by the river

she moves
while i sit motionless

wishing for nothing but
the sun’s soft breath upon my face

i fall into her without falling,
lose myself & don’t get lost,

pouring words without a single
movement on my lips

the day shrinks out of sight–

gets invisible & then–
forgotten

she tells me nothing of her secrets
but shares abundantly

and twinkles as i leave

just a moment on my way back home from work today…went by bike and stopped by the river, sitting in the grass, enjoying the sun, just breathing..

24 responses to “by the river

  1. she moves
    while i sit motionless
    wishing for nothing but
    the sun’s soft breath upon my face

    Hi! Claudia… The image is beautiful to go along with your beautiful poetic words which are very descriptive…I can [almost] visualize you stopping and reflecting on your day.

    to me it’s beautiful and yet very sad when this happens…the day shrinks out of sight–

    Thanks, for sharing!
    deedee 😉

  2. Nature isn’t always in a giving mood of course(thinking tsunamis and stuff,) but so often she is what gets us through the day with grace and gratitude. Lovely moment of peace captured here, Claudia.

  3. There’s something about water…I guess it’s where all life comes from and that draws us to it for comfort and serenity. Lovely, I can just feel, hear and see the moment. Ahhhh!

  4. This is beautiful and I envy you 🙂 as I am barely able to write these days so hectic and unwell… plus words are defying me too 🙂
    But jokes apart this beautiful and serene

  5. nice…love going downto the river just towatch it roll and listen to it talk to me, bring me peace of mind as her sighs match mine…serene claudia…

  6. Lovely shared interlude… think I’ll go back again.. Thanks Claudia.. you remember to notice these things.. and then reflect them back with extra pzazz..

  7. This evokes for me the trance-like feeling of gazing/being in the presence of a coursing river. it’s a form of meditation that leaves one refreshed, precisely because of its ‘nothingness’.

  8. Lovely, what you can write in a moment. I love being near water. Its sounds are so healing.

    Claudia, I caught up on the poems I missed reading. Sorry I didn’t comment on them, but you know I’m your biggest fan. So I will go read the article about you asap. I’m so honored to know a celebrity.

  9. “she tells me nothing of her secrets
    but shares abundantly

    and twinkles as i leave”

    i think you just described a naiad. you made me want to visit her, too…

  10. A beautiful moment by the riverside….. they’re all so lovely….. A pond, a lake, an ocean, a stream, I think I can remember every one I have ever visited…. lovely poem…..