Been there!) Ice on roads and windshield scare me. It sounds as if things in your life & dreams were flashing before your eyes as well to add a bit more chill to the experience. Loved ‘splints of ice between my teeth.’

  3. smiles…i like the fold in of the jungle book in this…kaa being the snake, temptation just to run….the ice in the teeth is great as well…nice sounds…hey is that the prompt…ona-tomatoe-p-ing?

  4. Nice use of sounds in the journey…if I could, I will make a detour for that, instead of going straight my office

    Interesting prompt ~

  5. haha oh such fun today your way. Put you could have at least gotten a spare. Instead of that bowling into the gutter. Maybe you should try a new sport, if one considers bowling a sport..haha Have I given the bear necessities so now you can rest at ease?

  6. the problem with your poems, claudia, is i like to find the line or two i really like to key in on, but yours are all over the place!

    what a pleasure i’m finding with this problem 😉

    “headlights
    disenthrall the night”

    “aspirate apologies to the wildly
    barking engine”

    “sweeping sleep-dust from my lap”

    “the motor howls and blows diffusing
    warmth into the cabin & the street”

    enjoyed the road trip, obviously, thanks claudia 😉

  7. I remember driving to work in such conditions…couldn’t take the jungle path either…but compromised and moved some place warmer to work. 🙂 A most delightful poem.

  8. Ditto sipmartin. I too drove too often in icy, cold conditions which made me want to take the jungle path back to my own jungle of home. Grrrrrrrrr. I hated those days.

  9. Claudia, I have been meaning to start following you long before this! Shame on my procrastination and my so-called “busyness”! I just laughed and applauded all the way through this poem. So bluntly truthful, served up with several spoonfuls of laughter! Winter traffic negotiations actually make us wish we were living inside The Jungle Book!

  10. Great job Claudia, Really like the allusions, used to dig Jungle Book a lot when I was younger, probably still do, but haven’t seen in a bit. Love the flow here, the almost frantic nature at points and love the sound words. Great write. Thanks

  11. Hi Claudia,

    I do not drive my car when the streets are icy. Last year I drove with my little sister when it was very very snowy and icy. I shut my eyes nearly all the time until we arrived. For me and my nerves that is horror.

    All the best wishes for the new year 2012!

    Annegret

  12. and by the way…

    happy birthday to you
    happy birthday to you
    happy birthday dear claudia
    happy birthday to you

    i guess some of us are blessed to look 10 years younger than we are eh? smiles.

  13. I really like use of sounds like clink, tsssh and swoosh etc. the human-machine interface has aspects of identity that I think this poem explores in an interesting way. It’s fun to
    Read! 🙂

  14. Fantastic! And the sound effects are awesome! I’m hanging on for dear life as the engine grinds and the ice pellets collide…and we’re taking over the twitterverse with poetry! How freaking cool is that 🙂

  15. what a crazy, nerve-splitting ride you took us on here.. Mad fun to read..
    what a creative prompt!!
    great lively read for this Saturday afternoon.
    (PS- voting and getting the word out on the Dverse Shorty Award!!!1)
    Lynne

  16. What is it they say about great minds?
    Both of us found ourselves behind
    the wheel, conducting the vehicular
    chorus that hummed between our knees;
    but you chose to survive, and I chose
    to be launched into the next adventure/
    dimension. But hey, both rides were
    a gas, and the gods of onomoto are
    smiling.

  17. You do a lot of commuting, don’t you — at least, your poems are on the road a lot … the soundsense of this piece really had me gripping the wheel, holding on to a wild ride through bad weather. It really is a jungle out there sometimes … Brendan

  18. Great sound effects…I didn’t know what ice on the windscreen sounds like being wiped off by wipers… I do now and I just love this … “roll hypnotized like bowling balls that never hit the pins, hanging lulled”

  19. wow! love the energy of this, and the sounds really drove the poem around thru my mind. and this:

    “roads too slippery
    to hold me straight and/
    I am 44 now–”

    yeah, i understand that! but don’t grow up, its not worth it, keep heading for the jungle. great stuff, really enjoyed this

  20. Very nice. You do a great job with the interplay of sound and thought, road, and fog and wiper and mind–present and years too. K.

