Reading Bukowski

.
fervent heat lies stretched upon my shoulders–

a lazy, cappuccino-colored cat,

we drink espresso ’til it’s burning fire-holes
all the way down my stomach,

boardwalks flicker like
mirages in the midday sun– blurred illusions
in a sun-stormed desert, somehow this is

where we are,

you read Bukowski to me with a
winning-the-olympic-games voice,
pierce me with a smile, whispering that you

wanna fuck me,
lick me up & down this heat wave, then

continue reading
with the sticky sweetness of my lust

still on your tongue

to have it all authentically

i’m tracin’ blackish letters, spilling from
between your lips,

run my fingers along rusty spots on the small
bistro table, maybe we

should drink us up and down the wine card–
to really have it genuine,

we’re talking
about horses, we would never put our cash on

and all the games we lost

Walking back in pouring rain,
the cat purrs comfortably,

whiskers soft along my neck,

satisfied on moist & naked shoulders,

Bukowski– soaking wet by now but
you keep reading, smiling
as you already feel me on your lips,

i ask you how i taste & in reality

we never make it to the last line coz
a hungry ocean swallows us

and we drown heavily

amidst giant heaps of smallprint,
dragged to different corners of the world &

never find another horse
worth betting on

.
it’s time to grab the mic again and bring your poetry to the dVerse Poets Pub. Brian Miller will be the MC for tonight’s OpenLinkNight and has already rapped up some banging beat rhythms for us..let’s have some fun together…gates will swing open 3pm EST

74 responses to “Reading Bukowski

  1. Clouds,
    It overwhelmed me! Lady of leisure softly keeping pace with life’s offerings and enjoying every minute of a life blessed with fun and laughter.

    Hank

  2. I loved this part: “a lazy, cappuccino-colored cat, we drink espresso ’til it’s burning fire-holes all the way down my stomach” … I look forward to reading more!

  3. Yeah those horses really aren’t worth betting on..haha. How could I not like this little stroll as it had a cat. Although a lazy, cappuccino-colored cat, wouldn’t be used to describe the rhyming cat..haha

  4. Hey, I thought my premature entry for tonight’s fun was a bit ‘far out’…but YOURS? Wooo-Hoooooooooo! Know what I mean, Jelly Bean? Right on the mark–oh my, I am blushing–grin! And loving it–grin!
    Ya got MY vote, Babe!

  5. Speechless. Mouth wide-open. This poem is evidence of your emormous talent. A true gem of a poem, Claudia. You weave metaphors and analogies together in seamless fashion, always illiciting momentary lust in the reader. I imagine women readers whimper and men like me shudder. Is there really anything more I can say. Well, yes. I fall in love with your work all over again with every new read.

  6. you know, i take more showers these days, the plus side is i am cleaner for having read you….smiles. seriously hot claudia…you know my wife gave me Pleasures of the Damned for the pub opening…wonder if she was trying to say something…Bukowski rocks for sure…but so do you…smiles.

  7. I must be the only person on the planet who hasn’t taken the (spiked) Bukowski Kool Aid. Yes, I read him as a younger man (laughed all the way through Factotum) but got tired of this 1 trick pony – never liked his poetry. But if he can inspire you to write poetry, then all his books are worthwhile. I can’t help but notice though you get sidetracked from the text….

  8. Weaving poetry, sex, words, animals purring and racing all into one poem and it doesn’t feel like anything but the sensuality brimming the top. Beautifully balanced, and flowing throughout. A journey in its way into your life. Thanks, Claudia.

  9. A very sensual poem, Claudia.

    And I remember reading Bukowski back in the 60’s….LOL! Didn’t understand him or like him them, but you do it so much better.

    Am reading Ginsberg and Bukowski now, and understand them so much more. Think it takes a bit of maturity…or perhaps…just years.

    Your poem soars right into the mind and stays there. Haunts, and the senses are all afire!

    Thankyou, Claudia for this.

    Lady Nyo

  10. I’m sure Bukowski would have enjoyed being there in person for this reading–maybe he was. ;_) Beautiful and fiery stuff, Claudia.

  11. Style is the answer to everything.
    A fresh way to approach a dull or dangerous thing.
    To do a dull thing with style is preferable to doing a dangerous thing without style.
    To do a dangerous thing with style, is what I call art.
    Bullfighting can be an art.
    Boxing can be an art.
    Loving can be an art.
    Opening a can of sardines can be an art.
    Not many have style.
    Not many can keep style.

    You have most certainly got it – and them some!

