getting there

in the distance roars the sea
& i wear work clothes cause
we‘re changing tires and

i talk & talk, stunned
by your precision, you explain
the bike world mysteries to me
& it looks easy, always does and

i so quickly lose myself in everything,
dissolve on pages i have read,
evaporate in feelings, then

i am no longer there but
anchored deeply in the night & in my

eyes that distant look, i

hand you tools with unknown names,
and when you see me wear my work gloves
inside out, you laugh and later
you will buy me aspirin
but i dont know right now and–

find me in your eyes, your heart
pulsates my chest, you smell of oil,

and the seagull’s shrieks die slowly–

I had to fly ‘cross Paris to get here

& you’re focused, bent atop my bike again
with salt grains on your lips

.

it’s tuesday again and Open Link Night…and the dVerse pub is going to be crammed with fine poets..3 pm EST…and tended by a marvelous joy ann jones aka hedgewitch…you really should stop by and meet her

70 responses to “getting there

  1. Lose myself…dissolve on pages…evaporate in feelings.

    Lines like these are what set you apart from (above) many in poetryland, Claudia.
    You use English better than English Peep!

    PEACE!

  2. This is the perfect capture of deepest committed love and the fun and familiarity that go with it. 🙂

    “and when you see me wear my work gloves
    inside out, you laugh and later
    you will buy me aspirin
    but i dont know right now and–

    find me in your eyes,”

    And as always, I love your framing with the sea mention in the first line and the grains of salt on lips in the last line.

  3. You need an aspirin and have to pop a pill..haha oh that was so fun to read, where it sent my brain on your feed. I great verse getting you there for lots of fun with your travels through Paris affair.

  4. smiles…a nice welcome home…and intimate time working on the bike…there is expectation in that salt on the lips, being as salt is and enhancer to flavors…love that you got lost in the conversation and just being with him…smiles.

  5. it’s the little everyday things in life that are so beautiful and you have a gift for seeing (and writing) about them – it is what I enjoy most about your work here. see ya at the Pub!

  6. Everyday becomes remarkable, depth is everywhere here, to fall into your words and re-experience a commonplace experience. There’s also some ambiguity, some sort of regret in between the lines, that getting to every day means abandoning Paris. Excellent, as always, Claudia. See you tonight across the bar at the pub–I have an extra apron I’m ironing just for you. 😉

  7. I too love the ordinary everyday that you bring to life. It’s always the little things most people would let go un-noticed that you and also Brian tend to bring to life.
    Lovely!

  8. Indeed with your words the “everyday becomes remarkable”…it’s like a photograph of a familiar street where the artist captures something that we’ve overlooked for days.

  9. Claudia, I really like these pieces you do, it’s really familiar to me, as I often have inner reflections almost like conversation with myself. Really like the way you are able to put this done on page. Thanks

  10. Terrific lover poems — love is really about these type of moments and you capture it so well. Really skilled approach in capturing the moment and extending it to represent a truth.

  11. “I had to fly ‘cross Paris to get here”….like a bird who has flown across the ocean to touch down on common ground, with the smell of exotic winds in its feathers. Your poetry is microscopic, taking us close to smiles, to a certain nameless look in the eyes, the salt grains around the mouth…. and like the gloves worn inside out we get a sense of who you are as a person.

  12. Another beautiful heartstring Claudia. It brought me back to a forgotten memory from childhood, that of the neighborhood bicycle mechanic who working out of his garage fixed all our bikes for free. Whatever became of such days and neighbors?

  13. The sea roars at the beginning and there are salt crystals on his lips at the end…a really self-contained piece of writing and… a good poem for god’s sake! // Peter.

  14. but i don’t know right now and –

    Love this broken thought in the middle of a beautiful, simple piece.

    Well done.

  15. I like how you captured the scene and these lines are lovely:

    i so quickly lose myself in everything,
    dissolve on pages i have read,
    evaporate in feelings, then

    i am no longer there but
    anchored deeply in the night & in my

    eyes that distant look,

  16. Yet another very enjoyable piece. I often lose myself in your work as I read it over and over or listen to it again and again. I might not always ‘get’ you, but that stops me enjoying the words.

