textures of rest-lessness


(Beat credit: ChaLee BanKz) 

.
a road with many bumps,

Myriad of bumps

a bumps INVASION

on the edge crumbling slow into
weird states of desperation,

resignation bounces back in vortex beats
from over-heated concrete,

car light won’tn‘t work, you

sweat, glistening slime trails on the forehead,

sitting in this race car, stowaway
draped with thin skin, high gear,

coupling,

fake break

you

desire to go dangerously fast, speed-race pacific highways,
bungee-jump grand canyon chasms

but
sit in

your reality;

a rattly-as-a-rat chair
on a balcony

somewhere on the globe

the world feels shaky
(& the sunshine doesn’t fit your mood)

instead of gasoline, you sum
the fading traces of black coffee on your tongue

Waste– ink write, heck, focus

on what’s next, write faster

thinking about dignity
the theory of relativity

your heart rate’s jumping up but

not from drive-me-mad lips,
roller coaster tongue kiss-es or
sticky children’s fingers,
painting jam hearts on your cheek

but by life
how it feels, close, so close to the rim
a nervous battle underneath your skin

in all its perforated porousness

.

over at dVerse Victoria Ceretto-Slotto hosts the Poetics prompt this week…and it’s all about texture….jump over, get inspired, write a poem and join us..

42 responses to “textures of rest-lessness

  1. I got caught up in the nervous pace of this one.
    Loved the sweet juxtaposition of these lines “not from drive-me-mad lips,
    roller coaster tongue kiss-es or
    sticky children’s fingers,
    painting jam hearts on your cheek”

  2. this is frantic claudia…my fav part still comes just after theory of relativity…and i like the mods you have made since this morning on it as well…smiles. got a great beat flowing through it…love it…smiles.

  3. Woow, my dear lady… you really get me through a magical world of poetry that no words,, ever,,, could describe. For that’s what poetry is meant to be.

  4. I think you covered just about every feeling touch can bring you. The read did create a jumpy feeling in me…that full-moon kind of energy that makes you want to get out of bed and vacuum. (I am weird!)

  5. After that I just have to reach out and touch, wouldn’t want to remain out of touch. This piece was great by more than a touch and just wash your hands before the cat you touch..haha….very vivid and love the word play, especially near the end.

  6. Fantastic. I love the sound of won’tn‘t. It is like seeing the car light sputter and refuse to burn. The energy and pace are incredible.

  7. Great feel of inner motion, the rough road, the tension and the difference between dream and real, all these varied textures work together so much better than they should because of the skill with which they’re assembled into one strong and unified piece. Loved it, Claudia.

  8. TISSU NOCTURNE

    Pas une bosse sur la route
    Qui ne soit le fruit souriant
    D’une imagination délirante
    Mélange d’eau-de-vie et de feu de joie
    Suprême délice de l’incarnat
    Dont les torrents inondent
    Les synapses dévergondées

    Speed without a move
    Power of the strike
    Instant lovers at midnight
    Only fireballs in the hand
    Kisses surrounding the whole night
    In battles and harmony
    Depending on the look

    Tuer l’étanchéité
    Dans l’acide joyeux
    Qui pulvérise les jours
    Et fait régner la nuit calme
    Sur toutes les avalanches
    Quand tous les jours
    Ne sont que dimanche

  9. let’s say last verse like that: ne sont que des dimanches” (that was it at first intention and it sounds better^^- even if the meaning is closer to the other ^^)

  10. This reminded me of the time I was speeding (I love driving FAST) and here if you see one or two cars on the highway out of town it’s busy. We have a road we call the ‘Hills’ road. It’s all steep hills and long drops and I used to drice so fast up a hil to get the thrill of almost flying once you’d reach the top… well, music blaring out loud and suddenly I hear a police siren. Check all mirrors, SLOW right down PDQ .. hear the siren again… still don’t see the cop car.. then realise it was on the bloody radio!! LOL Felt such a scare I never sped then for about about five minutes, til the fear wore off. LOL
    What a funny thing to jog my memory. A very nice write.