  21. this is incredible claudia… that stanza about the car made my teeth chatter and my knuckles turn white…

  22. Zowie! I know how Mowgli felt, too, looking into headlights that “disenthrall the night.” Such fun, such wonderful phrases. I like the ice splints between the teeth, too. Clap clap clap clap clap!

  23. You have such a remarkably creative mind – this is such a joy. The 44 year old in an urban jungle meets a young boy heading back to civilization with an ironic twist. The sound effects work really well, as do all the little embellishments which makes this poem so Claudia.

  24. A great demonstration and a real tour de force, but I thought this stanza

    roll hypnotized like
    bowling balls that never
    hit the pins, hanging lulled

    exceptional.

  25. Claudia, your onomatopoeia is faultless – my favourite among yours is “lull”

    You’ve caught so well the many reasons why I no longer drive at night. As my Dad used to say during the war (old Govt.propaganda poster) Keep Death Off the Roads.

  26. I pray that I never have another drive like this one; yikes! That ice in the teeth line brought back memories of driving in the snow in my VW bug with the window open so I could wipe the outside windshield because the wipers didn’t work!

    Loved this so much. This phrase may be my favorite: “aspirate apologies to the wildly barking engine,”!

    Was it really your birthday on the 7th as Brian mentioned? Mine is on the 9th, and the topic of my onomato poem…
    Happy Birthday, Claudia!

  27. Sounds like a scary ride. I have some of those in winter here in Canada. Driven though white outs at times, that’s a scary thing. Great writing Claudia and a Belated Happy Birthday to you too! 🙂

  28. I hope your birthday was amazing….I can relate to wanting to take a detour and follow the path to the jungle 🙂
    Hope it’s a great year for you, happy birthday again!

  29. I like this a lot, really interesting, especially:

    “to hold me straight and/
    I am 44 now–

    swoooosh—ghhhrrrrgh–flap,

    sweeping sleep-dust from my lap,
    Re_flect_ing (not too much though),
    destined for civilization,

    tiny splints of ice between my teeth,

    the motor howls and blows diffusing
    warmth into the cabin & the street–
    would lead me to the jungle if I’d follow
    but—”

    Very strong but pared down- my favorite.

  30. driving 60 in gear 2. that’s a lot of engine and power not being used to its full potential. but i think the apology to the motor is a riot:) having the steam to go places is such beautiful booty. where do we go? the jungle, you say. i feel the wild side in your yearning for the untamed jungle. i am also destined for civilization, or at least the vehicle in am in. i have a feeling something smarter than i programmed my vehicle with that destination, and it may take a while to get there, but i want to see true civilization someday. the jungle is a more humane place than most man has made for himself.

  31. Another excellent example of you taking an actuality — common circumstance — driving in icy weather on icy roads and elevating it into something transcendental and out of reach just barely.

  32. whoosh indeed – brilliant play on sounds here – and the imagery of course is as strong as ever – “headlights
    disenthrall the night, I’m

    driving sixty in gear two &
    aspirate apologies to the wildly
    barking engine, roads too slippery
    to hold me straight and/
    I am 44 now–” – loved the last line – it added another aspect to this write – great stuff as always!

  33. These are my favorite lines:

    “sweeping sleep-dust from my lap” and “tiny splints of ice between my teeth”

  34. Well thank you for the image of a huge snake flung away by wipers!
    Jungle books were a favorite- a category of their own.
    enjoyed your scene and sounds!

  35. “tssssshhh– swooosh– clink

    the windscreen wipers fighting
    ice rain and my eyyyes–

    roll hypnotized like
    bowling balls that never
    hit the pins, hanging lulled…”

    Hello! Claudia…
    First Of all, Happy [Belated] Birthday! and once again, your poetry [your words] is/are very beautiful!… Your description Of your drive to work is very vivid…too! [keep safe!]

    [Note:Claudia, even though I don’t drive…I have sat on the pas-sager side in a car along with a family member(s) at the wheel in weather like you have described so very vividly in your poem.]
    Thanks, for sharing!
    deedee 😉