Poetics: off the record

there‘s truth in wine
and lots of silliness as well,
just think of Herod who,

with wine soaked tongue,
got so enchanted by Salome‘s dance
that he promised half his kingdom
even though knowingly,
he went up blind alleys and

John the Baptist‘s head rolled–

this is what i think of, sitting
at the airport, having been away

too long, i‘m painting
red wine scented chalk lines
on my skin to show you where i
want you touch me, texting

you fair warning and–
dont stop as this is.. see the
tiny numbers? only when you‘re
really close and like

these blinky floor light signals
in an aircraft which
show the closest exit
in emergencies– remember it
may be behind you, i

strip you of your shirt,
cross-country lick my way across
the map i finger painted
on you, flying over Paris, that‘s
a case of need, don‘t panic,

this rescue‘s going to be messy with–
half my kingdom– devastated ruins,

and we‘re already heavily
delayed

.

join us at 3pm EST at dVersePoets pub for Poetics with Brian Miller tending the bar..and hopefully, we’re all on the same page..smiles
on another note..i’ve been featured with two of my poems at wordsmiths and the bar none group.. so in case you wanna say hi and check out these places.. 

39 responses to “Poetics: off the record

  1. So if you forget to say off the record, I can use this truth you speak of when you are wine filled and chatty?..haha…sounds like a interesting delay, I hope that’s licking for fun and not to clean though..hahaha

  2. I wish my sitting in an airport were always so fruitfully poetic and sensual. You really know how to grab my poetic fibers and make me wanna stay with you to the end. I really like, almost envy ;-), your command of the blank line caesura. Lucky person at the end of the line, methinks!

  3. licking for cleaning….lol….pat you are too much…

    delicious write claudia…love the sensualness…the wine colored chalk lines…sounds likea mighty fun time…smiles. hope you home coming after your trip was just as warm…smiles.

  4. That first line is a nice companion detour from brian’s wonderful Dust on The Bottle (http://www.waystationone.com/2011/11/55-dust-on-bottle.html)

    I like how this mirrors how one sometimes thinks while having to wait — starting with an interesting observation/insight and then coming home to a topic much closer to one’s heart. Very well done!

    Nice musical phrase: “red wine scented chalk lines”

    (Maybe one small typo: “want you touch me” — missing “to” after “you”?)

  5. great images here… i like these lines:

    strip you of your shirt,
    cross-country lick my way across
    the map i finger painted
    on you, flying over Paris, that‘s
    a case of need, don‘t panic,

  6. Stunning poem. Yes, there is truth in wine. One should only drink it when one wants to be free to speak the truth, hear the truth. Hoping you got home safely despite delaysl. “Red wine scented chalk lines” — wonderfully expressed!

  7. Very sensual, your writing. I love how you incorporated the idioms, challenging and embracing their meanings. I also like how you spaced your lines, creating pauses that are bridged by meaning, shifting both just slightly. I’ve really enjoyed your writing.

  8. This reminds me of a song by Snow Patrol called “Set fire to the third bar”…
    crossing those map-lines to get there, any way one can with thoughts racing, pacing….

    nicely done Claudia!!

  9. Clouds,
    Sitting merrily but quietly texting is the next best thing than sleeping. A delay wears you off as you are no more in control. It is just amazing you can see lots of goodness with time on your hands.Excellent take!

    Hank

  10. Hot write! I think my favorite lines would have to be:

    “too long, i‘m painting
    red wine scented chalk lines
    on my skin to show you where i
    want you touch me, texting”

    Great poem, Claudia.

  11. Mmm! So sensual, so lush, so….carnal.
    What a pity! I never had such libidinal fun at airports
    (perhaps the wrong airlines?)
    Claudia, you ‘chalk it up’ all right. That man of yours probably like it when you travel.

    I like the Many allusions in this poem, and the Stream of Consciousness effect. Like reading someone’s personal diary.

    Intoxicating piece, to say the least.

Leave a Reply