  11. My mother would have called this “nervous” – and why must she be so “jumpy” – it would be easier on all of us if she’d just “settle down”. I liked that restless write of yours. That’s how I feel when I don’t know what’s broken but I have a sense I’m going to have to fix something. Really well done, Claudia.

  12. This is OFF THE HOOK x 10000000000000

    I just cant tell you how much i enjoyed this Claudia
    The beat, the rythmn, the words and oh my god!.. your accent is …WOW!

    OFF THE HOOK!

    (off the hook – english slang for fantastic, marvelous, hot)

    You rocked the bar – BOOM!

  13. This prompt is right up your alley – you’re one of the most sensuous poets I know, maybe the most. Especially liked “glistening slime trails on the forehead” and from “thinking about dignity” to the end is super, a real knockout.

  14. Hi! Claudia…
    Just like some Of the previous commenter have already mentioned your poetic words have an “edgy” feel..[They have mentioned the word “touch,” but I’m using the words “edgy…”] with the float Of your own voice and the sounds in the background giving your poem the feeling Of a “restlessness” urgency.
    Thanks, for sharing!
    deedee 😉

  15. instead of gasoline, you sum
    the fading traces of black coffee on your tongue

    Waste– ink write, heck, focus

    on what’s next, write faster

    thinking about dignity
    the theory of relativity

    I have to agree with Arron, loved it! These beat poems remind me of a gospel hip hop opera a friend of mine had me add some color to. It’s everywhere, slick, jagged, smooth, spectacular!

  16. Like these lines:

    not from drive-me-mad lips,
    roller coaster tongue kiss-es or
    sticky children’s fingers,
    painting jam hearts on your cheek

    your words just jumped off the page ~ beautiful ~

  17. I loved the nervous energy in this, & these last lines are fantastic ~ ‘but by life
    how it feels, close, so close to the rim
    a nervous battle underneath your skin

    in all its perforated porousness’ ~ so full of feeling. Awesome as always! 🙂

  18. Clouds,
    It gets terrific when moving slowly expecting the unexpected. It gets eerie and presents a feeling of restlessness that you brought so well!

  19. A nervous battle underneath the skin…your finish is a brutal and fitting end to this wonderful fast paced write! I’m still resonating with it’s energy!

  20. Claudia – this is the third comment I thought I posted last night… And it’s not here…

    I think that this rapoetry is F*ing great!!! You are really out of this world. Your writing is rejuvenating.

    Luv it!
    ~ deb

  21. Claudia, I sit in amazement at how you outdo yourself each time. This one certainly captures the bumps, grinds, pain and joys – the textures of life. I really enjoyed reading this.

  22. I’m handicapped and reading from my phone on journey so I am excited to listen to the spoken word when I return home. By reading alone it resonates the vibration, quite enjoyed the close! ~Rose

  23. Hi Claudia

    I thought i should return and be a little more constructive now i have calmed a little – although listening to your work again i feel a raising of the pulse.

    This is such a great demonstration of what poetry can do in the right hands.

    This piece has a movie like quality that vibrates with energy from author to the audience – an ecstatic connection- superb

  24. “but by life
    how it feels, close, so close to the rim
    a nervous battle underneath your skin

    in all its perforated porousness”

    too much of my life has been spent in this condition ~ you are exquisite in your reading taking your trademark passion and vivid imagery up to a level few others could ever reach, Claudia. this is magnificent! ♥

  25. Wow…I had so much fun listening to this…very inspiring and innovative…not sure I could give a reading like that but I may give it a try after hearing this wonderful reading of yours.

  26. Pingback: textures of rest-lessness via claudia {aka @cmschoenfeld } at jaywalking the moon | haiku love songs

  27. Claudia, I just love you. You make me smile. My favorite part is,

    “your heart rate’s jumping up but

    not from drive-me-mad lips,
    roller coaster tongue kiss-es or
    sticky children’s fingers,
    painting jam hearts on your cheek

    but by life
    how it feels, close, so close to the rim
    a nervous battle underneath your skin”

    Really wonderful 🙂

  28. i like your words, the pace, the texture. but i read your stuff for the story you naturally tell. is this about womanhood or about some nut, or yourself?:)
    the beneath the skin line was extra special.