>play me

>i want you
to play
me
but first
know what
instrument
you are
dealing
with i want to
be
blown
into have
no
strings so
play me in the
                            right
way touch
me soft 
as i
like to
be
touched skillful
thought
full
whole with
respect i
want
to feel you
play and your
lips and
your
hands at all
that
places tongue
kissed at
what feels
                             right
don’t
play with
but 
play
me skillful
bold versed and
feel
me long
for
you don’t
make
me sound a
way i am
not
build for
you know
my
range and
the
room is
for sub-
and over the
top
tones
and bound
less so do
melt in
to me
slowly come
close
prove
what
you want and
how to get
me and
make
me
sing and
play
me i
will
respond

Written for One Shot Wednesday and  Emily’s Imperfect prose on thursdays

61 responses to “>play me

  1. >The mix of musical and sensual metaphor plays very well against each other. Moving slowly down the poem, the pacing and line breaks help the theme of the poem come across very clearly. Not too sure about the "right" justified parts, that seemed more distracting than supportive of the poem, but stylistically I can understand why you would emphasize both word and location. Enjoyed reading this.crb.

  2. >I like the word play and playing with "play". Also loved using the musical movement and language as the language of love. It seemed to develop naturally and fluidly. Beautiful. Thank you. Gay (@beachanny)

  3. >Claudia, I call this the sweetest of duets composed by the Master of the Universe, orchestrated by you, and performed by you and………Beautiful! Wonderful! I mean it!Steve

  4. >Restrained, but tastefully erotic. Someone already used the word "intimate" – but that word really nails the poem, description-wise. . . thematically tight.

  5. >Smoking, indeed – reaches right out of the frame, grabs the reader and gives him or her a shake. I love the flow of words into the following lines, sort of like the acts the words are describing. Very effective. I am old, but it brushed aside a few cobwebs and reminded me, hee hee.

  6. >it is clear here that the relationship you have with your instrument is one of much more than just flipping through the papers of arrangements or tucking an instrument case away for weeks on end. It is as deep as your love for art is – something very wonderful indeed!

  7. >Beautifully played on the sense and and I loved the way it developed from anger than to acceptance and finally to happiness of the song..Nice one.ॐ नमः शिवायOm Namah ShivayaI will appreciate if you connect with me at Twitter @VerseEveryDay to read short verses #FreeHaiku on love, life and longing

  8. >Beautiful Claudia, I think we all go through this from time to time with our partners…and we become more deeply connected once we accept each other and the ways we sometimes fail one another…and hopefully, as you did, discover that mostly we do "get" each other, mostly we do.

  9. >Very cool and lyrical, Claudia. We all feel this alienation and frustration at times — and it helps to see it in others as well. Loved your explanation, too — that helped! :)

Leave a Reply

