all i needed to know/for my mom

i think the moments
i loved most were
when we walked side by side
on the way to
whatever place, i

didn’t care
where we were going
but i needed to know
you’d stand by me
walking away from
what stole my breath sometimes

and all i had to be sure of was,

if i needed a hand to hold,
you would never pull yours back


…and i’m crying while writing this..my childhood wasn’t always easy…but think my mom made me survive and i’m beyond thankful…

find more mother’s day poems over at One Stop Poetry.. 

31 responses to “all i needed to know/for my mom

  1. ((claudia)) truly heart felt…happy mothers day!

    you realise it is too early in the morning for you to make me cry…

  2. We all need a hand to hold and some point, and no hand reassures like that of a mother.

    I can fully understand the tears whilst writing this.

  3. Claudia, these thoughts are beautiful.

    I just read several of you last poems. I had forgotten to confirm my email account with your site and so I wasn’t getting notified of your posts. I won’t miss them anymore.

    Reading your writing made for a lovely mother’s day morning. I didn’t comment on each because you know how I feel about your poetry. When I read several like this, I am amazed at the depth of your muse. Have a great mother’s day.

  4. the beauty of a caring mother captured perfectly… a mom is supposed to be there & make sure her child knows her hands will always be ready for a grab… too bad all moms aren’t like that…

  5. Oh Claudia, what I or most everyone feels..those early childhood memories….forever comeing back in moments of despair.

  6. Dear Claudia
    A simple, honest and profound poem…I have a two year ols and I know that is all that he wants from me.
    if i needed a hand to hold,
    you would never pull yours back

    Thank you for this poem. I hope you are feeling better now.
    Best Regards
    Padmavani

  7. As a mum all we can do is be there when our children need us. I can count and remember the times I counted on my mum and she never ever let me down. thank you for sharing this Claudia, heartfelt and lovely

  8. Hi! Claudia…
    I too must admit that my eyes are tear-filled (after reading your poetry)…Thank-you, for sharing familiar feelings for me and beautiful words with all…Once again, I hope that you had a good one too!
    DeeDee 😉

  9. By the way, I have to get into a “Jay Walking the Moon” mode…Because I’am still in a Splitter-witter mindset! (Especially, when a new post appears on my feed!)

  10. Hi Claudia – lovely poem – I think the last line sums up what everyone wants from their mum, or dad for that matter, to know the hand will always be there 🙂