Albinio beach

her voice scratches hoarse
like jazz brushes,
i’m deaf to sounds of life around

it’s just the sea and i,
her crotchets
rip me into pieces

gurgling moistness
kisses love-bleached sand,
demanding
like a tango dancer, smiling
from behind a sun-soaked veil

i’m staring spellbound
at her beauty, shiver at
her tenderness and almost
start to cry, a myriad of

salty droplets on my skin,
she’s closing in on me,
licking me feverishly
with a smaragd liquid tongue

i’m letting go,
adjust my heartbeat to
her pulse and hit her depths

together
with the tuscan sun

.

this week’s poetics prompt at dVerse Poets Pub is all about water… and i just spent a breath-taking week in tuscany for a saxophone workshop but at least with enough time for two visits at the beach.. smiles… my commenting will still be a bit delayed as i’m in Rome for a few days..see ya soon..

45 responses to “Albinio beach

  1. Whew, lovely images from the beach. Nice to see you linked up ~

    like these lines:

    it’s just the sea and i,
    her crotchets
    rip me into pieces

  2. gorgeous…and intimate with the power of nature…oh how i wish i could hear her rhythm right now and let her take me…ripped or otherwise…smiles.

  3. That third stanza is just brimming with being there–I almost feel I’ve been on vacation. Lovely, smooth and heady writing, my friend. Good to get this postcard from a land of gentler sun and sea.

  4. It’s lovely there and I know you’re enjoying it – hearing all that jazz, drinking in that liquid gold as the sunsets orange and purple shadows that fall on vineyards and stemmed glasses – wine and music and Italy – what’s better than that!
    Missing you our Claudia!

  5. Longing, yearning….man – this write made me ache!

    The closing lines allowed for a unity, a coupling or embrace maybe?

    Which made all the pain worth while.

    Forgive me for speculating out loud – i just loved it.

  6. Oh my! A sensuously felicitous peace Claudia. Beautifully constructed. You place the reader there, in the moment, enjoying the fruit. There is a rise in intensity that’s gradual, sustaining, then settling. Suggestion: substitute “brush” for drum, it’s the drum sticks that create a scratchy sound. The word will better and appropriately compliment the word “hoarse” in the first stanza. Cheers!

  7. You came full force with this piece and really throuhg passion behind every line. Enjoyed the read, nice that you had time to spend some time at the beach while on vacation.

  8. each word a delicious taste on the tongue…. i have missed your sensuous, passionate imagery, Claudia. enjoy Rome, sweetheart. ♥ you’re well worth waiting for. {smile}

  9. There is an amazing restaurant in Rome called Antico Arco, you must go there , the food will make your soul sing. Lovely poem!

  10. demanding
    like a tango dancer, smiling
    from behind a sun-soaked veil

    This reminded me of your poetry, it demands our attention (in the best way)! Thank you for sharing this piece of heaven with us.

  11. Lovely, lively, exotic (heavens, a sax workshop in Rome), erotic, plush, plashing, delighful. Thanks for the verbal soak. – Brendnan

  12. gorgeous… I could stare at the ocean for hours with that deep desire to have it blend into who I am in my dry land existence. Rich, exotic and enticing.

    Beth

  13. I grew up when the Atlantic Ocean in my backyard.. this poem felt like home to me..
    so many good lines but these i particularly adore,
    “i’m letting go,
    adjust my heartbeat to
    her pulse and hit her depths”

    beautiful..

  14. Fabulous write.

    And oh, to be under the Tuscan sun, sitting at a sidewalk cafe in Rome…

    Sigh.

    Enjoy!

    Wouldn’t it be amazing to hear yoru poems read to the sound of your saxophone… 🙂

  15. Tangible, rippling excitement… you build it up so well, Claudia…How you manage to find completely fresh images for the sea is breath-taking.. ciao ciao 🙂

  16. “demanding
    like a tango dacer….

    i’m staring spellbound
    at her beauty…

    she’s closing in on me…

    I’m letting go,
    adjusting my heartbeat to
    her pulse and hit her depths

    togegether
    with the tuscan sun”

    This write (should i not say poem?), intimate and erotic sets the scene as open and seduces the speaker step by step to where she (he?) wants to be. Don’t we all… 😉
    Very orgasmic. (am i allowed to write that?)

    I am from mixed languages and cultures, but this scene of poets is new to me. So please forgive me and kindly point out if i have mis-spoken.

    Enjoy your vacation.

  17. “i’m staring spellbound
    at her beauty, shiver at
    her tenderness and almost
    start to cry, a myriad of

    salty droplets on my skin,
    she’s closing in on me,
    licking me feverishly
    with a smaragd liquid tongue…”

    Hi! Claudia…I can almost “smell” the salt-sea air…Once again, Thanks, for sharing your beautiful words…and I hope that you enjoyed the Sax-phone workshop too!
    Take care!
    deedee 🙂

  18. Music and the beach: 2 of my favorite things. A third is poetry, so this is just right. I went to the beach last night with a couple of singers and poets – it was as beautiful as you describe.

  19. Well when in Rome, as they say…glad you got some time to enjoy the beaches and all. Hope it’s an absolutely lovely trip – I don’t see how it couldn’t be! I much envy the time in the Tuscan sun…but thanks for taking time out of your busy ventures to still grace us with some of your lovely poetry Claudia.

  20. Pingback: divine poems | haiku love songs

  21. love how you bring this one home, love the accelerated pace, especially toward the end. i don’t like any word used in which the common person doesn’t know the meaning but that’s just me. but you are allowed to drop those 50 cent words in occasionally becuz, and this is just me, the color of your piece makes knowing what you mean very possible. claudia in tuscany…:)