cause i still trust

pour me–

some wine,
undress me slowly,

no candles, music, it’s all
in my head, no light, i

see you anyway as much
as you can feel me wrapped,
wrapped wide in darkness, we

sailed out there many times, i blow &

blow you with soft lips until
the waves swallow your moans,

so find your rhythm, then
sink slowly into me until we scratch that range
between the chasm and the sun, it’s like i

always lose– myself but

you’ve prepared a space for me to be
& mad with longing you still

hold & keep me safe, so

Pour me—

pour me some wine,
un– dress me slowly

cause i still, i

still trust

this is my poem for the Poetics prompt at dVerse Poets Pub, hosted today by the wonderful hedgewitch…come and join us with your poetry…you will love what hedge has written up for us…gates open 3 pm EST

i’ve also been interviewed for Deanna Piowaty’s Combustus Magazine together with a 78-year-old nia black belt & dance instructor, a Greek painter, an American painter, a Norway photographer, an Italian pianist…and…and…i’m humbled to be in one article with such great women..you can read the interview here: the many faces of eve 

49 responses to “cause i still trust

  1. Your turn of phrases are so delicate and full of deep meaning. I adore the phrases ‘blow you with soft lips until….the waves swallow your moans’ and ‘scratch that range ….between the chasm and the sun’

    it has inspired me to write a poem tonight based on a opposite idea…sensuality without trust. If that is a possibility.

  2. I like the tender sensual write…these lines repeating at the start and end are lovely:

    pour me some wine,
    un– dress me slowly

    cause i still, i

    still trust

    And your poetry linked, poets… such passion and depth of emotion ~ I love it ~

    See you later ~

  3. It’s Saturday morning, I just woke up and am rubbing the night’s dreams from my tired eyes as this poem came into sleepy focus. BAM! I’m awake now! It is way too early in this day to begin drinking, but do you know what? I need a glass of wine. Un vin bourgogne foncé, un tonneau plein afin que je puisse se baigner dans la gloire de vos paroles, et de laisser l’essence de votre sensualité puissante tremper dans mon âme sur cette belle, très belle journée …

  4. Sensuality on the uptake
    Wonderful moments at stake
    Give your all
    Visibly enthralled
    Man and woman to make

    Hank

  5. This is beautiful, dreamy, a perfect use of the prompt theme (which will be fully disclosed at 3:00 pm EST) and the lines “no candles, no music, it’s all in my head,” really tell the story of the depth of feeling here. Loved it, and many congratulations on the interview. Bookmarked it and look forward to reading it

  6. this made me ache, as your more sensual pieces seem to do.
    out at sea, in one way or another, sex, wine, a history. using the title to link to the end plays an effective game with the reader. who wouldn’t ruthlessly desire your trust?:)

  7. Gorgeous, sensual and welcoming. Your repetition blends wonderfully, enhancing the though and the don’t breathe moment captured here.

    Beth

  8. Wonderful! And the interview….Awesome! You rock, as always! But this has more the feeling of a hammock on a sundrenched afternoon than air guitar 😉 Loved it

  9. hot. deeply sensual….and love the intimacy…scratching the range between chasm and sun…oy,i understand the ache that ed feels…delicious write my friend…

  10. Late to your party and all my accolades are already laid before you. Congratulations on the magazine article. You do rock and your voice is always art. Love the bliss, the sense of paradise captured on earth here in this work. Lovely, G.

  11. Top shelf today Claudia, loved it, especially:

    so find your rhythm, then
    sink slowly into me until we scratch that range
    between the chasm and the sun, it’s like i

    always lose– myself but

    you’ve prepared a space for me to be

    Just magnificent.

  12. “cause i still, i
    still trust”

    beautiful words.. they are actually a poem unto themselves.
    love the soft, “trusting” voice of this poem..

  13. Hello! Claudia…
    Words that comes to my mind after reading your very poetic words: trust, intimate, poet, poem, beautiful words, and thanks for the link too!
    deedee 😉

  14. Love the double meaning of “pour me”. I agree, there’s something about the phrase “i still trust” that implies some complexity, that perhaps there might be some reason not to trust. Makes the pouring, the trust, that much more complete.

    P.S. I look forward to reading your interview tomorrow. Congrats in advance.

  15. Very sensual write Claudia- Excellent piece as usual. Trust being in the title and poem seems perfect to me. Thanks for the read

  16. Your poem is brave but still feels safe, just like love should be. It is wonderful.

    Don’t know if you meant this but I do love the way chasm rhymes with orgasm!
    so find your rhythm, then
    sink slowly into me until we scratch that range
    between the chasm and the sun, . . .

  17. Loved it Claudia..
    always lose– myself but

    you’ve prepared a space for me to be
    & mad with longing you still…

    Above lines r superbly written..

    Awesome read !!!

  18. ON TIGER BREATH

    On waves of ink
    The breeze is blowing mild
    Tenderly undressing the night
    In a velvet gesture of napalm

    Feel the warmth and let it breath until incandescence make the night turn white in thousands of bright and tasty petals

    Deep inside the surface
    A hand is lying
    In an open touch
    Waiting for the hips to come

    There’s no more alongside when the heat is crossing rainbow steps in delightful harmonies

    Slowly letting go
    Under the inner invasion
    Of the satin clouds
    Emerging from nowhere

    Now is the time for being wild

  19. I can feel the history between the lovers. This is my favorite part,
    “so find your rhythm, then
    sink slowly into me until we scratch that range
    between the chasm and the sun,”

  20. hi Claudia, I read this earlier but did not get to comment. It is beautiful, there is no other way to describe it. And I love the ending, soft and thrusting.