  12. Pheeeeew….. sizzzzzling… deliciously decadent and simply lovely!
    Passion just about oozes off the screen and, what a fabulous read. 🙂
    Now, I need a coffee. 😉

  13. Wowee Claudia..have you got your finger on the racing pulse… HOT… and sweet (which I guess is much more than can be said for Bucowski…)…

    This is it:

    you read Bukowski to me with a
    winning-the-olympic-games voice,
    pierce me with a smile, whispering that you

    wanna fuck me,
    lick me up & down this heat wave, then

    continue reading
    with the sticky sweetness of my lust

  14. Claudia- Arousing, strong piece. I feel the heat! I hated missing your Saturday prompt on cities. I was in San Antonio and didn’t have time to participate, but I love your city poems.

    laurie kolp

  15. Claudia, it’s a warm day; your poem is sizzling; you are one cool lady…what more can I say…Bukowski, the capaccino colored cat, the horse…and for Gawd’s sake…the sensuality of this piece! Whew! Thanks for your talent!

  16. Haven’t read Bukowski in a really long time. You really are a tremendous poet, each piece I read of yours one ups the one before. This piece is beyond words how good it is, thanks for sharing at the mic’, on this OLN:)

  17. beautifully done. I especially liked

    “you read Bukowski to me with a
    winning-the-olympic-games voice”

    mostly because I have this thing about enthusiasm. I think enthusiasm is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

    ;0)

  18. Yumm!

    “you read Bukowski to me with a
    winning-the-olympic-games voice,
    pierce me with a smile, whispering that you

    wanna fuck me,
    lick me up & down this heat wave, then

    continue reading
    with the sticky sweetness of my lust

    still on your tongue”

  19. *APPLAUSE*
    This made me think in every possible dimension… fabulous writing, Claudia!! Various colors of life, different moods, different emotions…all coinciding in that one book and finally sailing off on high seas…

    I read hints of sadness in this towards the end.. and yet, it didn’t really feel sad.. it was more like some sort of liberation.. a sort of freedom.. or maybe I read too much into it? 🙂 In any case, I simply loved the way you wrote it, my friend… so natural…

  20. Genius might be the ability to say a profound thing in a simple way ~ Bukowski.
    This is genious. Loved it through all its colors, emotions, shock, and freedom of expression. Superb!

  21. Smoking poem, indeed. Must be the moon, for we both wrote of words covering us in lust and horses running wild. You, of course, mastered it far better than I. Fabulous write ~

  22. “a lazy, cappuccino-colored cat,

    we drink espresso ’til it’s burning fire-holes
    all the way down my stomach,” Loved this and then Wow!! much hotter still. Wonderfully woven words!

  23. What’s the superlative of hot? There are such lucious, detailed images in here, Claudia. Think I’ll download Bukowski on my Kindle tonight. You are so gifted.

  24. So many great lines in this, including the ending:

    “and we drown heavily

    amidst giant heaps of smallprint,
    dragged to different corners of the world &

    never find another horse
    worth betting on”

    PS: Bukowski? Any day.

  25. Ummm, the fire’s not in my belly! Wow! I’m caught between a smirk and full on blush. Amazing write Claudia…as always. Yup….the blush is winning! 😉

  26. Wow, Claudia, that was a steamy read. Loved this little detail in the middle of the sensual narrative:

    run my fingers along rusty spots on the small
    bistro table

  27. Wow!! This about as steamy as one can get on a hot rainy day. I like the fact that you never lost control of your content or the pace of the poem. Really one of the best of yours I’ve read.

  28. Fire, indeed, and I really loved the espresso cat, on naked shoulders, yet. Wet and totally sensual. Excellent imagery and progression of your sexual/sensual/gambling on life kinda theme.

  29. yes… yes… yes!!!

    My first thought… why is my man not home!

    fantastic choice of words, phrasing, punctuation, such as
    “…moist & naked…” – the “&” is a sexy choice…

    ~ LOVE IT!
    deb

  30. “Reading Bukowski”
    Hi! Claudia…
    Once again, your words flow with the reading Of Bukowski
    I really appreciate this line from your poem…
    “fervent heat lies stretched upon my shoulders–a lazy, cappuccino-colored cat…” and this line…

    “we drink espresso ’til it’s burning fire-holes all the way down my stomach,
    i’m tracin’ blackish letters, spilling from run my fingers along rusty spots on the small bistro table, maybe we between your lips…”

    Because both lines place me there at that bistro as you read Bukowski and drink cappuccino-colored coffee.

    [ed. note: Claudia, I also like reading the feedback from your readers [other commenter ] too!]
    Thanks, for sharing!
    deedee 😉

  31. Bukowski is hugely underrated as a poet – in my humble opinion of course. You capture his take on life incredibly well and make it your own. You are a great writeress Claudia! 🙂 // Peter.

  32. The best kind of writing, IMHO. There isn’t a disguise between the author and the audience. This kind of immediacy isn’t common or ordinary. It’s very real and sensual and human. And elevated.

  33. you read Bukowski to me with a
    winning-the-olympic-games voice,
    pierce me with a smile…

    … all this while you pierce me with your words Claudia. You are a gifted writer… and a wonderfully free spirit. =)