places no one has ever heard of

in warm nights
i drink your words like scotch and
step into you,
hoping to find myself between
your lips and the tip of your tongue

you taste of lemon and brown sugar
and across the bar
waits another day
of another life
with a different reason to breathe

we drink to the words
and bleeding pages
spread across your skin

we drink to what’s left,
to fragile letters on limpid sheets

and we drink to
endless carpets of white blossoms
that may never make it through the rain

your eyes are deep with danger
and full with what no one should see,
touch
or feel

your lips shine wet with ink

i long to kiss you empty and
explode in your mouth,
on your tongue

until we both are bleeding – to gether, to life

on the floor of a bar
no one has ever heard of


…it’s One Shot Wednesday again and i have the pleasure to be your host for tonight’s poetry party…come write a poem and join us..sign up opens at 5 pm EST

61 responses to “places no one has ever heard of

  1. Hope to see you there…life is squeezing the writing out at present. ….about the poem…and I thought a diet coke was tasty.

  2. i am going through the phone book right now looking for the bar…smiles. this is hot claudia…smoking hot.

  3. and we drink to
    endless carpets of white blossoms
    that may never make it through the rain

    If the rain is your words than none shall live to tell their tale! Claudia, this is potent, powerful, and quite “engaging” 🙂 (For lack of a better word!) I always hear music in your work, and this for me is no different…certainly getting a slow jazz groove on…and loving what you’re bleeding!

  4. *smiles* Another sensual bit Claudia, enthralling from the beginning. Truly, if anyone ever had any questions on how to put sensuality into their writing, I have no qualms that you are the poet I would direct them to. You know how to capture that feeling, that essence…

    Delightful, delightful, delightful!

  5. Excellent and tense, full of both senses and the mind that sits apart–my favorite line, “..we drink to what’s left..to endless carpets of white blossoms that may never make it through the rain…” Beautiful, sombre and sweet.

  6. I know this is passionate, but I feel an emptiness here, too:

    “you taste of lemon and brown sugar
    and across the bar
    waits another day
    of another life
    with a different reason to breathe”

    “on the floor of a bar
    no one has ever heard of”

    As if sensuality is all they have, as if all hope for more is like those white blossoms that may never make it through the rain…

  7. This sound like a prologue to a spy novel to me. Books and letters on the tongue, pictures in the mind. But it could be an angle on film noir as well but it’s delicious, dark and like chocolate inviting. Well done. Gay

  8. you had me transfixed right from the start. you are definitely one that inspires me, so i thank you for that. this is full of passion, and i appreciated every sing line. a bit of greatness you have shared here!

  9. Another poem that lifts and sweeps me away on a tide of words, to beach me again on the shores of thought.

    Hope your only bleeding is with continued sweetness, Claudia, now and always.

    Xxoo

  10. as poets there are many things to drink to including the bleeding pages …
    Cheers – here’s to writing Claudia

  11. One thing I’ve come to expect from a Claudia poem is passion. Another thing I’ve come to expect is brilliant, personal images. What i can never expect is how they’ll come at me, from one poem to the next. As always, a powerhouse surprise, Claudia. Danke.

  12. This poem had a Mona Lisa smile quality to it – sensuous and hiding something with a slight smirk. It seemed as if you were writing to a one-night stand, maybe another writer, but then it seemed that the lover was the very act of writing – we poets and writers of words feel passion through our fingertips, and we dare to go to all those secret places one should avoid; Perhaps this dangerous lover was the act of creation; love-making with words and images. Good stuff!

  13. and across the bar
    waits another day
    of another life
    with a different reason to breathe

    These lines gripped me. Yes, there is passion here, but I almost wanted to yell “don’t do it”. Makes me think she is making a bad choice… as often happens with scotch…

  14. You’re without doubt one of my favourite poets. The way you play with a language that is not your native one is a joy to watch. Yes, I say watch, as I do more than just read this. It plays out in my mind like a starkly rawly-shot film scene. Love the dry ending, being on the floor. What a poem to greet my return to your site. Lock the door.

  15. Oh, oh, oh! This is totally captivating!! What a love poem!!

    Passionate ultimate!

    Lady Nyo….you continue to delight and amaze, Claudia. I feel this in the bones….

  16. This could be interpreted so many different ways… but each way is passionate and so inviting to the senses. Great imagery. Thank you for sharing.

  17. Oh…that’s what I call passion!!! And you write passion so well, Claudia!!
    “your eyes are deep with danger
    and full with what no one should see,
    touch
    or feel” — aren’t we just attracted to the dangerous ones? teeheehee… I guess that’s part of what makes them so irresistible! 🙂

    Really enjoyed this sensuous ride, my friend..

  18. “in warm nights
    i drink your words like scotch and
    step into you,”
    damn, love that..I get that…the whole piece has a wonderful energy in the longing, desire…intense write, Claudia…ps thanks for hosting!

  19. such vivid, passionate images ~ each verse… each line… each word hotter than the one before. stunning!