>literary fights – a Rondel

>

wild circling dots dance mad inside my head
whirl pirouetting ink into my night
like wack, black drizzling shade descends my flight
on thin-print, spill-tint letters overfed

and white gowned sheets, soaked blue and pink, drip dead
in copious and literary fights
while circling dots dance mad inside my head,
whirl pirouetting ink into my night

swarm life towards me, turn my broken sad –
tuned song, tie-dye those night knit writing plight
let broken warp threads glitter with delight,
twitch, groan and scream under the words i bled
while circling dots dance mad – inside my head

Rondel structure:
ABba
abAB
abbaA

Together with Samuel Peralta, I’ll be teaching Rondels on March 14th and 21st at One Stop Poetry Form – hope to see you there

This Rondel is my response to the One Stop Poetry Sunday Picture Prompt Challenge. The prompt was shot by photographer JackAZ, featured today on One Shoot Photography Sunday.

25 responses to “>literary fights – a Rondel

  1. >Hi! Claudia…I can almost envision the writer in front Of the typewriter in the beautiful photograph that you, and Brian, both featured in your post…Once again, your words are beautiful and very vivid… "wild circling dots dance mad inside my headwhirl pirouetting ink into my nightlike wack, black drizzling shade descends my flighton thin-print, spill-tint letters overfed and white gowned sheets, soaked blue and pink, drip deadin copious and literary fights"Nice use Of the Rondel structuretoo!Thanks, for sharing!DeeDee ;-D

  2. >Your d-alliteration kicks off the pirouette image so well. You selected a great form for the imagery. Also, some great variance of cadence, especially in the beginning (thin-print, spill-tint) makes a good sound and sets a nice contrast to what precedes it. Very deep introspection.(Going to a be a treat March 14th and 21st. yay!)

  3. >Such fun — and I too love…. "tie-dye those night knit writing plight"Oooh and a course in Rondels — hopefully I shall find my poet's space again and will start participating once more at Jingle and One Stop!

  4. >The hyphen stuck out to me. Funny how a little slash can have such power. I'm so glad the little dots find a place to rest occassionally on your blog.

  5. >Lovely, mad, active and neon little rondel, Cludia. I think you've really described perfectly your own writing here–so full of color. music and movement always.

  6. >Indeed, this taps into the madness of the writerly mind. It suggests chaos without become chaotic itself. In that sense, the controlled tension of the piece is perfect. And wow, the imagery here as well as the sounds and cadences. A fantastic poem!

  7. >I am very intrigued by this form, so I am glad you will be doing a lesson on One Stop. Looking forward.Those "wild circling dots" kept evoking the keys on the typewriter in my mind. I noticed that while everything in the photo is a bit decrepit, those keys looked as new as the day that old machine was made. Your eye goes right to them (mine does, anyway).Also, this poem begs for an audio reading!A lush read, thank you.

  8. >Claudia, love this for so manyreasons. This line really struckme, "whirl pirouetting ink into my night" it leaves quite the image with me.Pamela

  9. >How you make words piroutte with images, how you throw light on colors to create a kaleidoscope, how feelings held down hum through–love this rondel, Claudia! Love your mastery of the poetic form. Thanks for sharing it.