in dew time

.
i met you, sitting in the summer
on a resin scented bench,
asking if i’m thirsty – –

When you led me to the pond
i wondered who you are,
but you have never told me.

you took forest flowers,
wove them lithe as fibre strings into my hair,
so it would look like fine spun gold
and when you kissed me,

i felt the earth dance on your tongue &
fir cone trolls rolled up their sleep sleeves

as we made love all night
on soil-soaked pine tree pillows.

Sinking deeper to the ground
you said i wouldn’t die, instead you wove me wings
and gave me dew from water petals,
telling me it was the morning light &

so i drank until we waded in the sunrise
and grew webs between our toes

.

..i wrote this poem in response to the One Shoot Sunday Picture Prompt over at One Stop Poetry. Jump over there to read Chris Galford’s interview with photographer Adam Romanowicz, who shot this fantastic picture.

35 responses to “in dew time

  1. Great play in the title—excellent depiction of a homecoming and settling of a ‘transplant.” …I always talk to my plants, but they don’t always respond. smiles. The opening stanza sets this perspective up very well. Awesome.

  2. Fascinating and totally threw me into the piece. The title hooked me and as always the content didn’t disappoint. What a wonderful angle.

  3. As those webs… can become too long.. yet it’s a pleasure to be able to observe, be aware of their presence and write amazing poems about what goes on around them
    Great piece
    Claudia

  4. ha. love the word play in the title…and making love in nature…becoming one with each other and it….very fine…webs between toes…smiles.

  5. Seems were all falling in love this week sweetpea! So many good lines here, my personal favourites, the last two couplets. Brilliant, and I’m now looking for the poem with shared lines! A veritable sensual treat, I love coming here!

    • ha – with the shared line i was referring to your “where koi beneath kiss lilly leaves” line…everyone seemed to favor this specific line as it is truly breath-taking..

  6. mesmerizing write, I especially like, “wove them lithe as fibre strings into my hair”
    …you’ve created in me a want for webbed feet…

  7. *Deep sigh*

    This is exquisitely surreal… I love the entire picture you have painted with words, but the couplets are what really moved me:

    i felt the earth dance on your tongue
    and fir cone trolls rolled up their sleep sleeves…

    and:

    so i drank until we waded in the sunrise
    and grew webs between our toes..

    Gorgeous, multi-layered writing.

  8. This is quite the lovely write.. to echo the others, more than one way to read this piece and that my friend is what good poetry does..allows room for different interpretations.
    The lines are amazing:

    “instead you wove me wings
    and gave me dew from water petals,
    telling me it was the morning light &..”

    Al I can say to that is, le sigh!!

  9. Your lines “wove them lithe as fibre strings into my hair” and “fir cone trolls rolled up their sleep sleeves” are standouts. Fine take on the prompt!

  10. Graceful, carefully woven words, a soothing melody and a promise of eternity, all blended into a piece as lovely as your loved ones. wow!

  11. a beautiful read, I love how the day turns in your words, your palette honours that turning, I especially loved:

    “you said i wouldn’t die, instead you wove me wings
    and gave me dew from water petals,
    telling me it was the morning light &”

    a gentle subtlety and passion emanates from this poem

  12. So beautiful. Everyone else said so much. I love the way you weave words and images. Your love songs so lovingly wrought. Thank you dear Claudia. Gay

  13. You wove some magic in this one…thank you, I was able to go back in time when I remember those pine tree pillows while breathing in the mountain above and below. a beautiful write, Claudia ~

  14. “Sinking deeper to the ground
    you said i wouldn’t die, instead you wove me wings
    and gave me dew from water petals,
    telling me it was the morning light &”

    I enjoyed these lines. So much compassion.