Rome-ing

I’m staring down on Rome like a centurion & lover,
she’s bathing golden in the midday sun,
a gently perfumed princess waiting for her king

On the park bench next to me an elderly, italian couple,
entwined and bent into each other like they’re
sitting here since history began, she’s reading to him

from a tattered book, spread careful on her lap, a noiseless
wind carries her voice & to my ears it sounds
like olive yards and cappuccino mornings

Wishing madly you were here, i’d love to read to you
from dog-eared, old italian books with heavy-tongued
italian accent, feel your smile glued tight & wistfully

onto my skin and watch your eyes get dark with love
and concentration; we wouldn’t understand a single word

and neither of us’d care, i’d make you pronounce Claudia

in Italian, hoarse & everyday erotic way and would get high
by sparkling sounds of easy-dripping letters in a lazy august sun,
Prosecco on we-stay-in-bed-behind-closed-curtains days

i’d lick the letters from your lips, dark chocolate, olive oil or
red italian wine, sweetly drunk with each new syllable
and Rome would be my friend

Strolling downtown Trastevere’s cobble-plastered alleys,
i drink from every fountain; with each sip i miss you more,
from my pockets i pull all the polaroids i never shot,
bind them with a leather ribbon to an urban history
and wonder how i’ll ever find my way back home
without you

.

today at dVerse i’m hosting the Poetics prompt – and we’re going all urban…pay us a visit in the pub, bring your notebook along and write your city poem while enjoying a cup of coffee and a chat with friends..

47 responses to “Rome-ing

  1. mmm…making them say your name…that section just feels sensual and good…licking letters from lips…gettingmy heart rate up…smiles. this is a delicious depiction of the city i so want to visit…lovely claudia…

  2. I’m amazed you were ever able to tear yourself away from this city, Claudia–it’s plain to see you are having a mad passionate affair with it. Thanks for letting us all share the beauty, the heat and lick the sweet chocolate with you. Mmmmm, and the wine and the closed curtains are very very nice as well.

  3. I read and unsuspectingly fall in love again. From infatuation to intimacy you take the reader with you, honoring the best of literary tradition–that being, leaving room for imagination. If only you could spend more time in age old Rome. You are one of very favorite poets, Claudia.

  4. I feel like some sort of thief…soaking up all this romance and culture, at the hands of your muse. This I think is my favorite for the Rome inspired, thus far. Felt like I was peeking on stolen moments….wonderful!

  5. Hi Claudia,

    Thankyou for another great evening @ the bar!

    This is such an exquisite write – i firmly assert that you are a fantastic sensualist,
    Poetry is so pleasurable as you write it – your passion is so present and palpable.
    An experential translation of events which provoke such physicality and pleasure.

    Although you remain authentic and taint the edges with truth and reality.

    On the park bench next to me an elderly, italian couple,
    entwined and bent into each other like they’re
    sitting here since history began, she’s reading to him

    this stanza put me in mind of Rodins ‘the kiss’ – fantastic language

    You are the dverse Sinnlichkeit Königin ;~)

  6. This “Rome-ing” is like going “a may-ing”: sparkling wine fountains and the scent of roses coming from bedroom windows mixing with that of fresh-baked bread arising from kitchens below. I’ll take your city over mine any time. – Brendan

  7. ‘i’d lick the letters from your lips, dark chocolate, olive oil or
    red italian wine, sweetly drunk with each new syllable’

    Mama mia! Is it me or is it getting hawt in here? lol

    This feels like you’ve taken a napkin and mopped up the essence of the city Claudia. Fabulous write.

  8. Wow you really transported me right there with this piece. Rome really has stuck with you even when away from it your roam..haha Hope you didn’t drink from every fountain, that could be a tad germy.

  9. Have been dreaming all day of going somewhere for my birthday… the only place I really ever want to go to is Italy. It calls to you, once you’ve been, daring you to ever love anywhere as much. And I never even got to Rome!! Your poem shall be my Rome for now. And then perhaps, for my birthday….

