>see me

>see me
through the veil of
wonders, when you gently
touch my face on moonlit softened
nights, i hear you howling, wild with longing
circled by swift whispers as you’re
sensing for the rain, when
quiet enters; 
see me

this is my first poem, written in rictameter form, a structure i like because of its rhythm. special thanks to Luke Prater for explaining and helping with this

..oh..and don’t search for a deeper meaning in this piece…there is none…i was just writing without thinking..only counting and syllable-dancing…smiles

Rictameter – the meter pattern (syllables per line) is 2-4-6-8-10-8-6-4-2.
There is no rhyme/repetition dictated but it is optional. First and last lines are identical.

Rictameter form was created early 1990s by two cousins, Jason D. Wilkins and Richard W. Lunsford Jr., both poets who ran a weekly poetry contest in their club, the Brotherhood of the Amarantos Mystery, inspired by Robin Williams’ movie “Dead Poet’s Society”. Jason, who made the first and last line the same, named it Rictameter after his brother Rich, who created the form

14 responses to “>see me

  1. >Thanks for the tutorial. Strange, since joining this network I have several times done some pieces without thinking much and those are the one's that seem to make tighter connections with readers.Maybe I just think too much.

  2. >this is cool! I never new thatIt's great when you learn something new. I will try this.and thanks for letting us know not to think too much into you beautiful words. i loved it just the same. very romantical!

  3. >I love learning about new forms and Luke is such a help in learning them. Although I didn't really search for a hidden meaning, I felt a relationship with the wind (that happens to be howling outside right now).

  4. >Sensual, yet animal – a primal twinge of edge to this one Claudia. you may have had no deeper meaning in mind to it – but it's still a nice read. Like the form, very interesting style. I'll have to keep it in mind for my own future reference.

  5. >It's odd for me to find out how much math there is behind poetry–math is behind everything if you look hard enough, I guess, science, computer language, music, and now poetry…thanks for the intro to this meter.

  6. >…interessant, was man alles machen kann mit Worten…ich staune…ich finde, es ist dir gut gelungen, auch in dieser Weise etwas auszusagen…