>filthy rags – a christmas rondel

>

This is my birthday poem for the one, who loves me most, for him who started his humble walk in a stable and went all the way to the cross because he loved us more than his life. Don’t know where i were without him – he saved me more than once and I guess there are never enough words to express how much I owe him and how much I love him. So…. happy birthday Jesus…!

filthy rags

you come to me when i expect it least
and cover me with wings as with a coat
i find no words to tell you what i hope
just stunned as you invite me to your feast
you take away what’s old and used and greased
on water, i walk straight towards your boat
you come to me when i expect it least
and cover me with wings as with a coat
in fear of drowning all my movements freeze
my song stuck somewhere deep down in my throat
and filthy rags are scattered on the road
your love for me has never ever ceased
you come to me when i expect it. least
Merry Christmas to all of you!

(the rondel was invented in the 14th century, rhyme scheme is ABba abAB abbaA)

22 responses to “>filthy rags – a christmas rondel

  1. >Lovely and lyrical poem, Claudia. I especially like "cover me with wings as with a coat" and the use of the word "least". May you always continue to enjoy His peace and beauty.Happy Holidays!

  2. >Claudia, I am moved by this. I do believe this is one of the few Christmas poems that truly express gratitude for him in a way that is real, lyrical, and not at all cloying. Just beautiful. I hope you and yours have a magical Christmas. 🙂

  3. >'you come to me when I expect it least' I love how you used that line in every verse.wonderfully written poem, once again, Claudia!

  4. >Your poem is just great, Claudia. Thank you for being such a wonderful co-blogger for 2010 with your inspiring responses. Merry Christmas, Ma'am!

  5. >A truly inspired piece Claudia. Thank you so much. I'm honored to know you and to hear your voice as I did earlier which is in itself a song. This form fit your words so well, so sacredly. Merry Christmas, Claudia. Gay

  6. >Wonderful…"you take away what's old and used and greased""you come to me when i expect it. least"These lines touched my heart… :)Merry Christmas and Happy New Year in advance 🙂

  7. >Great onehappy birthdaymerry xmas and alL my love fromt he Canaries :)…………(¯`O´¯)…………*./ | \ .*…………..*♫*.………, • '*♥* ' • ,……. '*• ♫♫♫•*'….. ' *, • '♫ ' • ,* '….' * • ♫*♥*♫• * '… * , • Merry' • , * '…* ' •♫♫*♥*♫♫ • ' * '' ' • . CHRISTMAS . • ' ' '' ' • ♫♫♫*♥*♫♫♫• * ' '…………..x♥x

  8. >Hi! Claudia…This Christmas Rondel…Is very beautiful! and rings so true too!Thank-you, for sharing this Christmas Rondel on Christmas evening with your readers and commenter.Claudia, I hope that you, your family, friends, readers, and commenter, have a very peaceful ~Holiday Season.~DeeDee ;-D

  9. >Claudia, your heart-poured tribute to THE ONE was received with smiles, and outgoing blessings, I am sure!Also I am smiling, and sending out to you blessings on this wonderful day. Merry Christmas!