perpetuum



We’re shadows, stretched
on empty streets and

lent on shaky canes, we promenade
along the arcades of our lives

move in and out,
perpetually motion-less, we’re comic

keepers of crooked city walls, boasting loudly,
owning nothing – yet

she’s boldly running and her laughter
is already swallowed, soon

we’ll tear the flesh from her bones,
leaving only shades, playing hoop games
in scorched streets and

with the sunset, store her carelessly
in tight-wrapped wagons ’til she grows

into submission and adapts
to our silence

over at dVerse Poets pub Mark Kerstetter hosts this weeks Poetics prompt about the works and life of painter Giorgio de Chirico. Have a look, get inspired and join us with your poetry..

54 responses to “perpetuum

  1. Oh, WOW, Claudia. That’s amazing. In a matter of minutes you entered deeply into Chirico’s world and emerged with your hands filled with dazzling darkness.

  2. claudia, wow..great write…there are some nice machanics at work within…comic

    keepers of crooked city walls, woot, nice allit and great imagery…ught he rending of flesh fromher bones as she grows and forgets the innocence of youth…and we beat her into submission…powerful lines….great stuff!

  3. I love the opening verses of:
    We’re shadows, stretched
    on empty streets and

    lent on shaky canes, we promenade
    along the arcades of our lives

    The last few also gorgeous (and a bit blue) about the changes in growing up. Though it never did seem to shut me up. In fact I opened back up eventually after some twists and turns.

  4. What a turn this took. I see the image and your words a chiaroscurro. that play of light and darkness that trespasses in our lives. I’m in awe. Aren’t you smart to take a sneak peek. Now I’ve got to get cracking!

  5. Claudia: I don’t think I’ll see this painting the same way again! Particularly the child’s shadow and the adult’s shadow leaning towards one another. There’s truth in your poem (I’m sad to say) but you’ve painted it in menacing tones, almost like a horror movie, tapping into the creepy aspect of de Chirico’s art.

  6. Very interesting take on the photo. Great how you spun it around on its head and ended with her adapting to our silence. Really liked how you did that.

  7. Multilayered Claudia the structure mirroring the painting. Your words are haunting and the meanings shaded in nuance. Very beautiful. Gay

  8. whoa! Took me on one heck of a ride with this write! This is fierce…the imagery is cutting, scary…as we are forced to look to the future and the past, making us consider just how far we’ve yet to go…It’s an amazing take on the image, the artist, and society as a whole.

  9. …ja, wir sind Schatten – lang, gestreckt, von der Jugend bis ins Alter….
    und wenn man auf das Licht schaut, dann macht der Schatten und die Dunkelheit keine Angst…hm, oder doch?
    es ist eine Wechselwirkung, die in deinem Gedicht gut wieder gegeben wird…

  10. It’s like you’ve looked at the painting and stripped it down to it’s bare bones. A really haunting write Claudia, a gitl, loosing her innocence because we judge. Really poignant as I’m watching mine growing up too quickly! x

  11. i like how the lines can end or go on.

    i liked “we’re comic keepers” made me wonder if we are funny people who keep things, or if we keep comic books, or if we really like our comics (like Jerry Lewis, or Billy Crystal or Chris Rock or…) or…

    “comic keepers” could be a poem of it’s own.

  12. “We’re shadows”

    fabulous opening!

    “’til she grows

    into submission”

    disturbing yet stunning!

    when i saw this painting, it shrieked of child molestation to me. you have captured the essence of that and taken it so much further! a different style for you but still perfection!

  13. I wrote on the same picture. I am glad I did not read your poem first. I liked your poem very much and thought a lot about the shadows too! I especially liked your first two stanzas.

  14. A shadow running alongside a shadown, toward a shadow.

    I’m fascinated with how poetry can make youlook at a picture in a completely different way – like your poem does here. Good one, Claudia.

  15. I actually read this earlier today..before I posted. Inspired me , touched me…so I went and starting looking at as much of his art work as possible…The emotions that surface when I take in this painting…you captured to perfection in your poem. I cant explain it..but your poem does…the first two lines hit me right away..bringing me into the immediacy of your piece,.and all the emotions within. Thank you for sharing

  16. Wow..your poem is so vivid & haunting… ‘we promenade
    along the arcades of our lives’..you have captured the essence of the painting so well..sunlight & shadows…menace lurking on the streets…wonderfully written, Claudia!

  17. Hi Claudia

    What a great prompt tonight.

    You have truly captured that metaphysical stillness that haunts this painting.
    I m rapt by the shadowy nature of the painting and you channel this with aplomb.
    You have illuminated the ominous undertones and exposed the menace.
    A worthy accompaniment to the painting
    Cant say better than that.

    Props

  18. I felt menace when I saw this also, fear for the girl running toward the shadow–the only two beings in a deserted landscape–now I know why. The light here is storm light, and you bring the devastation of an unnatural storm in your words. Your perceptions here cut to the bone.

  19. Pingback: Twitted by Tashtoo

  20. we’ll tear the flesh from her bones,
    leaving only shades, playing hoop games
    in scorched streets and

    with the sunset, store her carelessly
    in tight-wrapped wagons ’til she grows

    into submission and adapts
    to our silence

    Fantastic write! This may be my favorite of yours. Potent, fascinating and marvelous!

  21. “We’re shadows, stretched
    on empty streets and…”

    Hi! Claudia…
    Once again, your poetic words have captured the essence Of pre-surrealist and surrealist artist Giorgio de Chirico painting.

    Thanks, for sharing!
    deedee 😉

  22. Very strong Claudia…and I catch a passing wish that for once it might be different, then the reality hits. It will always be so. A brilliant write for the prompt.

  23. you have captured the spirit of the artist very well…

    these lines for me are amazing:

    move in and out,
    perpetually motion-less, we’re comic

    keepers of crooked city walls, boasting loudly,
    owning nothing – yet

  24. I was that silenced, shadow gal…swallowed into submission where dreams were trampled and nothing less than perfection reigned. Wow. I think I might have gotten in over my head when I linked up. You all are simply amazing.

  25. oh, this tugs at my guilty hearts strings because I am often shushing my loud playful children when their spirits are running free in pure bliss. Thanks to this I will be more conscious of letting them soar and maybe I will join them more than I do 🙂

  26. in scorched streets
    she’s boldly running and her laughter
    is already swallowed, … too ‘soon’

    we’ll tear the flesh from her bones,
    leaving only shades, playing hoop games

    with the sunset, store her carelessly
    in tight-wrapped wagons ’til she grows
    … stripped of spirit individualism, conforming to society …
    pretty damning and sadly perhaps pretty true ~
    how society streamlines and pigeon holes ~
    Claudia you pull no strings or cover up ~ baring the bones
    stripping the flesh to reveal ~ *raises right arm* *right on* ~
    I see your write as a voice exposing ~
    Excellent !!! Bravo !! ~ Lib
    ..
    ‘into submission and adapts
    to our silence’

  27. That was gripping, especially this part: “with the sunset, store her carelessly
    in tight-wrapped wagons ’til she grows

    into submission and adapts
    to our silence.”

    Wow, nice write!

  28. A wonderful write…”scorched streets” that is such an apt description of the feel one gets from this painting, as well as the picture you are painting with your words ~

  29. keepers of crooked city walls, boasting loudly,
    owning nothing – yet

    These two lines clinched it for me. Two very telling lines around which I thought a very fine poem crystallized

  30. This one left me rather stunned, like when one experiences a tragedy. Your words are so sharp, so real and the last lines are cutting and sad. Wow Claudia. You do this time and time again. You are a master poet.