  10. i’d lick the letters from your lips, dark chocolate, olive oil or
    red italian wine, sweetly drunk with each new syllable
    and Rome would be my friend

    Hi! Claudia…
    I’m usual not a romantic person, but I must say that your poetic words “drips” romances, thinking Of and wishing for…as you observes your surrounding while…“Rome-ing!”
    Thanks, for sharing!
    deedee 😉

  11. Oops!…your poetic words “drips” romance, thinking Of, and wishing for…as you observe your surroundings while…“Rome-ing!”

  12. I love that. When I travel I have those feelings – not so much in London where I am a young woman again, on her own, foot sure and able – but in Paris and Rome where the rivers are different and the history sweeps you up and asks you, “have you lost your lover? No one surely would come to me without a lover; for here is love to be shared, in special lights, on lingering nights, where lovers have shaken and quaked for centuries”. I walk the streets alone and sigh..and think thoughts like yours though not so eloquent and perhaps not now quite so passionate. Thank you for expressing them so well.

  13. Very, very nice. Loved the voice, love the city, love your poem. Great causual presentation that allowed me to enjoy and savour each drop, taste, sight, smell, and experience your passion for your topic. Excellente.

  14. very nice (i really need to increase my vocabulary).

    claudia, i am posting my poem of the prompt here. i am sorry, but i have to pull it off the net for reasons i can’t explain other than there is a drama queen in me:)).

    roma oh roma
    come play with me
    by tiber
    two and a half thousand years
    i waited for you
    i hiked seven hills
    i ate spaghetti, i chewed on gnocchi

    roma oh roma
    come play with me
    drop your empire
    forget your mediterranean
    from dome to dome
    from steps to steps
    from fountain to fountain
    i be cleopatra
    you be anthony

    roma oh roma
    come play with me

  15. Claudia, such a lush piece. I like the story within a story — the old Italian couple reading from a tattered book. Rome evokes the antiquity of love indeed.

  16. OMG! Claudia You need to get a room, you and Rome!! LOL! What a gorgeous piece this is. Can’t reproduce some of those “in love’ phrases you use, but they are so chocolatly, so syrupy, so in loverly! I believe you, I believe you. You are certainly out of the closet where Rome is concerned!! lol. Beautiful poem.. thanks for reminding me and sharing.xx

  17. An excellent City Poem Claudia. Really felt like I was there, which is the essence of aim for this form. Never been there, but now I feel a bit more experienced, thanks:)

  18. mmm I’m so jealous I have never been to Rome but love Italy ….sounds like someone is not just in love with Italy but In love ….beautiful poem …thank you for sharing !

  19. Claudia… I love how you move from history to specifics… from others to yourself.. your longing… all is drenched with your joy in life… every atom….. WOW

  20. Hi Claudia– thanks so much for reaching out/weighing in on my poem. Your prompt is terrific; poets seem most at home in cities, I think, so much humanity going on. Your poem is lovely, rich with the details and imagery that define not only Rome but how Rome seduces one. xxxj

  21. “…like olive yards and cappuccino mornings”

    I hear the whispered words and Italian, and long to make memories in this place I’ve never been to. Just beautiful, Claudia!

  22. You can take the “Clouds” out of Rome, but you cannot take Rome out of the “Clouds”! 🙂 A very sensual and ROMAntic poem. Lovely!

  23. there is a special intimacy readying this poem. you speak to another and we have backstage passes and are all watching with delight. you hit the sense, taste and touch as well as sight. i’d make you pronounce claudia is a fun bit of humor only a highly skilled writer can drop in so casually as you do. quite engaging.

  24. Oh, this makes me miss Rome! Drinking from the fountains, the coffee, the olive oil, the wine, the gelato. I loved Trastavere also. The traffic scared me to death, however!

  25. Is it my imagination or is your writing getting more and more sultry? “and would get high by sparkling sounds of easy-dripping letters in a lazy august sun” how perfect is that? Thanks for this little snippet of Rome through your eyes Claudia.

  26. Beautiful piece, it leaves me wanting and never wanting Rome. The sense of the longing among such touching harmony was really felt as I lingered through this read. Wonderfully done ~ Rose