>STREET BEAT – a Villanelle

>my heart falls silent with a heavy beat
a set of rhythms, closed in by the night
it’s street I think, and street I know I need

solidified and burnt by crimson heat
exploding fractions, fading out of light
my heart falls silent with a heavy beat

I hit dark ground, a used & down-played reed
a trumpet blow with heavy, forceful might
it’s street I think, and street I know I need

rush, rush, time drifts away with racecar speed
I’m loosing it, with rescue out of sight
my heart falls silent with a heavy beat

through shouted tunes with bass drum pace you seep
catchin’ my fall, you blow away the night
it’s street I think, and street I know I need

weird words of weakness rapped from empty sheets
I suffocate and long to end this fight
my heart falls silent with a heavy beat
it’s street I think, and street I know I need

We have a new Poetry Form Class running over at One Stop Poetry.
This and next Monday we have a close look at the Villanelle – some history – some technical information – some writing tips. Jump over there to read and join us..

Villanelle Structure
A1-b-A2
a-b-A1
a-b-A2
a-b-A1
a-b-A2
a-b-A1-A2
23 responses to “>STREET BEAT – a Villanelle

  1. >Yeah them streets can beat the desire from one. I have no other comment right now because I have a couple of questions, not on the form but basic structure so I don't know if this hits the mark or not.

  2. >An unmistakable beat…Jazz was the first thing I thought of when I read it but I see that has already been covered. I might as well have been sitting in the club with a drink hand.

  3. >Hi! Claudia…I guess being a musician your words become the sounds Of musical notes?:?Because the words in your poem seems to flow and there is a beat and rhythm presence.Thanks, for sharing…I will stop by One Stop Poetry in order to check-out the Villanelle Structure and what it's all about too.DeeDee ;-D

  4. >Wonderful musicality in this piece Claudia. Just love this line, perfect use of repetition.rush, rush, time drifts away with racecar speedCarys

  5. >Claudia…Thanks so much for checking out my attempt and your kind words. This is a stunning write! The imagery is fantastic! I am inspired to try again and am looking forward to next week. Many, MANY thanks for the lesson 🙂

  6. >Good villanelle workshop, Claudia! Nicely chosen poems for exposition (including yours!) and the time you took to put it all together is really, really appreciated.

  7. >One thing that I find very difficult to do with a villanelle is to keep the blood pumping; the restrictions of the form tend to make them more academic than lively. You have avoided that pitfall very nicely here; this piece has real emotional strength.