Icarus also Flew

.

he still stands, spray nozzle
in hand as life drips like
little kid’s running noses, cutting
thorns from dead roses, bleeding from
what dares coming closest, he knew
but for a short time flew – high

with wings, built of magic-doped,
beat-soaked nights and white dust,
you-can’t-keep-me-down lust until
he crashed hard and all that held
him, the black-as-coal king, the
bend-it-to-the max melted like wax

& he still stands, spray nozzle
in hand, starts to run and
dark toned glasses prevent him from
seeing, from touching the sun &
concrete-related he’s spraying
acetone-inseminated letters into
the night, he was smashed-to-the-
ground-icarus in another life

the above picture was shot by One Stop cohort Chris Galford and my poem is the response to the One Shoot Sunday picture prompt

30 responses to “Icarus also Flew

  1. i may have fallen, but i once flew, you can’t keep me down though…i think at some point we can all relate to icarus…

    yo happy fathers day to your hubs

  2. Oh my.. what a great poem.. listening as I read, it moved along, snap-snap-snap, like an artist would do as he spray-paints..

    These are amazing lines:
    “you-can’t-keep-me-down lust until
    he crashed hard and all that held
    him, the black-as-coal king, the
    bend-it-to-the max melted like wax”

    much enjoyed this.yes..

  3. Love the use of hyphenated words—builds like a steamroller and crashes at the end befitting the the aspirating of the wax-winged one.

  4. Claudia – you blended two cultures here, and right where they intersect — the drug culture and rhe graffiti culture. Wonderful poem.

  5. I love how you get into the mind of the graffiti artist and the portrait you paint of him….really enjoyed this very much..great read and write.

  6. Claudia, had to read it twice (enjoyed both times). Yes Icarus flew, I guess we forget the triumph and concentrate on the fall. Loved your effort, well written and thought provoking.

  7. Flying high here Claudia. Especially liked “with wings, built of magic-doped,
    beat-soaked nights and white dust,
    you-can’t-keep-me-down lust until
    he crashed hard”

    There’s more way to go high.

  8. Enjoyed your take on this, Claudia. I really dug this piece of graffiti but no words came, glad I didn’t force it as yours took me on a fabulous journey (not all are painted in gold, are they). thank you ~

  9. Icarus also Flew [ Part Deux ]
    Hi! Claudia…
    To be quite honest I listened as you read your poem as my eyes followed your words…Unaware Of and most definitely, not familiar with Icarus…
    Icarus…Did a little research repeated these steps:“I listened as you read your poem as my eyes followed…”took on a whole new meaning. [Even the photograph, have a whole new meaning]

    [By the way, Congratulation! on being featured in the Daily News and to piggy-back on Brian’s response to you…Here’s wishing and hoping that the father Of your children [and your male readers] had a Happy Father’s Day too!]
    deedee 🙂

  10. I’m so pleased so many drew as much inspiration from this as I. And as ever, you bring an energy and sound to the creative that is uniquely your own, Claudia. An intoxicating piece that wafts across ages.