>she wrote

>i hold a market scene in hands
with smiling, colored women
and loads of colored flowers in their bags
and woven shawls pile on their tables
and there’s your light-blue writing
flowing from the pen i know so well

My eager hands glide down the lines
and feel the paper
touched by you some days ago 
and gently strike the stamp
you placed so cross upon it

and i so long to smell
if after cruising half the world
some daughter’s scent still clings to it
i wanna take and tuck this postcard
right beneath my shirt
DIN A 6 cover my heart 
let its colors crawl under my skin
and woven shawls wrap round my soul 
i want your light blue script bleed off
onto my flesh and bones
and store it there
until you’re back

…my eldest daughter is for a year in La Paz…

Join us tonight for One Shot Wednesday – write a poem or just jump over to read others. Sign up opens at 5 pm EST

63 responses to “>she wrote

  1. >Ahh, the precious gift of Mama and daughter love. I know this as my girl lives on the other side of the world. Every word from her is like a jewel to me.

  2. >It never ceases to amaze me how you so brilliantly capture an intimate, emotion filled moment! I couldn't even fathom my daughter being away long enough to send me a post card. Beautiful piece.

  3. >I love that we have that connection…something handled by someone we love carries their energy (or so I believe).Lovely poem, Claudia. It's hard when they are so far away…

  4. >So sweetly written Claudia, I love the emotion in the "ink" seems so beautifully nostalgic, everlasting essence. Very very nice! ~April

  5. >Tender. You imbue your poems with intimacy but I never feel as though I'm a voyeur. You draw a scene so many mothers have experienced; it's at once immediate and lived.

  6. >Claudia, my daughter is in South Africa and my heart almost jumped out of my throat when I read this…omg…exactly how I feel, I want to lick the stamp and sleep with her cards under my pillow…nothing like a mothers love missing our children. What a wonderful write girlfriend, you have given me chills. Big big hugs my friend xxx

  7. >Claudia, my daughter is in South Africa and my heart almost jumped out of my throat when I read this…omg…exactly how I feel, I want to lick the stamp and sleep with her cards under my pillow…nothing like a mothers love missing our children. What a wonderful write girlfriend, you have given me chills. Big big hugs my friend xxx

  8. >I love the progression of this poem setting up the metaphor that would wrap your heart and touch us, your readers. Beautifully written. Thank you, Gay @beachanny

  9. >This is beautiful, Claudia. I'm picturing your daughter, sitting in South America, writing that post card, and then feeling that surge of bittersweet joy you might feel when you found it in among all the boring stuff in your mailbox.

  10. >It is so brilliant and lovely how you write about touching the stamp your daughter put on the postcard. A sweet and touching poem indeed. xo

  11. >I love how you miss your daughter. I always felt my deep emotions were over the top, 'cause I miss mine so much. Though circumstances are different, I know what you feel.Thank you for your honest writings.

  12. >a wonderful poem that shares a bond that can never be broken..i was round my brothers last night..his eldest has just left home for university..he got a text from her and the excitement was a joy to watch…a great poem to open One Shot..cheers Pete

  13. >You do a fine job of capturing that sense of distance and connection. I have been on both sides, going to Venezuela for a year on an exchange program at 16, and having my daughter live in Juarez, Mexico for a semester at 19. There is something special about having a handwritten note or postcard that the others has physically touched.Thank you for sharing that moment.

  14. >hand written letters are a treasure in themselves these days… to receive one from your beloved daughter from a far away land must be incredibly precious… thus a gorgeous poem!! very nice! thanks for the tip on writing poems on wednesday… think i might take a shot:)

  15. >Absolutely Beautiful!What a wonderful internal landscape you write.I love this, Claudia~ Makes me think of my 22 year old son (and only child) in the Navy.Lady Nyo

  16. >Very inspired by the raw emotion in your poem. The way you captured the ties that bind you together and your imagery were both wonderful. Great 1SW poem, very heartwarming in the traditional sense of the word, no matter what angle the reader approaches from.crb.

  17. >Claudia,You are quickly becoming one of my daily go to's. This is truly a heart felt and intense piece. I can feel the yearning only a parent can have for a child. Beautifully done.Thanks for sharing

  18. >Oh, the wretched ache of missing a child, even knowing when they will return doesn't lessen the ache, does it?Great One Shot, even more impressive as I gather English is your second language?!

  19. >Hi! Claudia…I knew in what direction you where going as soon as I started to read your post…like I sometimes do after I read Brian's poem…I usually equate a word (or words) with his poem(s) and with your it's…longing for…or missing you.Thanks, for sharing!DeeDee

  20. >Nice poem Claudia!!! I spent one year away from home….in another country and I had so ups and downs that sometimes I really needed my mom and a poem, from her, would have help me a lot….It nice to see the other side of the coin..

  21. >Nice poem Claudia!!! I spent one year away from home….in another country and I had so ups and downs that sometimes I really needed my mom and a poem, from her, would have help me a lot….It nice to see the other side of the coin..

  22. >Wow, das geht wirklich unter die Haut so von Mutterherz zu Mutterherz! Ich kann das gar nicht wirklich nachempfinden, wie das ist, wenn ein Kind so lange so weit weg ist!!! *snieeeeffff* Noch habe ich die meinen so nah um mich rum, dass ich mir manchmal mehr Freiraum wünsche. Aber nach Deinem Gedicht wird mir klar, dass ich diese Nähe einfach noch genießen sollte!