scars on your hands/55

i watch you
spreading butter
on your toast as if it was
a night gown,

glistening white &
saturated in the
evening sun

you talk about your day
& health insurances
but i stopped listening,

scanning the scars
you carry proudly
on your hands, tight
as your wedding ring

& suddenly i know
how much i want you.


guess this proves that women don’t listen to their husbands…smiles
linking up with g-man’s friday 55  and brian miller’s love poem prompt over at  friday poetically

38 responses to “scars on your hands/55

  1. “i watch you
    spreading butter
    on your toast as if it was
    a night gown…”

    Hi! Claudia…
    Ah! your words are…beautiful! and your poetry always leave me with at least one feeling…today feeling: warmth.

    Thanks, for sharing!
    DeeDee ;-D

  2. Those aren’t scars,,
    They are guidlines to Love!
    Loved your Love 55 Claudia.
    I’m so glad that you are playing again.
    Thanks for the (sigh), and have a Kick Ass Week-End

  3. The phrase that got me? “Scars…on your hands, as tight as your wedding ring.” The power of that fidelity subtext blew me out of my chair. Or, maybe I’m just a closet romantic. Wonderful piece, Claudia.

  4. Your words take me by surprise. Just when I think there’s nothing new to write about love – wham! – you do it. Love it!

  5. Fine glissade from the textures of butter on toast to a woman and a man’s scarred hands. – Brendan

  6. I think Talon really has expressed my feeling in that you have taken an ordinary event and turned it into an expression of deep love. Bravo!

  7. I love the intimacy you express in your words. I have watched my husband in the same way and felt how lucky I was (and am) to have him be my partner.

  8. This is just … awesome. My husband spreads his butter on his toast evenly – it must reach every little corner, evenly spread. He is very precise and takes his time. I like my toast that way as well, but often don’t have the patience – I make do with cold chunks on my toast, and often my bread is torn. Amazing how this poem about something so little speaks volumes to me. Thank you. 🙂

  9. it’s interesting to know the different way in which desire is sparked. it could be a laugh, or the way one walks. You’ve captured it perfectly, Claudia!

    lovely!

  10. Danke für deinen netten Kommentar in meinem Blog. Kann mich meinen Vorgänger(inn)en nur anschließen: Liebe kann man im Alltag immer wieder neu entdecken. Ich komme bestimmt noch öfter hierher zurück!

  11. WoW! Claudia, WoW!

    I love the opening lines…who knew something so simple could evoke such emotions.

    Beautiful. Thank you.

  12. fabulous 55.

    life’s tiny details could make significant differences on love, or relations.

    your talent is outstanding as always.

  13. Clearly I am no expert, but they are indeed the expressions, minute one, which flash before my eyes when I think of someone close. It can be a smile, a gesture, an annoying habit, but it has to be and there always is.
    Kudos to your poem.

  14. The image in your first stanza is so powerful you (almost) don’t need the second stanza. I think that after “as if it was a nightgown” the reader’s imagination will fill in the second stanza, or soemthing very like it. Powerful poetry!