blown into silence

the grass could’ve had any color,
the people any shape and size,

i met them on the way & never met

There were trains
& cars
& bikes,

i didn’t see them, was immersed,
about to– disperse,
counting blue notes like they were

pure gold

& no one ever told me that the wind–
would pause
and tenderly enlaced
become a brother to my breath

Life could’ve had any color
but lost its saturation somewhere on the way,
so i am dipped in sound like i got never hurt
and never loved,

like i was never meaningful
or meaningless,

like no one ever choked me
into silence

I slowly walk the corn-growth road

with nothing on my mind but fragile tunes,
tumbling drunken from my headphones,
lean into the sun and–

take flight

17 responses to “blown into silence

  1. Truly beautiful. I’ll think about this on my way home from work! “Life could’ve had any color”… I wish I’d thought of that. Thank you for posting!

  2. fly on little bird…easy to get caught up in those songs and they do help us forget many of the more unsavory moments…choked into silence…yikes….but i love the corn-growth road…smiles…

  3. “i met them on the way & never met…” with nothing on my mind but fragile tunes,
    tumbling drunken from my headphones,
    lean into the sun and– take flight”

    Hi! Claudia…
    Once again, your spoken and written words are very…beautiful!
    [postscript: The words in quote are the words that “jumped” out at me too after reading your poem.]
    Thanks, for sharing!
    deedee

  4. Lovely jumble of stream of consciousness, dream-state, whatever–the effect is mesmeric and profound, the lines already mentioned are just a lyrical gut-punch. That feeling at the end is classic, universal, and immediate in your words. Good stuff.

  5. How music can elevate and transform us; Loved these lines:

    so i am dipped in sound like i got never hurt
    and never loved,

    like i was never meaningful
    or meaningless,

    Lovely post ~

  6. I get a wandering feeling with this one, like I’m lost in a dream. Life could’ve had any color… That’s an amazing line. Another great poem, Claudia.

  7. Me too! Me too! Love this one! Absolutely.

    And yes, I say it all the time — but you leave me speechless with the beauty of your words and imagery.

  8. no one ever choked me into silence – great line – sad you’ll be leaving OSP but you my friend are sticking around and we are talkin’ poetry! Like this piece a lot, Cloudy, don’t think the hyphen at the end works here though, no for where it is put grammatically. If you chopped the ‘and’ it would seem apt, but the ‘and’ is doing the same job, as a conjunction word. Also not sure about the use of ampersands (&&) rather than writing out ‘and’.

    Great piece though of course