The Wild, the Weird & really no Wardrobe

the wild have bear paws, gentle wings
& fearless eyes– and this is
how you recognize them in the everyday

and maybe this is how i looked the moment
when i scrapped the list with all the things
you were allergic to and shouldn’t eat cause
there was almost nothing left,

they put us into cages, built of fear &
door by door they closed, the ground
was getting smALL n’ SMAller ‘til i choked
and hammered, fever-hot and bleeding fists
against the walls of illness,

there was a tiger in the mirror when i
tucked you in my lap, carefully and tender,
in my eyes the weird wild to sail you
through the storm and if we’d drown i’d
drink the ocean empty–

click…click…click..

the film rolls cut and..
like a thief i stole you from the hospital,
out of intensive care, we
shut the blinds & we made love all PM
‘til the land was wide again, sweat sticky
on our skin and i was sure your heart
was good– &

back in the infirmary
the doctor looked concerned coz you
seemed drained and they kept you
two more days– still feel– your smile,
trickling gently down my back as
step by step i disappeared in the direction
of the parking lot–

today i

press my fur against the railing, tight & like
a mad (wo)man scratch skin, SEEkin‘ sense_
ATION, feel the freedom and
the wildness of this world, sunk deep
inside me, beating hard against
my chest, but when i turn around–

this is when you look at me, say there’s–
something– in my eyes you love but
can’t explain– exactly

.

so two true stories here…my youngest daughter had severe skin problems for years and at a certain point there had to be a break free or we all would’ve gone mad… the hospital kidnap was when hubs and i were just married for a few months and a bit like out of a movie scene…really wild..and maybe a bit silly as well.. smiles
today Mark Kerstetter has prepared a wonderfully wild poetics prompt for us over at the dVerse Pub…hope to see you there at 3pm EST.. 

59 responses to “The Wild, the Weird & really no Wardrobe

  1. hot…you make the words dance while you tell the tale…there is a cool beat through out claudia…great word play…you know i love the caps in words…tight write…so hubs has major alergies? might have to try similar treatment next time i am sick and see…might save tons on doctor bills…

  2. Are you sure you didn’t go mad? Maybe you have and just don’t know it yet…hahaha You weaved both together well, in one wild adventure of a verse. And as Brain said hot for sure, as you take your dVerse tour.

  3. Great write, Claudia! I think we all need to see the “tiger in the mirror” sometimes and exercise our wildness as you did. And I like the ‘fearless eyes.” We can definitely learn from animals; and sometimes we do need to exercise our “wild” side!

  4. I guess your cure qualifies as homeopathic? Love this. You created something cute and rather fun out of, what I know couldn’t have been funny at the time.

  5. Heart problems and you did that to him, WILD! and wonderful. I love and hate the ending because I do not want it to stop. The words were really dancing tonight.

  6. awesome, claudia. glad you added the notes because I thought I was reading about a child’s allergies but then the hospital escape and making love part through me. After reading it again, I see how the click, click, click was the transition.

    I love this line: through the storm and if we’d drown i’d
    drink the ocean empty.

    Such a great way to describe a mother’s love for her child – I can relate 🙂

  7. I like the kidnapping part specially the last lines:

    this is when you look at me, say there’s–
    something– in my eyes you love but
    can’t explain– exactly

    Thanks for sharing this ~

  8. Cool write Claudia, really like how you weaved the two stories together. Love the nuances of speech and the various poetic tools you added here. Great job, can’t wait to see what the prompt is, very intriguing this wild theme seems. Thanks

  9. When you become so civilized you live in an artifical world, something’s got to give-and I think everything did, in this poem–love the line about drinking the ocean dry to keep from drowning. And your ‘holistic medicine.’ ;_)

  10. OK, first off, one look at your title started me laughing. 2nd, I came to your page while listening to ‘Go Wild in the Country’ by Bow Wow Wow. How perfect is that?

    I love the end of your poem. I’ve been looking into my lover’s eyes for many years now, and there’s something – hell, there’s a lot I can’t explain, and don’t want to. Thanks for sharing your spirit, Claudia.

  11. I love the little snippits into your life ……just call me nosey …..nah I like the nutty happy tales this is kind of nutty but great tale thank you x x x

  12. I love how you’ve put the two stories together… a great memory from hospital, how daring… love it…well it only got stronger from what’s said in the last verse, to have that mystery linger is very special… lovely to hear!

  13. “and if we drowned, I would drink the ocean empty…” that’s a killer line. I’ve seen that scene in the movies before…so it originated with you eh?

  14. Hi Claudia–wonderful use of the wild as healer here–And I love the jumps and shifts and sensuality of the poem, of course–the pacing of the end especially effective for me–sensual Dickinson. K.

  15. Nothing more wild than the passion of a mother / lover woman.. hands down the bear and tiger can’t compete. I loved this so much, as I love all your pieces. Such a voice for modern poetry.

  16. A wild ride, Claudia…in and out of this reality of life with a fighting spirit of what is right and write. I’m glad that you put up a fight, though, I am Not surprised (smile). Your last stanza speaks volumes, an expression of love (that cannot be named) is the beauty that keeps us real. ~

  17. Great write Claudia! We go wild with our words often provoked by events that are so unsettling. Apparently letting off steam is helpful.But fighting off these irritations do strengthen our resolve.

    Hank

  18. This is one of the most beautiful stanzas on one of the most beautiful poems I’ve ever read:
    here was a tiger in the mirror when i
    tucked you in my lap, carefully and tender,
    in my eyes the weird wild to sail you
    through the storm and if we’d drown i’d
    drink the ocean empty–

    With memories like the ones told here, no wonder you can finalize the poem with this is when you look at me, say there’s–
    something– in my eyes you love but
    can’t explain– exactly

  19. Argh. that comment above is from me. sometimes I forget that I have to change the name from what I used when I first signed up at wordpress…