nice day for a white wedding

 

vows made
we’re sitting on the steps
under a fervent sun

haven’t met for years,
still there’s this old connection

and you’re smoking

I listen to your words,
hanging like beads
on every cloud puff that
silently escapes your lips,

i understand &

take them, put them on a line
between the washing and
compare them with my own

you sound blue like ink
between relentless concrete & the start
of something new

across the yard the wedding gown
shines silver in the sun,
there’s children’s laughter,
silent knowledge and deep cuts
that never heal

we sit on borrowed stairs,
drinking red wine while the
smoke gets dense

until the borders are invisible

and they call us in for dinner

.

as soon as we have the place in order after Pretzels & Bullfights, it’s time for OpenLinkNight again at dVerse Poets Pub…Gates will open at 3 pm EST.. Brian Miller will tend the bar & hand you the mic..so hope you gonna join us with your poetry..

71 responses to “nice day for a white wedding

  1. “you sound blue like ink
    between relentless concrete & the start
    of something new”

    I lingered in those lines, this piece is beautifully poetic within this paradox of what we think of as the pristine day and its background that you painted. ~ Rose

  2. Bride, no longer draped in white, is still beautiful as a fervent sun. And whether smoked, wined, or dined, she remains true to herself–and her memories. And she expresses in superlative poetic fashion–life!

    We are blessed to access your work here…and Brian’s, of course–grin!

  3. love the taking of the clouds and putting them on the line to examine them…just think of what a world it would be if we truly did that…until borders are invisible….finely creative and textured piece claudia….

  4. Claudia, love the reminiscing, reflecting as you paint it in such a wonderfully way- a real sensibility here and the observations are drawn for us very nicely. Thanks and Happy OLN

  5. Conversations with old friends on such days cannot help but led to comparisons of how we have arrived at this point in our lives…and the painful moments that brought us here…excellent imagery in the poem.

  6. AH Waht a moment… Who’d say a moment just as simple like that — a situation we’ve seen ourselves so often in … could make such a beautiful poem???
    Claudia, you are the bestest
    (But please don’t tell the others)

    😉

  7. lovely Claudia, love the stillness past, present, held inside the narrative background hope of a wedding…’words hang like beads..take them, put them on a line between the washing and compare them with my own’..wonderful..

  8. i understand &

    take them, put them on a line
    between the washing and
    compare them with my own

    What a way you have with words, Claudia. You often just make me sigh in contemplation as I soak up your poetry.

  9. You paint a beautiful picture with words. I am there on those steps, viewing the whole scene, feeling the deep cuts that never heal and the sense of new beginnings. Great visual, sensual piece. Thanks!

  10. Thank you for visiting my blog. I’m glad you did. It provoked me to return the favor and I am blessed by your imaginatively crafted artistry. Beautifully said. A moment, woven so skillfully with thought and fact. “blue like ink” and “borrowed stairs” are brilliant adaptations of life. Wonderful

  11. This feels like meeting an old fiancee at mutual friends for dinner. Both of you talking, catching up, and secretly really happy that you’d both moved on. Ink and white satin, oil and water, washed out, bleached, hanging on a line for inspection. Well done Claudia–we all have stories like that (at least in our imaginations). G.

  12. Whoa, this gave me chills. I really like the lines “you sound blue like ink / between relentless concrete & the start / of something new”. And I love the colors going on throughout. Very vivid.

  13. the past, always meeting us again and again….sounding of blue ink. This is an amzing write my friend, I wanted it to go on and on…

  14. “silent knowledge and deep cuts
    that never heal”

    Your poem gave me the feeling of a pleasant night at a wedding party, and a pleasant conversation with someone that she once cared about and hasn’t seen for a while, and just a really peaceful feeling.. The deep cuts meant bad history between the two of them, I think, but she spoke with him out of cordiality, maybe, I’m not sure….. Lovely Claudia……. Much for the reader to put into play here, engaging…….

  15. Always a shock to reconnect, that one even can, sometimes, after the unhealed things. The immediacy here fades into a sort of awake-dream state–and leaves a reflective mood behind it.

  16. I’m reading this as two who run into one another again while attending a wedding, sitting on the steps drinking wine and catching up, with a little sadness, disappointment, and pseudo-love lingering in the air. … This is my favorite line: “until the borders are invisible.”

  17. I loved every line of this. Claudia I had to erase my words because I keep repeating myself. Wish I were a poetry critic, but all i am is a reader and as such all I can say is I love it.

  18. i understand &

    take them, put them on a line
    between the washing and
    compare them with my own

    You know how to steal my attention away from my everyday life. You brought me right along with you and I’m still lost in memory somewhere.

