>Love at first sight

>Yes – it was love at first sight – but it took me some time to realize…

I was so young and I was a bit scared
and I remember, coming home from hospital, I was afraid of bathing you
because you were so small and you were looking at me with your big eyes
and I felt so helpless and not able to cope with this newborn life entrusted to me.

Skin to skin – keeping you warm and feeling your little heart beat – this heart, that started to pulsate nine months ago – not just somewhere but in my womb – hidden, secretly – only the two of us feeling your new life blossoming and developing in the dark – protected – keeping you safe.

Eye to eye – trying to read what you would tell me without being able to speak – there was so much in your eyes – and some days – even now – I think I can describe what no picture was able to capture – baby’s eyes, sharing their needs and emotions – having only a short past and a big longing to see the future.

What did you do to my heart baby? It was not only love at first sight, it was love at first everything – ever and ever again – for this 19 years – I’ve fallen in love daily and I guess that will go on and on – probably for the rest of my life…

Written for Carry on Tuesday – jump over there to read more “love at first sight” stories

30 responses to “>Love at first sight

  1. >This is a wonderful tribute, and I hope it blesses your daughter to read it. I remember when I brought my first baby home, I was afraid to wash him–I thought he would break–and I changed his diaper every half-hour whether it needed it or not. 🙂

  2. >Oh, this is lovely, Claudia. And wonderful photograph of your child too. It never ends … My son is forty … it never ends. Being mom is the best experience.

  3. >Aw, what a cutie!I remember being scared to death when my first baby came. He was so deserving of the world on a platter, and I felt so unworthy and unable to supply it!

  4. >Claudia, we do think back to beginnings as we have to launch those in our care into the great big world. My oldest granddaughter leaves for university this week. It's unbelievable that the time has passed so quickly and it seems only yesterday that I was sorting out college stuff for myself. Beautiful poem, written with great tenderness and understanding. Thank you for sharing. Gay

  5. >May your daughter always treasure this, knowing with how much love you wrote it.I wrote a poem last year when my son turned 21 and then again this year to mark another kind of passage. It was a surprise posting for him, and he was quite taken with it.

  6. >This takes me back to seeing Will for the first time. He was almost 40 hours old because my blood pressure was insanely high and he was a preemie in the NICU. I was going out of my mind to see him. The minute I saw him I couldn't hold back the tears. He was more beautiful than I could imagine. Thanks for taking me back.xo Erin

  7. >This takes me back to seeing Will for the first time. He was almost 40 hours old because my blood pressure was insanely high and he was a preemie in the NICU. I was going out of my mind to see him. The minute I saw him I couldn't hold back the tears. He was more beautiful than I could imagine. Thanks for taking me back.xo Erin

  8. >Cute and beautifully written and something which reminded me of my past is that I must say my mum used to be afraid of carrying me, she was smoking while she was having me last time and both of my wrist are blackened because of the tar somehow and she didn't even dare to touch me but luckily a very good elderly friend of her came and help me apply lotion every single day until it become better, I am really touched but i know how my mum really feel at that point of time, she must be really sad and regret of what she had done to me but I never did blame her once because I know sometimes habit can be changed over time =D

  9. >beautiful post, beautiful babyWhat did you do to my heart baby? It was not only love at first sight, it was love at first everything…love at first everything, I love that!

  10. >There's only one word for this, and it's been used over and over again in the comments above – beautiful! Thanks so much for contributing to Carry On Tuesday, I hope to see you back next week.

  11. >Okay, so I don't often read too many things that bring me to tears, but this beautiful writing sure did. I empathize with the emotions of being a mother and of course the fear when our new babies first come home. Excellent writing! I love this.

  12. >What a beautiful baby. Nothing like 'em. And before you know it, the fear goes out the window…and they are raising you!

  13. >I was born a premature baby and my mother was suffering from jaundice while her gave birth to me. I sometimes find it hard to talk to her, tell her things. during these uncomfortable span of hours, I try to speak to her through my eyes…hoping she to understand that she needs to hold me tight and close, whisper hope in my ears, tell me that things will be fine in the coming days..I miss that warmth…I miss her embrace…