..and the cherries are not really the point

it’s a rainy day &
biting cold bleeds from the road
into the car,

my route runs straight
along the wall, i

SCCraTTTCChhh

my elbows heavily,

it is too CLOSE!!,
Damn!!
WAY
too close! just

// B R E A T H E //

again–

ratcheting up the window, i think
of the waffles at IKEA,
whipped cream–
warmth–

& cherries in the color of a sun,
that dips his hips into the sea
at nightfall–

still can feel the sweetness even though
i didn’t taste, i’d
love to–

weird as it sounds,

i stand there,
watching–
knowing–

even if the customs agent waves me through,
even if they don’t ask for my passport,
even if i’m dying on the road,

there are borders we should never cross,

i’m gonna find a river somewhere close,
a bench to mourn the possibilities,
and that should do,

(still breathing)–

with a piece of chalk, i’m drawing lines
across the pavement, then
take off my shoes &

hopscotch through the world
i know, and know
i need to–

get to know myself

again

.

over at dVerse we’re going to cross some borders with our pens today… and it’s my pleasure to tend the poetics bar..  see you 3pm EST

51 responses to “..and the cherries are not really the point

  1. nice you use CAPs well to ratchet up the tension….the only border i have ever crossed is into mexico…but i appreciate the tension as well…i like how you keep it pretty ambiguous ont he border you are crossing…the end really does it for me…a return to something simple like hope scotch…maybe the last place innocence was found…to refind yourself….well done claudia…

  2. “get to know myself again” … Wow, powerful write. I really like
    “with a piece of chalk, i’m drawing lines
    across the pavement, then
    take off my shoes &

    hopscotch through the world”.

    Beautiful imagery/metaphor of defying the chalk outline of death, and really living. Great write.

  3. “my route runs straight along the wall…” i hate that! That wall, always too close. This is a poem I’m not going to attempt to analyze–i think it’s pretty plain and clear–just enjoy. Love your work, Claudia–full of thought, imagination, and freedom.

  4. “Hopscotching through the world..” Oh these words are among my favorites in the poem…they engender that playful spirit that we should approach life with…another fine poem IMHO.

  5. Busted out the chalk for a hop scotch session instead of a walk. Those borders can be tricky, as they can be quite picky. Or so I hear the cat has yet to actually cross one I fear.

  6. If only life were always so simple as a game of hop scotch. Sometimes so difficult to know where to draw the line, and when not to cross it, too.
    Another lovely insight to your mind, always such lovely thought processes.

  7. Wonderful reflection, love the idea regarding borders. Very well done, really like the progression here and it seems you used a variety of tone throughout, really like that. Thanks

  8. to me it is all about the cherries, this poem reads like comfert food, and if i can see life as a giant stack of pancakes and whipped cream and cherries, then i can be comfertable in the world too.

    i’m guessing your theme has something to do with borders, i like the image of the hop-scotch lines, and skipping across them as you please, just playing a game of borders. very well done! great read

  9. Oh, Claudia- This is amazing!! There are so many layers in this poem… it can be applied to many things. I especially like the ending and how it brings us back to simplicity.

    I love the sound of this:

    & cherries in the color of a sun,
    that dips his hips into the sea
    at nightfall–

  10. Crossing borders as metaphor for knowing ourselves as we are and can be, lovely. There are so many fine lines here. Your consciousness makes the run between reality and the subjective such a great trip.

  11. Wow, this is incredible:

    “& cherries in the color of a sun,
    that dips his hips into the sea
    at nightfall”

    Those are my favorite cherries.

    I like the reminder past the midway point saying that you’re still breathing.

    I also love this concept and imagery:

    “with a piece of chalk, i’m drawing lines
    across the pavement, then
    take off my shoes &

    hopscotch through the world”

    Getting to know yourself again. We’re all standing on that border … daily, I think.

  12. I too like how you skip along the line between the inner an outer worlds in your work, the private and public life, and the embodied being and the life of the mind. It’s such a pleasure to be reading you again!

  13. Ah! I feel almost? like starting over once more. Cross an ocean (Pacific?) Fly over a couple countries, land in a huge city, maybe KL, ask a policeman for directions to nowhere!–grin!

    Yet…somewhere!

  14. To get back to hopscotch days I fear there are too many borders to cross back over, borders I didn’t want to cross in the first place, but now that I’m on this side it seems there’s no way to get back. Peace, Linda

  15. Crossing as many borders as you do in your day, we ought to pay attention to the wise advice here about how to approach them, the ones to avoid, and what to do with the grander boundaries that separate us from the things that really count. Hop-scotch those ones, indeed. Fine stuff, Claudia — B

  16. Ok, Claudia, this poem is INCREDIBLE. It’s like Aimee Bender turned poet! (though I mean in that natural style–all your own definitely and with such imagination). This was such a treat to read. I love love love it. I’ve always loved your poetry

  17. As I have been experimenting with a kind of montage form of poetry – without much success, I might say – this impresses me no end. I think I shall have to give it some serious study. Thanks for showcasing it.

  18. “..and the cherries are not really the point” & cherries in the color of a sun,
    that dips his hips into the sea
    at nightfall–

    still can feel the sweetness even though
    i didn’t taste, i’d
    love to–”

    Hello! Claudia…
    I must admit that there are words in your [beautiful] poetic poems that just jump right out at me and I always quote them…“there are borders we should never cross,

    i’m gonna find a river somewhere close,
    a bench to mourn the possibilities,
    and that should do,

    (still breathing)–”

    No image? Wait! you don’t need no image…Because your words are very vivid, very descriptive and…pure!
    Thanks, for sharing!
    deedee :)

  19. Hopscotch through the world- love this line.

    There are borders we should never cross,

    i’m gonna find a river somewhere close,
    a bench to mourn the possibilities,
    and that should do,

    This poem gave me a sense of anxiety- the flow of the words the breathing

    very nice indeed

  20. i’d read your poem and prompt on dversepoets yesterday and couldn’t think what to post or comment, and woke up this morning with the idea of saying just that, and, that i was “still” thinking of your poem!

    some things stick without knowing or figuring out why i guess ;-)

    esp liked, “hopscotch through the world”

    thanks claudia ;-)

  21. this was a great image:

    & cherries in the color of a sun,
    that dips his hips into the sea
    at nightfall–

    i love the red cherries much better, myself

    this piece had a weaving quality, weaving in and out of images and moods till it got where it was going (the border?)

  22. Claudia,
    Wonderful! Borders can mean so many things, and you explore that so well in your poem. You play with the anxiety level going up and down and finally leveling out in the end. Just lovely.

  23. I like this piece, because it is like
    peeling an onion, pungent yet
    sweet, dangerous yet introspective;
    borders, barriers, looking for answers
    while on the move, in the chalk lines,
    as we wonder if we remain who we
    are as we travel the globe, or do we
    become someone else with each
    border we cross, each language we
    are challenged with, each currency
    we must master.

Leave a Reply

