changing tides & black flag lovers

.

it’s a bit like ebb and flow,
swaying, altering direction
froth swashes through and with us,
leaving salt prints on bare feet

we’re slowly pressing deeper–

did i tell you i could walk for hours
in the mudflat, in an algorithm with
the wind, the moist & magic
of the open– soaking wet, i

steap you tea and climb the rigging,
scratch my knees, my soul
tied safely to your chest–

and in the crow’s nest we just sit on
top of worlds– unknown & hungry,

phantasize of making love
on lighthouse floors, spin

seaman’s yarn, bright signal lights
paint fire spots onto your face

you say you’d cross the ocean
naked & unarmed, surf changing tides,
your body wet on mine, unleashed

and from the corner of my eyes, i see
the black flag tumbling in the sky but–

you’ve already taken over me

.

so this is not a man i’m writing about but a lover i can’t easily resist…his name is change and oh how i love .. the excitement, challenge, thrill and..the danger change brings…and in all this..always trying to embrace, getting familiar yet… loving the magic & mystery of the undiscovered… Over at the dVerse pub, Sheila Moore has provided a great poetics prompt for us.. maybe you can already guess what it is about..? smiles.. gates open 3pm EST

60 responses to “changing tides & black flag lovers

  1. I love the feeling you’ve captured here Claudia, one of my favorite feelings. I especially liked these lines, “and in the crow’s nest we just sit on
    top of worlds– unknown & hungry”.

  2. nice…love the salt on bare feet and the allusions to the pirates as well…change come to plunder maybe…but in a good way…smiles. algorithm of the wind is great as well…i like it much…oo and making love on light house floors..i think that would be marvelous…the play on it as well…as the lighthouse leads the way…

  3. Lovely–I like the soul tied to other’s chest very much. That sense of rigging to something also a bit unrigged, but forceful. Very nice. k.

  4. Claudia,

    This elegantly worded poem flows off the page and into my heart. It is very visual and speaks to that part of me that also embraces change. I so admire your talent. These phrases especially speak to me :

    phantasize of making love
    on lighthouse floors, spin

    seaman’s yarn, bright signal lights
    paint fire spots onto your face

    you say you’d cross the ocean
    naked & unarmed, surf changing tides,

    Namaste……….cj

  5. Great write Clauida, I look forward to the prompt later on this afternoon. Just love how the piece flows so wonderfully. Love the metaphor, love the poem. Thanks

  6. So many people spend their entire life moored to familiar…never venturing out into the seas of change…oh what adventures they miss…and oh how well you present some of what they’ve missed.

  7. I love how you personified the winds of change… the algorithm of the wind… yes, we can really feel change coming can’t we…even though we can’t always figure it out or understand it, or even name it … and the ebb and flow of change… can’t stop it that’s for sure.
    and I LOVE the pirate reference… =)

  8. “and from the corner of my eyes, i see
    the black flag tumbling in the sky but–”
    but … Yes once one image is grasped another replaceds it.
    You describe change flawlessly in here! Wonderful stuff 🙂

  9. Wow once more you weave your words so well and I have no problem telling, I have never phantasized about making love on lighthouse floors, but never know might be fun..haha

  10. Lovely. I used to welcome changes but, I think as we age, we don’t get so excited about our lives turning upside down the way we used to anymore or, maybe it’s just me… LOL
    A lovely wander through you thoughts.

  11. Making love is like entering the womb is like sailing on the sea is like tears is like blood is like the sea is purely this poem. And love is changeful as the sea, isn’t it? Fine work, Claudia – Brendan

  12. the nautical leanings here make this really work for me…each metaphorical reference leads us on…fine words Claudia

    Peace

  13. Ah yes, Claudia, I love this! I love what you did with Change, in more ways than one. And, indeed, one might as well embrace him (in this case) as he’s in charge anyway and always gets his way in the end.

  14. This is extremely beautiful — so well crafted — you just have total command over each and every word. Like how you handle the topic. Very fine work!

  15. I love the metaphor and that you ride it to the end.

    Love these lines especially (perhaps because I too find it exhilarating to walk in wind… and wind is change):
    :
    did i tell you i could walk for hours
    in the mudflat, in an algorithm with
    the wind,

  16. Claudia, I so love the sea, and your words follow that same ebb and flow. I am surrounded by the highest tides in the world, and know all too well the dangers and the all to quickly changing flow…I truly thought this just fantastic!

  17. A sense of the mystery and excitement of the unknown—lover or just the next change waiting which we can’t know but only feel, somewhere hidden around the next bend…lovely language in this Claudia, as always.

  18. I love this. Though we so often resist change, it’s inevitable. You express this reality with such depth. Honestly sometimes I’m in awe of the way your talent flows.

  19. Such a singing in your work, Claudia– you free yourself beautifully in this one, a quality very hard to come by but so important to lyricism and “receiving” imagery via the heart:

    I love these lines:

    Did i tell you i could walk for hours
    in the mudflat, in an algorithm with
    the wind, the moist & magic
    of the open– soaking wet, i

    steep you tea and climb the rigging,
    scratch my knees, my soul
    tied safely to your chest–

    a great assent to life and the adventure it truly is meant to be…xxxj http://parolavivace.blogspot.com

  20. Your writing never fails to lift me out of myself! These lines struck me as particularly brilliant, amid many brilliant lines:

    you say you’d cross the ocean
    naked & unarmed, surf changing tides,
    your body wet on mine, unleashed… and I loved how they lead on to the image of the black flag.

  21. I found this (as I do with all of your words) exceptional and very inspiring. I am a terribly literal human being so I was glad for the explanation at the end … it did change everything! What a wonderful poem!

  22. The power for me resides in the spring from the mundane to the uber-special (still in the mundane)… catching things out of the corner of your eye..this for me sums up some of your talent… Love that this started with an algorithm…

    ‘climb the rigging’ is a wonderful image for exceptional feelings.. dangerous, edgy, exposed…..

  23. Oh, you are such a poet! A poet’s poet. A poet for our Time. A timeless poet. Daring. Mind-boggling. Fulfilling.

    And this gorgeous, exciting poem is but one example…

  24. Dear Poet:

    This is to confirm that you have won the perfect poet award, an official award that is given to poets who are either current participants or previous ones, or who have done outstanding job on poetry writing, sharing, promotion or commenting.

    After you take the award, please place your acceptance link along with your nomination for week 57 under the post below in the comment section.

    http://promisingpoetsparkinglot.blogspot.com/2011/11/perfect-poet-award-week-56.html

    Happy Monday.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    😉

    xoxox

  25. hmmmm….I feel like I have been on a rejuvenating vacation after reading this. I can almost taste the sea salt on my lips. but I sense an undercurrent of urgency as well. I guess it is the ebb and flow, like you said – nicely done.

  26. Awesome writing Claudia as ever
    sensual n brilliant expression….. and the image u used is superb 🙂

    PS: visiting after a long time..
    hoping that everything is fine at your end !!

  27. I love this, Claudia. It is very much like I write most times…prose. Not all writing has to rhyme nor have meter and stanza and the freedom to just write certainly becomes you. You are gifted and your piece takes me on a journey.