  17. Oh, gorgeous, the way it finishes! Before that I was loving it in a different way, for the down-to-earthness, and thinking to myself what range of styles you are able to work in … then you surprise me, coming back to the sensuous Claudia I love to read, almost sneaking up on me with it. 🙂 And all this with both the emotion and the understatement that seem to be called for this week.

  18. Hmm. Let’s see now — you won’t “always have Paris,” but you did spend part of a day with a salt-of-the-earth sort changing motorcycle tires? Someone who lets you talk and talk and hand him tools and makes you believe that you are BOTH changing tires? At least you wore serious “work clothes” and those inside-out “work gloves!”

    Sounds like he is wonderful to you. Expecting to hear “VROOM! VROOM!” any time now…

    Made me smile. Nice slice of life…

  19. “i so quickly lose myself in everything,
    dissolve on pages i have read,
    evaporate in feelings”

    I love the way you say what I wish that I could.

  20. This slice of loving life was a joy to read. And while the words said so much about the relationship between these two, it’s the unwritten yet fully understood spaces between where we get to know them at their roots. Lovely, Claudia.

  21. dig the casualness of this; a glimpse of intimacy of what “THAT” is really all about; ” I had to fly ‘cross Paris to get here” is a kicker (but why do I keep thinking I’ve heard that in rock song?); fabulous, it lingers after I read ~

  22. Ah! Detail! very good.

    ”I had to fly ‘cross Paris to get here”
    a sacrifice paid in return for the details.

    ”…salt grains on your lips”

    the mesmerizing detail enveloped in poetic expression.
    Nice job, Claudia.

  23. ..amazing story-telling Claudia.. can see it feel it.. remember it as though it was me.. always just the right details to take me to the final sweep:

    find me in your eyes, your heart
    pulsates my chest, you smell of oil,

    and the seagull’s shrieks die slowly–

    I had to fly ‘cross Paris to get here

    & you’re focused, bent atop my bike again

    with salt grains on your lips

    ..don’t really want to leave now.. 🙂

  24. Claudia, I loved this! I love how “getting there” implies getting lost and finding the way back. We often appreciate something or someone a little bit more after having been away from them and this captures such sentiment so well.

  25. Filled with wonderful lines. But the poetic emotions are consistently threaded throughout, and don’t depend on one or two lines/moments to put them on display. Great voice and imagination.

  26. You always paint these moments which are disarmingly about nothing spectacular, yet imbued with a rich depth of thought and feeling that is unmistakably universal. Loved this.

  27. It’s all in that wonderful beginning, the promise (the roar) of the sea in the distance – then the bicycles, sidelined momentarily, an amazing metaphor for life – and finally the hint that all will be realized, in the trace of salt on the lips. Love this balladic celebration of life!

  28. These days I’m more into the “how” of your poems than the “what”. Of course they’re married. I like how the sea in the distance at the beginning becomes salt on his lips at the end. I’m now fascinated in how you get where you’re going. Sometimes you just switch scenes as you did in the second stanza, but other times you transition slowly progressing through time – handing you unnamed tools or smelling of oil pulling up the sea again which swirls around you forming an insulation to the rest of the world. Very deft my friend.

  29. this is really wonderful. Loved every word of it. May be the break of 20days has left appreciate each and every word. I like the imagery in detail here. evaporate and dissolve in pages. I do sense a bit of sad or parting feeling of leaving Paris and coming. I hope i understood right..
    All in all you are awesome Claudia!!

  30. little details like ‘salt grains on your lips’ make all the difference in poetry; those specificities we can all relate to but somehow have reverberations beyond themselves. Haven’t seen you round much Cloudy… but I’ve been away a lot with moving house and stuff. Hey we have the Creative Challenge deadline Sunday 10pm GMT (11pm German time 🙂 gonna play? No prob if not. I’m entering for the first time… feels kinda weird

    Love ya sister

  31. Maintenance of the heart…finding love even in the image of changing bike tires, eh Claudia? It must truly be a wonder to behold the world through such romantic eyes!