dVerse: & so it started

i found you lying
in between the gravel in the driveway,

Someone put you there
while i was vast asleep

When i picked you up,
it was still dark outside,

mist hung in my hair
like cobwebs,

You looked small, adventurous & vulnerable
and i liked the way you felt

between my fingers,
there was weight, worth carrying

Through the day i realized
that you were my dream

Poets, weaving webs around the world,
tossing ink pots over polished floors,

sitting soaked in shining pub light,
talking nights away

like we were never strangers ‘cos

we found art in one another’s eyes

so while we’re still busy, polishing floors and hanging curtains, we are in DESPERATE need of a poetry break.. and just can’t wait until the official opening on the 19th… and brian already ordered 300 pounds of crab legs for today.. haha… so hope to see you there for sharing your construction, beginnings, start-up, pub life, whatever verse with us at dVerse Poets Pub  ..pop in and say Hi.. 3pm EST

59 responses to “dVerse: & so it started

  1. Claudia, beautiful poem. Thank you for all you have done at OSP. It all feels sad and exciting at the same time. I’ll see you there, we’ll have a drink with those crabs 🙂

  2. A Happy Maritime Morning to you from my little piece of sea shore! Thank the gods for your poetic heart…and your hard work! So happy and honored to be a part. Awesome write, awesome news, and than you add crab legs and booze! Yippie 🙂

  3. woohoo! here we go! thank you for all you are doing to make this a most wonderful place…we have a great team, a great group of poets and …yep…

    so love the verse…keep dreaming…its going up on the mirror behind the bar…

  4. Great poem to compliment a grand adventure.. Best of luck to all of you and WE thank you for bringing us a new Pub to relax and converse in..

  5. love these lines:

    like we were never strangers ’cos

    we found art in one another’s eyes

    Yes, I will be there to join you. Save me a seat !

  6. This is beautiful — you made me sigh, deep into my soul as I settled into laugh and share and wonder with friends at the Pub.

    gotta check out this pub!

  7. This is such a happy song of a poem. And I can’t wait either. I’m bringing a few gallons of moonshine, a lava lamp, and a lefty poet as my date.

  8. oh this was LOVERLY 😀
    i pictured a small, sweet little dragon, purple and green iridescent, with big blue eyes blinking at me as i cradled him like a baby

  9. Who thought just a few days ago – we’d have a new place to meet, to talk, to post, to poet, to dream, to listen, to learn, to drink it all in. A poets pub of fun and laughter, philosophy and dreams!

  10. the poem is so beautiful, it emphasizes on a new beginning, the associations which is so deeply appreciated, truly heartfelt.

  11. “Poets, weaving webs around the world,
    tossing ink pots over polished floors,”

    Enjoyed these lines and the cobwebs in the hair. Looking forward to what’s next…

  12. You looked small, adventurous & vulnerable
    and i liked the way you felt

    between my fingers,
    there was weight, worth carrying

    Gorgeous work carries the thrill of possibility!

  13. Last line is real poetry… and it’s so true… the friends, no I’d say kindred spirits I have met here online thanks to sites like the one we are just kicking off (yippee!) are many and like one of them said in a poem, no one gives a shit what we write (in our everyday lives). So glad to have crossed paths with you, sister

  14. “Through the day i realized
    that you were my dream…”

    Hi! Claudia,
    Once again, your written and spoken words are beautiful….By the way, I usually, listen to your words and then I read your poem, but today I did it in reverse [accidentally} and the outcome is the same…beautifully written and spoken words.

    “Poets, weaving webs around t
    “sitting soaked in shining pub light,
    talking nights away….”
    he world,
    tossing ink pots over polished floors…”
    I wish that I was poet in order to weave webs around the world too!

    Claudia, these words….
    “sitting soaked in shining pub light,
    talking nights away….”
    remind d me Of dVerse header
    Thank-you, and Brian for the invitation to one Of the coolest cafe in the blogosphere…a cup Of Coffee and cake please!

  15. [postscript: Claudia…I’m so sorry about the mistake, but I’m using relatives computer that need to be upgraded and fine tuned….Their computer is controlling me instead Of,vice versa…
    “Poets, weaving webs around the world,
    “sitting soaked in shining pub light,
    talking nights away tossing ink pots over polished floors…”

    I wish that I was poet in order to weave webs around the world too!]

  16. I doubt I could go a week without a visit to your site, Claudia.

    Many thanks for all your efforts at OSP and for your continued input into poetry forums in the blogosphere.

  17. Aw, shoot. I hadn’t read your poem yet, but I used weaving webs, too. Promise I didn’t steal it, lol..

    Love the idea of finding a dream and picking it up 😉

  18. It begins, and it begins walking lines of majesty. My friend, it is ever good to see the poetry continue on – it is a service, truly, what you and Brian and Gay are doing for the community in this. You paint the vision well in this work too…

    “like we were never strangers ’cos

    we found art in one another’s eyes”

    Poets…never strangers, merely old friends.

  19. You’ve captured something very special here Claudia and I think it’s a sign of things to come. Thank you for all that you do for our creative community.

  20. “i found you lying
    in between the gravel in the driveway,” Love the beginning…
    “mist hung in my hair
    like cobwebs,” Love the imagery of those lines…
    “Poets, weaving webs around the world,
    tossing ink pots over polished floors,” Love the thoughts here…
    “we found art in one another’s eyes” Beautiful ending!

  21. Very nicely put. Congrats and I look forward to the site and all that shall come from it:)

  22. Even in a dimly lit pub, it was “like we were never strangers ’cos we found art in one another’s eyes.” I always marvel at the images you paint in your poems. I’m discovering the heart in there, too. Thank you, my friend, for you’ve done for us.

  23. “Poets weaving webs around the world” love that line.

    Yeah also met so many people on here just blogging around and such, never thought I would, definitely is a different world, or at least new one.

  24. It reminds me of picking up my young daughter:

    You looked small, adventurous & vulnerable
    and i liked the way you felt

    between my fingers,
    there was weight, worth carrying

    a weight of love worth carrying, like the art which we suppose to create.

  25. Just had to stop at your table as well and wish you the best…
    Love those dreams that come to fruition. A little dream, a little effort, a little construction and presto… IT’S HERE.

    Looks to be a fabulous place. I look forward to spending quite a few evenings here at the Pub.

  26. Claudia this was just beautiful.. and being able to hear it being read, as it should be, made it all the more beautiful. It is amazing what you can find or see in another persons eyes!

  27. “sitting soaked in shining pub light,
    talking nights away

    like we were never strangers ’cos

    we found art in one another’s eyes”

    Wow Claudia! What a wonderfully evocative welcome. I look forward to the official opening with great anticipation. Best wishes, James.

  28. Congratulations, Claudia, to you and Brian. He brought the crab legs, and you brought a fine poem (and a lot of work).

  29. i keep using the same words to describe your writing ~ i’m sorry i can’t come up with something new, but this is yet another exquisite, stunning poem and the ending is like a hug! i’m grateful to you for what you did at One Stop Poetry and i’m more grateful to all of you who are putting together dVerse ~ drapes and crab legs and all. thank you.♥

  30. Claudia, you’re on such a beautiful roll; you inspire me. Poems are the small things, sometimes so tiny that a mere breath can send them away. it takes attention, focus and love to ‘capture’ the poem, but it is only captured to send away again to others. Thanks so much.

  31. I was already excited about the new site, but I am even more so after reading your remarkably beautiful poem. I love to think of a web of poets around the world!

    Your piece about the photo was disturbingly haunting. Well done.