Jumper

mind-lapse– stripes– a flickering sea, in
my eyes as i watch Jumper, how he flings
off restraints, feel the chains on my legs as they

fight in Rome’s colosseum aisles, wet clay
on finger tips, bite my aching lips
to ground emotions, rest-less-ness seeps, slips
between cracks on the globe, an antidote

that doesn’t exist or delivers too slow,
& i stand on top of Big Ben, umbrella in hand,
rain drips on my eye lids, how long can i bend

lines that sprawl, crawl on spider legs,
like silkworms spin threads,
take off– bump, face the flame of liberty,
burnt coz– there’s no jump to jump to be free

.

saw the movie “Jumper” the other day… and just a bit envious about this kind of traveling…well, yeah there are dangers but… ok…smiles…over at dVerse Sam has prepared a form prompt for us…and if you have lots of phantasy, you may discover traces of a Clarian Sonnet in this poem…but i admit…the meter escaped my pen a bit… so if you’re up for a bit of form fun, pop in when Sam opens the pub doors and try your hand on one…

45 responses to “Jumper

  1. That movie was decent. The power does have it’s drawbacks, but would be pretty neat. Very nice write Claudia, really killer final stanza. Never heard of the Clarian Sonnet, at least by that name, so should be fun to tune in at 3 to see what Sam has in mind. Thanks

  2. close enough to form for me :) – but then i’m one to want to jump out of restraints rather than be bound by them, even in poetry… “there’s no jump to jump to be free” – love that

  3. i get the sense of feeling trapped…between the chains, and the longing at the end, but not seeing a way…i like the image of being on top of big ben, that would be pretty cool…i remember seeing this movie a while back…it would def be cool to pop around and it would def curb my wanderlust a bit…or maybe just empower it…grins…

  4. No way to jump enough to escape the gravity pulling on us! Wonderful topic for this poem that samples some of the most daring jumps tried in human history–great selection, Claudia!

  5. These phrases are particularly intriguing, especially in their sound:

    “mind-lapse– stripes– a flickering sea”
    “wet clay on finger tips, bite my aching lips”
    “rest-less-ness seeps”
    “lines that sprawl, crawl on spider legs, like silkworms spin threads”

  6. I want to see the movie :)….my favorite lines…lines that sprawl, crawl on spider legs,
    like silkworms spin threads,
    take off– bump, face the flame of liberty,
    burnt coz– there’s no jump to jump to be free

  7. The movie was meh, but the power would be kind of cool. I’d surely like to jump around with such ease and you pull it off in verse with such a breeze. The cat would even take his fleas.

  8. I think I’d rather have wings and fly – the journey for me is the stuff of the travel, to arc above the ground, trees, and water resting & chatting with others in whatever form would be the best part – although I love a vantage point in order to see a city whatever it may be from Lady Liberty to Big Ben.

  9. Having spent a few years on the thirtieth floor in the City of London, I can identiy with the need for height, but I never thought of freefall :-)
    Miss the views terribly and the walks I had round the outside of the apartment that high up.No vertigo, thank goodness.

  10. there’s no jump to jump to be free. I like that, and have moments when I can completely get. and as you always do you seem to capture those moments well.

  11. This was fun Claudia–and I can totally believe you have dreams of traveling surrealistically through time and space. Haven’t seen the movie, but I definitely like the poem version–and some very good rhyming, too in this. I’m proud of you, and brian, too. ;_)

  12. The poem is lit with the kaleidoscope light of a world made small by the jumper ability – Rome, London, New York – distances shrunk to the measure of a thought. And yet there is regret, as others have noted, that real life shackles the ankles to a single time and place, and that dream of freedom remains only a dream.

    The wonder of this poem as a Clarian sonnet is that it hides its structure beautifully, so that the couplets aren’t in your face, so that it flows as if it were free verse, as if it were as free as the jumpers that it celebrates.

  13. You are absolutely right here. Internal freedom can just take as much as the uplighting of a gaze. No jumping necessary. (Though jumps can come.) Wonderful finish. K.

  14. rest-less-ness seeps, slips
    between cracks on the globe, an antidote

    that doesn’t exist or delivers too slow,

    I chose these lines as they gripped me on first reading, but second time through there seemed nowhere to start and nowhere to end; it really is all highlight. So good!

  15. This strives to jump into form, or is it free form jumping to be free? Your words tangle like those strands of dream or memory that bind us into the mass of consciousness we are. Tangling in form, but also struggling to be free, finding space for the mind to expand.

  16. I saw that movie some time ago. I like the idea of jumping, but my favorite travel fantasy is from Star Trek. I’d love to say, “Beam me up.” and be magically restructured in my intended destination.

    Your poem, full of fantasy and charm makes me now wish I didn’t have to drive into town.

  17. Hi! Claudia…
    Unfortunately, I have not watched the film “Jumper,” but this stanza from your very well-written, very descriptive poem jumped [no pun intended…] right out at me: “that doesn’t exist or delivers too slow,
    & i stand on top of Big Ben, umbrella in hand,
    rain drips on my eye lids, how long can i bend”

    Tks, for sharing!
    deedee :)

  18. Sorry mam, couldn’t comment that time when I liked this poem. Actually my clarian sonnet was not ready but now it is ready. I just did it and now I can comment on your poem with pride…lolz :)

    Amazing poem mam! No more to say…

  19. okay, I looked the movie up on YouTube…always learn something new when I read your poems plus I get to admire the imagery you create with your words…Happy weekend, Claudia :)

  20. I looked at the movie trailer after reading your poem, not because that was necessary to fully appreciate the poem but because the poem made me really curious about the movie. I love how you worked with the form; your poem zips and intrigues like the scenes I just watched. Splendid.
    (I’m not going to look at your music poem in case I work on one of my own….)

  21. “lines that sprawl, crawl on spider legs” – love the sound that line makes

    and really like the reference to liberty, gonna be re-reading ;-)

Leave a Reply