  19. ‘put them on a line between the washing and compare them to my own’…love this image and all the other glittering images in this poem…beautifully written…and that silvery wedding dress…you’ve got such a knack for evoking the spot you want your reader to see so clearly…love it

  20. You have this wonderful way of painting such vivid images…
    I feel sort of melancholy now..
    lovely poem Claudia!

  21. I can feel the breeze, smell the smoke, dropped right into this scene. Can’t tell you how many times I’ve sat on “borrowed stairs” and contemplated life. Mine and everyone around me. Brilliant piece, Claudia.

  22. oh that is a good line “you sound like blue ink, between relentless concrete and the start of something new”…that’s a bit how I feel at the moment 🙂 great poem as usual.

  23. haven’t met for years,
    still there’s this old connection

    and you’re smoking

    I listen to your words,
    hanging like beads
    on every cloud puff that
    silently escapes your lips,

    i understand &

    take them, put them on a line
    between the washing and
    compare them with my own

    These lines, like the rope that binds histories, common threads of past times. Beautiful piece.

  24. so, I really thought this was going to be more tongue in cheek with the whole Bowie intro (great song, btw), but where you really took me was traipsing along a veil of memories, needing a smoke. I remember a convo akin to this, smoke and all, sigh…we cannot go back, somedays, however, we at least can remember. Lovely write ~

  25. Every stanza beautifully melancholy, blue like ink… Great lines.
    It takes time for borders to become invisible, for past wounds to allow for re-connection. Very nice setting and vivid and feels real.
    ~ thank you. Deb

  26. i love this from the title through your last line. i’d love to hear you read/rap/sing this! reminds me of seeing my ex-husband. {smile}

  27. you sound blue like ink
    between relentless concrete & the start
    of something new

    … this is where I truly connected with your fine words Claudia.. hope, possibility…even where there has been pain..

    rich images from your words are linking with rich images in my head…thank you!

  28. This is a treat. One can linger over sections, focus on this area or that, very much like viewing a painting.

    “I listen to your words… understand …put them on a line between the washing” Very nice!

  29. Wistful, elusive. The wedding gown across the yard does not seem to have a bride in it, although the poem begins with “vows made.” And the way the poem ends with being called in for dinner is much as it must have been when the speaker and her friend were children. Lovely feel to this one, and it resonates with a sense of real, yet universal, experience. Thanks for this read! Charles Elliott http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VmuL4fpNqGU

  30. I felt something click inside after reading this… not only because I could relate to this life experience, but because of the way you expressed it. You are a good teacher Claudia and I appreciate you very much.

    The words hanging on a line… what perspective.
    Relentless concrete… reminded me of the rock and hard place some are always trying to escape… yet keep creating for themselves.
    The white wedding dress… what could’ve been, what we’ve been spared, what it cost us to learn about pain and decision making.
    I am going to use that clothesline as an object lession with my kids someday soon… probably for me too. =)

  31. Vows made…we haven’t met for years. Life breaks our hearts… experiences like the one you describe are always waiting in the recesses of our minds to be looked at again like a picture in an old album. Lovely poem.

  32. Oh Claudia, this has really hit me hard tonight. “between releNtless concrete and something new”. Great lines in this. The melancholy overtones, the hint of something that never came to be and “borrowed steps” love that! Always great to read you

  33. FERVENCY

    There’s not a bruise
    Only a ride
    On angel wings
    Back to midnight

    There’s just a sound
    Masks are drowning
    In the sacrificial aura
    Of unspoken clouds

    A name is shining
    Everywhere at once
    The night’s still bright
    On lovers lips

  34. What a painting you give us! This moment dripping in bittersweet, in could-have-been’s…at least that’s how I read it. I like that it’s not straightforward, that it lets the reader just stay there, dwell on it, feel something deeper.

  35. You have described an experience I have had in reality, except we were not sitting on a step but on a park bench.

    excellent poem.

    When did you first follow me? How can I have overlooked you, how very remiss of me. I am looking for a place to add my thingy to your blog too.

  36. haven’t met for years, still there’s this old connection and you’re smoking
    I listen to your words,
    hanging like beads
    on every cloud puff that
    silently escapes your lips,

    i understand &
    take them, put them on a line
    between the washing and
    compare them with my own

    you sound blue like ink
    between relentless concrete & the start
    of something new…”

    Hi! Claudia…
    This poem is very beautiful…Words that comes to my mind after reading your poem: two friends,sharing,reminiscent,poet,beautiful words,children,laughter,cigarette,white,dress,wedding, smoking, very descriptive,poem, and…Vera Wang.